We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Madeira”
Review of Pestana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Village
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Last year after a trip to Madeira we joined the Pestana Options Vacation Club and four weeks ago we stayed for a week in a Studio apartment at the Miramar hotel which adjoins the Village Garden resort in Madeira. We had use of the facilities of both resorts. Our studio was spotless, very comfortable and had everything we could need for self-catering. We had a lovely view of the harbour and pool from our veranda. We had buffet breakfasts in the Village restaurant and the food was excellent (although we didn't like the fruit juices). We also had three buffet meals in this restaurant which were very good with a wide selection of salads, mains and sweets. We were within a reasonable walking distance from the centre of Funchal. The gardens of the resort were beautiful and peaceful and the pools were lovely and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back again and recommend the Miramar or the Village to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had read some excellent reviews prior to coming here and we were not disappointed. Ok we were on the ground floor and didn't have sea view, but it had its advantages as we were at the back of the hotel away from the pool and our veranda area went out further so we got the sun for longer and had the gardens around us. The room was comfortable and the hotel overall is excellently kept, smart, and clean with friendly and helpful staff - we had a problem with our toilet cistern early on and reported it to a chamber maid who quickly tried to help and then called for further assistance which came swiftly and was solved without any further incidents. We had read some dissatisfaction with breakfast but we were more than happy with the selection available and the quality, which was further enhanced by the birthday breakfast I enjoyed which made me feel special and included a complimentary glass of bubbly.
We ate at 3 of the restaurants in the complex and enjoyed all of them particularly the Miramar with it's selection of rooms where we had the set Romantic 4 course meal which was excellent.
An overall lovely experience with 1 small issue - we were invited for drinks at the pool bar which we accepted but then discovered it was a sales set up to invite you to look at a new Pestana hotel, I know it isn't time share and there were gifts for accepting which we didn't because I am always suspicious of this type of offer as I have been trapped by something similar before. When I go on holiday I don't want to spend time looking at other properties so please it would be better to explain this with the invite so then you know why you are going, however this would not stop me highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our staff and service, we hope to welcome you back on a near future and to be able to provide you the same level of satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Five years ago we had through Seasons exchanged a week and stayed at the adjoining resort the Pestana Mira Mar. That resort is slightly up market from the Village and more of a hotel. However the Village is more friendly and the gardens are just wonderful. We had a nice one bedroom apartment which was just yards from the swimming pool. We self catered and one criticism was that the utensils could have been better for cooking. Loads of nearby supermarkets and the fruit was gorgeous. The staff were all very friendly and everything was very clean and tidy. A maid came in every day to clean but not wash up! If you are hiring a car then there is not a lot of room and you have to pay about £4.50 a day. However the resort is very handy and there are numerous buses and trips you can go on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website. It was very nice to receive positive feedback about us, for which we thank you for. We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have never felt the need to leave a review on a hotel before but having just returned from a week staying at the Pestana Village Hotel, feel that this hotel warrants a first class review. From the initial welcome, the brilliant room with a view of the sea we were allocated, the beautiful gardens and the food in the restaurant (we went half board) - all very very impressive and we would like to say thank you to all concerned. The special touch of seeing from my husband's passport that it was his birthday, the special table at breakfast with sparkling wine and the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in the room made his birthday special and one we will remember. Although we do not swim, the pool area was immaculately kept and in beautiful surroundings.
I cannot say anything negative about this hotel and those people who find fault with food etc. because it is not 'English' enough should maybe keep to holidays in Great Britain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our first trip to Madeira and we were particularly impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the superb award-winning grounds – do go and explore the apartment area up the hill from the reception: the flowers are as good as any park we’ve seen in Madeira and free!

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, giving advice about bus routes and times, etc (although it took a couple of days for housekeeping to sort out the ant problem). Facilities are shared with the Miramar next door – you just walk down the steps near the pool bar. The pools (one in the Village, two in the Miramar, one of which was indoor – we didn’t try it) were clean and regularly tested every day and there is a spa on site offering a range of treatments along with a gym and spa pools. There is also library and games room upstairs from the Winter Gardens and a pool room in the Miramar next to Reception.

In addition to the usual clean, spacious bedroom/sitting area (with bed-settee) and bathroom, our room (126) also had a well-equipped kitchenette for making meals or snacks (useful if you are on room/B&B only). The balcony had two chairs and a table, with a sea view (just!) – a higher floor would have provided a better view.

We had opted for half board and, despite the number of negative comments on Tripadvisor, we enjoyed every meal, including the full English breakfast – a good selection, especially tasty soups and main courses, although the salad and sweet course by their nature were very similar most evenings. Our only gripe is that part way through our stay, the evening meal was moved to the BBQ area outside – which could be a little breezy and was in the shade. We were told that this is a regular occurrence in the summer until September (unless the weather is inclement), so come prepared!

There was pleasant entertainment in the Winter Gardens bar every evening (usually pianist, guitarist, etc – with opportunities to dance) However the Tuesday Madeiran Evening was excellent, giving you a taste of authentic Madeiran food, folk song and dance (with some audience participation!)

There is also a good selection of restaurants in the harbour and city centre, and within 5 minutes’ walk to the west in the hotel belt, a British sports pub (Hole in One) and a Spar shop within 5-10 mins.

The hotel is well situated at the western end of the hotel belt, with a bus-stop outside if you’re feeling lazy or a 15-20 minute stroll into the city centre. However, there are a number of parks (free) which can distract you on your way in, so allow extra time! Do visit the Quinta Vigia and don’t be put off by the guards – visitors are usually welcome - as well as Santa Catarina Park next to it.

Other ideas are: a visit to Monte - we went by local bus to the Jardim Botanico first to avoid the huge queues at the cable car in Funchal, then used the JB cable car to get to Monte for the Tropical Palace Gardens, bus down or toboggan and then walk the 3k back to town (ouch!) or take a 10E taxi! A trip to Ribeiro Frio by local bus provided us with wonderful views down to Funchal and glorious wildflowers (the broom, geraniums, marguerites and Pride of Madeira are spectacular in late May) and a short walk to Balcoes with its stunning views down to the north coast (only 40-60 mins in total along a wide levada path) followed by a snack in the restaurant near the trout farm. We also took three excellent, great value trips with Pride of Madeira.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and are hoping to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Village Hotel for your recent visit to Madeira.
We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be so accomodating and also our facilities did meet your expecations.

We are so pleased that you made use and enjoyed our pool facilities.The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!


We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pestanas Village Apartment Hotel review May 2014

What a fabulous place. We were treated like royalty. 5* place. We arrived at the hotel at 8pm to a very quick check in and as it was our 25th Anniversary they upgraded our room from a Classic Studio to a Suite (room 305) (thank you Micheala). The Suite had a lounge with sofa bed, patio door on to the balcony and Flat screen TV. There was a small kitchen, with sink and 2 ring electric hob and it also had a table and two chairs.The bedroom was quite large with twin beds which were very comfortable and a patio door to the balcony. The balcony had a table and two chairs which was very nice to use at night for a drink or when eating. The view from the balcony was over the pool and also looked towards Mr Pestanas house and garden which was beautiful. We also had a view of the mountain which was wonderful and we also had a side view which looked toward the sea.

As it was our Anniversary day we were treated the next morning to a champagne breakfast and a special table. They had prepared a letter which wished us Happy Anniversary and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. When we returned to our room we were also given a bottle of Champagne in an ice bucket with two glasses.

The gardens and grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. As well as having the facilities at the Village we could also use the Miramar hotel facilities. The outdoor pool at the village was great, so was the sauna, but the steam room was not very hot and the jacuzzi was fairly cool and was not fully working (jets didn't work). The Miramar hotel indoor pool was nice and the jacuzzi was at the right temperature and all the jets worked.

There was a happy hour 50% off at 3 different bars, Village pool bar 4 to 5 pm, Village Winter garden 5 to 6pm and the Miramar cocktail bar 6 to 7pm. This saved us quite a bit of money as we used to have a jug of sangria, which at the happy hour was only 5.75 Euros which is fantastic value for money.

For our Anniversary night the Customer Relations Manager Michaela booked us in to the Fort in the old town and organised for us to have one of the old cars pick us up which was more or less the same price as a taxi. The trip to the Fort was great with the driver in a uniform with hat and he even held the door for my wife getting in and out when we arrived. The meal (39 Euros each) at the fort was fantastic and great value for money. It was a 5 course meal, we were given champagne on our arrival and our wine glasses were never empty. The food and service was wonderful.

While on holiday we did the gardens two of them on the way walking in to Funchal, the cable car, the Botanical Gardens, the toboggan run at Monte, the catamaran (Sea the Best) dolphin and whale watching (we saw a Whale and loads of dolphins) and the half day jeep safari (thank you Edgar of Black and white jeeps) which were all brilliant. We also had the tour (as we were walking past the Pestanas Carlton Hotel) of the other Pestanas hotels and to show us their Pestanas Options club (by Robert) which took only 1.5 hours (there was no pressure sell !) and we were treated to two free tickets to the Casino night where we had another 5 course meal (wine kept flowing again), show, disco and was given 20 euros free to use in the Casino. What a brilliant night that was ! Mr Pestanas certainly knows how to treat his guests !

In summary we had a lovely relaxing and fantastic holiday, a very romantic 25th Wedding Anniversary and will be going back soon. Thank you to all of the staff at the Pestanas Village Apartment Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 305 The Suite had a lounge with sofa bed, patio door on to the balcony and Flat screen TV. Ther...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel for your recent holiday in Madeira and for sharing your very nice comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were treated like royalty and you found our staff friendly and very helpful. This is exactly how you should feel!

Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.

Susana Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first trip to Madeira and we were impressed as we drove into the grounds which were beautifully kept and well presented. The reception staff really friendly and helpful and the rooms were well equipped and exceptionally well maintained and clean. The pools were very clean and regularly tested every day. There is a lovely spa on site offering a lovely range of treatments along with a gym and spa pools. The hotel is well situated for a good selection of restaurants within 5 minutes walk and about 15 minutes walk to the harbour and centre. There are bus stops right outside the hotel as well. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we are hoping to visit again and this would be our preferred choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel in the near future.

With best regards from the island of flowers.

Susana Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar
Pestana Miramar
#37 of 88 in Funchal
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#14 of 88 in Funchal
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £62 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Village is a 4-star hotel located in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 5,000 m² of gardens and featuring architecture characteristic of the island. It is the perfect place for your holiday, whether you are just relaxing or on your honeymoon. It is located 12 minutes on foot from the beach and 15 minutes on foot from the centre of Funchal. The hotel offers a relaxing health club with a sauna and a jacuzzi as well as a game room. To satisfy your tastes, we offer four restaurants and three bars. Enjoy two fantastic outdoor swimming pools and a heated indoor swimming pool located at the Pestana Miramar. The studios feature typical Madeiran decor, each with a kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing