We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our summer holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our summer holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the first time we've been in Madeira for 6 years. We brought our daughters with us this time. We all love the hotel and facilities. We have used the gym, sauna, jacuzzis and all the pools. It is situated in a good place, not to far to walk, but being used to hills is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have had you staying with us. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we have met your expectations.

We await a return visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    365
    88
    11
    7
See reviews for
195
531
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very clean, staff very helpful. Liked the happy hours in 3 different bars on site so could get 2 for 1 cocktails from 4pm to 7pm! The only disappointment was no sun on the balcony. We had a groundfloor apartment with a tree outside. On the first day we had a cockroach in our room which we reported to reception, they acted swiftly and called someone to spray , didn't see anymore after treatment.
The position was very good opposite Reids and walking distance to centre of Funchal and lots of bars and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathnRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. We assure you that we will try to improve your less positive comments for future guests or for your return visit.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My parents visited Funchal three weeks ago and had an amazing holiday. The hotel views are breathtaking and blow you away. The pool is very nice and clean and there were plenty of sun beds around the pool and outside your apartment. The staff were very nice and friendly and very helpful. We went on the west side trip where you get to see castles and lovely waterfalls.

Room Tip: Room 3107 was very spacious, nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sital D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and that you found our staff very nice, friendly and very helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were also very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Last year after a trip to Madeira we joined the Pestana Options Vacation Club and four weeks ago we stayed for a week in a Studio apartment at the Miramar hotel which adjoins the Village Garden resort in Madeira. We had use of the facilities of both resorts. Our studio was spotless, very comfortable and had everything we could need for self-catering. We had a lovely view of the harbour and pool from our veranda. We had buffet breakfasts in the Village restaurant and the food was excellent (although we didn't like the fruit juices). We also had three buffet meals in this restaurant which were very good with a wide selection of salads, mains and sweets. We were within a reasonable walking distance from the centre of Funchal. The gardens of the resort were beautiful and peaceful and the pools were lovely and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back again and recommend the Miramar or the Village to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had read some excellent reviews prior to coming here and we were not disappointed. Ok we were on the ground floor and didn't have sea view, but it had its advantages as we were at the back of the hotel away from the pool and our veranda area went out further so we got the sun for longer and had the gardens around us. The room was comfortable and the hotel overall is excellently kept, smart, and clean with friendly and helpful staff - we had a problem with our toilet cistern early on and reported it to a chamber maid who quickly tried to help and then called for further assistance which came swiftly and was solved without any further incidents. We had read some dissatisfaction with breakfast but we were more than happy with the selection available and the quality, which was further enhanced by the birthday breakfast I enjoyed which made me feel special and included a complimentary glass of bubbly.
We ate at 3 of the restaurants in the complex and enjoyed all of them particularly the Miramar with it's selection of rooms where we had the set Romantic 4 course meal which was excellent.
An overall lovely experience with 1 small issue - we were invited for drinks at the pool bar which we accepted but then discovered it was a sales set up to invite you to look at a new Pestana hotel, I know it isn't time share and there were gifts for accepting which we didn't because I am always suspicious of this type of offer as I have been trapped by something similar before. When I go on holiday I don't want to spend time looking at other properties so please it would be better to explain this with the invite so then you know why you are going, however this would not stop me highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our staff and service, we hope to welcome you back on a near future and to be able to provide you the same level of satisfaction.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Five years ago we had through Seasons exchanged a week and stayed at the adjoining resort the Pestana Mira Mar. That resort is slightly up market from the Village and more of a hotel. However the Village is more friendly and the gardens are just wonderful. We had a nice one bedroom apartment which was just yards from the swimming pool. We self catered and one criticism was that the utensils could have been better for cooking. Loads of nearby supermarkets and the fruit was gorgeous. The staff were all very friendly and everything was very clean and tidy. A maid came in every day to clean but not wash up! If you are hiring a car then there is not a lot of room and you have to pay about £4.50 a day. However the resort is very handy and there are numerous buses and trips you can go on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website. It was very nice to receive positive feedback about us, for which we thank you for. We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have never felt the need to leave a review on a hotel before but having just returned from a week staying at the Pestana Village Hotel, feel that this hotel warrants a first class review. From the initial welcome, the brilliant room with a view of the sea we were allocated, the beautiful gardens and the food in the restaurant (we went half board) - all very very impressive and we would like to say thank you to all concerned. The special touch of seeing from my husband's passport that it was his birthday, the special table at breakfast with sparkling wine and the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in the room made his birthday special and one we will remember. Although we do not swim, the pool area was immaculately kept and in beautiful surroundings.
I cannot say anything negative about this hotel and those people who find fault with food etc. because it is not 'English' enough should maybe keep to holidays in Great Britain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing