We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Room Location Will Determine if Your Stay is Heaven or Hell”
Review of Pestana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Village
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in late April 2014. We got the room through RCI as a timeshare. The room we were initially given was ground level, right by the pool. I mean, reach out and almost touch close. Close enough that we couldn't leave the sliding door open without getting cigarette smoke inside and close enough that folks laying out at the pool could see all the way inside our condo and we both could overhear any conversation. Bottom line was no privacy unless in the bathroom or bedroom and no fresh air. It was horrid. The first photo I posted here was our view. We immediately asked to be moved and were told we had to come back the following day at 11am. We did so and were asked to come back again at 2pm. When we came back for the second time we were told our representative still wasn't there but we were able to talk the employee who was there into taking care of us. We were given a different room. Sadly this basically amounted to us losing a day to arrange this move but the difference between the two room locations was like night and day for us. The second room was on the second floor above the garden. It was much quieter and we could sit on our balcony without getting smoked out or having someone within ten feet. The rest of our stay was awesome. The property is quite nice, the location great (I could walk down to the Funchal marina where my grandfather worked as a teenager), and the staff was helpful for the remainder of our stay. I am looking forward to visiting Madeira again and will stay here if a garden view room is available.

Room Tip: depends on whether you want to be right by the pool and don't need privacy or you want some priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank your for your stay and for sharing your experience in our hotel. We have taken in consideration all your comment and assure you that we are doing our best to improve on the less positive points.

The peaceful gardens and refreshing pools await your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

A group of 27 of us stayed here and not one of us had a compliant. The rooms where nice and very clean. The beds unfortunately are the only thing preventing me adding this review as excellent, they were very uncomfortable. The hotel is well positioned for shops, restaurants and night life, of which there is not much - We found one night club open on the Saturday night which was part of the casino, apparently there is usually two around that area but one was closed for refurbishment. The Hotel runs three cocktail happy hours between three different bars where every thing is half price, even coffee and ice-cream. We tried a different cocktail every time we ordered and they were all great. We ate at the hotel restaurant every night and were delighted to find that every evening the food was different, offering a range of starters, several different mains, fish, vegetarian, two types of meat and more, all of this food was delicious, the desserts unfortunately where not so good. Included with our stay was free Mediera wine which was very nice. One of the evening entertainments was a live band and they were great, everybody up dancing. Another night was a man with some parrots and honestly, it was awful! The hotel offered a special night with traditional food and dancers in traditional dress, this night costs 30 euro and is definitely a must avoid! The hotel has a lovely pool, it also has a small gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, times two as you can also use the facilities at the neighboring hotel free of charge, this was a big plus for some of our party as the neighboring hotel has an order pool which is warm enough for the kids to swim in on a cold day (to be honest the outdoor pool was unusually cold even on the extremely hot days). The Pestana Garden hotel also has a spa, several of us tried a massage there, I thought mine was terrible!!! Most of our party did not think theres was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive remarks on your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. last time we stayed we had a lovely garden view room. This time the first 2 nights were in a studio apartment with a sea view (not garden as requested). The apartment was okay with a basic kitchen but no dinner plates to eat it on (just little side plates). Also just one huge saucepan.

On our last night we were given a studio room next door in the Miramar. View was over Funchal which was okay. Same situation with the kitchen though - no dinner plates and one saucepan!

What is the point of having 'self-catering' rooms if all that you need is not provided.

We do still like the hotel (Village) and would probably stay again if they could guarantee garden view room with proper kitchen.

Very nice breakfasts!

C. Stevens

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CAROL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for you stay in Madeira Island. We honestly regret the fact that we did not meet your expectation. We have take in consideration all your comments and assure you that we will do our very best to improve on them.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the first time we've been in Madeira for 6 years. We brought our daughters with us this time. We all love the hotel and facilities. We have used the gym, sauna, jacuzzis and all the pools. It is situated in a good place, not to far to walk, but being used to hills is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have had you staying with us. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we have met your expectations.

We await a return visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very clean, staff very helpful. Liked the happy hours in 3 different bars on site so could get 2 for 1 cocktails from 4pm to 7pm! The only disappointment was no sun on the balcony. We had a groundfloor apartment with a tree outside. On the first day we had a cockroach in our room which we reported to reception, they acted swiftly and called someone to spray , didn't see anymore after treatment.
The position was very good opposite Reids and walking distance to centre of Funchal and lots of bars and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathnRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. We assure you that we will try to improve your less positive comments for future guests or for your return visit.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My parents visited Funchal three weeks ago and had an amazing holiday. The hotel views are breathtaking and blow you away. The pool is very nice and clean and there were plenty of sun beds around the pool and outside your apartment. The staff were very nice and friendly and very helpful. We went on the west side trip where you get to see castles and lovely waterfalls.

Room Tip: Room 3107 was very spacious, nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sital D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and that you found our staff very nice, friendly and very helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were also very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Last year after a trip to Madeira we joined the Pestana Options Vacation Club and four weeks ago we stayed for a week in a Studio apartment at the Miramar hotel which adjoins the Village Garden resort in Madeira. We had use of the facilities of both resorts. Our studio was spotless, very comfortable and had everything we could need for self-catering. We had a lovely view of the harbour and pool from our veranda. We had buffet breakfasts in the Village restaurant and the food was excellent (although we didn't like the fruit juices). We also had three buffet meals in this restaurant which were very good with a wide selection of salads, mains and sweets. We were within a reasonable walking distance from the centre of Funchal. The gardens of the resort were beautiful and peaceful and the pools were lovely and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back again and recommend the Miramar or the Village to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar
Pestana Miramar
#38 of 88 in Funchal
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#15 of 88 in Funchal
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £69 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Village is a 4-star hotel located in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 5,000 m² of gardens and featuring architecture characteristic of the island. It is the perfect place for your holiday, whether you are just relaxing or on your honeymoon. It is located 12 minutes on foot from the beach and 15 minutes on foot from the centre of Funchal. The hotel offers a relaxing health club with a sauna and a jacuzzi as well as a game room. To satisfy your tastes, we offer four restaurants and three bars. Enjoy two fantastic outdoor swimming pools and a heated indoor swimming pool located at the Pestana Miramar. The studios feature typical Madeiran decor, each with a kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing