We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Village
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
465
416
108
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
416
108
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter gardenmira marpool barceiling fanowner relationssuperior studiosmall kitchenettegardens are lovelythere is no air conditioningmini kitchenold towntime sharehappy hourlovely hotelone bedroom apartmentfunchal centrereception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week and returned yesterday. It is very close to Funchal but is quiet and has excellent facilities. Our room was spacious and had a good sized bathroom. Although there is no air conditioning, the ceiling fan did keep the room cool during the night.

Room Tip: Room on the second or third floor are better.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor . The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Miramar Park Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled as a family with my husband and 2 small children, had a great room (4th floor) not a sea view, but breath taking hillside view over Funchal which we loved, especially in the evening. Room and breakfast basis - breakfast was good, large variety of food with excellent pancakes and pastries. Lunch choice at the pool bar was OK - slightly basic, but decent enough, only downside we felt was that there was no real restaurant for evening meals (on site), apart from the outside buffet area, which was not well attended by guests - the menu reflected this, even on the BBQ night the only choice was sardines or pork, and for €28 per person, this did not represent good value vs outside restaurants.
This is the only thing that stops the rating from being excellent, as we loved the grounds, which had an amazing range of flowers and plants, swimming pool and play area, the staff were very nice and friendly towards our children, and the resident lizards kept my kids and husband busy - lizard watching!

Room Tip: Our room did not have aircon, but the fan was sufficient.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Village for your stay in Madeira Island.
We are very proud of our award winning gardens and we do take good care of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a fabulous 2 weeks at the Pestana Village Resort. This was our first trip to Madeira and it surpassed all of our expectations. We had a 2 bedroom, sleep 6 apartment which was spacious and adequately furnished. Our large patio faced the pool and gave prime views of the sunrise.
We enjoyed the central location and helpfulness of both the general resort staff and the specialist time share staff.
The pool is a little on the cool side but in the midday sun it is a pleasant relief.
The grounds are beautifully maintained and full of fabulous plants and amazing sea views.
We enjoyed the daily cocktail hour and took great advantage of that!

Room Tip: They have activities at night like live music at the pool bar which goes on until 11pm, so ask for a room away from that if you need to sleep earlier!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elle8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor . The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As we are Pestana members, we managed to get 2 weeks for the price of 1.
Weather was great.hotel was s short walk from Funchal and the old town.
The hotel is a little dated but very friendly and welcoming.
Good points were our fantastic view over the harbour as we had asked for a high floor.
Not much noise from the pool below but would not want a room on the poolside.
They are handy for families with children or any one with disabilities as all separate blocks of apartments.there are lifts but grounds a bit hilly.the gardens are beautiful and well tended.
When staying in this hotel, one can also use the adjoining Miramar hotel..
We used the small indoor pool & jacuzzi in Miramar at 8am most mornings.we didn't eat in hotel as I made breakfast using cereal etc from nearby supermarket ( turn left out of hotel gates and Spa is a few meters away and very reasonable).
There are so many restaurants nearby, either by turning right at gate or left to Funchal and the beautiful old town.
Our contact at the hotel was Aldo in customer relations.He was very helpful in all aspects.
The only downside I can think of is a problem I had with internet which didn't seem to affect other travellers.
On arrival I was disappointed that a young man checked us in then took us outside and pointed vaguely to where our apartment was.I would have appreciated being shown the room and helped with luggage after a long day.we didn't arrive till 7 pm.
However, fortunately we are capable of managing so wasn't a big issue, more like it seemed it would be too much trouble for him.
I would recommend this hotel but ask for quiet room if couples & away from pool as quite a few children in July which can be expected.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view if possible.all rooms seem ok as have small kitchens.our room 3203 had sun.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bossMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to know about your recent and pleasant stay at the Pestana Village Miramar and that you have found our Hotel very friendly and welcoming. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With best regards from the island of flowers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyed our week stay in a comfortable and well equipped apartment overlooking the swimming pool. The most impressive part of the resort is the garden area, with beautiful flowers and an interesting assortment of flowering trees and bushes. Staff were friendly and efficient and generally helpful. We didn't use the restaurant, but the resort is well situated and there are a lot of reasonably priced and good restaurants nearby. Would certainly consider returning, and would try the gym and indoor pool if we did return ( the outdoor pool was a bit cold! ) - a lot to explore in the Funchal area and elsewhere on the island means that a week is not enough !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff friendly, efficient and helpful.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so most welcome!

We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Village Miramar Park Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews