We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT RESORT”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Went for RCI exchange week. Very good hotel - great suite and good hotel facilities. Vast majority of staff very friendly apart from odd one or two on reception. Agree with some other reviewers that cost of meals quite high when compared with local restaurants but that it their loss! Great fish restaurant just around corner from hotel (out main gate, turn right and first right). Tried it plus second recommended ("parrots"). Both very good but first one a notch higher. Massive portions! Too much for us after a couple of days. Funchal fine for pottering - liked cable car and gardenss. Nuns Valley tour ok - others a bit strange (container docks?). Would recommend Pestana to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    343
    82
    11
    7
See reviews for
179
511
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Klinge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

It was our second stay in the hotel and probably not our last. The hotel is excellent located, it's only a10 minutes walk to the centre of Funchal. The hotel is very clean and our junior suite was beautifull with a nice view to one of the two swimming pools. It's very quiet and it has a beatifull garden. The meals were very good with a nice variety in the buffets. The staff was friendly and helpfull and gave us a special attention at the birthday of our daughter.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plons23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at Pestana Village with an RCI timeshare exchange and had a studio apartment for two. Even though it was a studio it was more than spacious enough for two and had a small kitchen area just beside the bedroom area. It was not a full kitchen with just two hot plates and a microwave for cooking but was more than enough for our needs as we always eat out every evening. The bathroom was modern and whilst the decor in the apartment is a bit old fashioned everything was fresh and clean. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. There is a double glazed patio door to the balcony and due to this we weren't disturbed by noise outside but we did have to keep the door closed at night. At the time of our visit it was very hot and the apartment only had a ceiling fan over the beds and no other windows we could leave open, We could have done with air con but on the positive side the fan was silent enough to leave on all night which was necessary. There is a digital safe in the room which is free to use but we did have to pay a £50.00 cleaning charge which I think is due to us having a timeshare exchange but I'm not sure if other people are also charged this. The pool area is lovely and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger. We went just as the kids went back to school and there were only a few children there. We didn't use the pool at the Miramar preferring the Village pool. I cannot comment on the food at the resort restaurants as we did not eat there as the prices seemed excessive. We also did not use the pool bar as the prices for drinks seemed expensive too, 4 euro for a pint of Coral. In my opinion if the prices had been a little bit more resonable they would have got a lot more business. There is no need to bring a beach towel as there one each in the room which you can changet as often as you like at the gym which is just beside the village pool. My partner used the gym a few times and you are supposed to wear proper sports gear and shoes but they did not seem to enforce this. We did not arrange any trips through owner relations at the hotel but we did ask them to arrange transport back to the airport for us. They do offer a shared mini bus for 15 euro a couple if they can find someone else to share with you but in our case they couldn't but so they arranged a taxi instead for 25 euro which is cheaper than arranging it youself. I would avoid visiting member services on a Tuesday if I were you as the main changover day for guests is Monday and the queues were very long on Tuesday.

When we arrived in Madeira we got the airport bus right outside arrivals to Funchal at the cost of 5 euro each. As there were only 2 of us this was a lot cheaper than a taxi. The trip to Pestanan village took about 30 minutes on the bus and we asked the driver to let us know where to get off which he did. The bus stops right outside the entrance to Pestana Village. The stop before this is the stop for the Miramar. Had no problem at all using the bus other than the worry about getting out at the right stop but you can't really miss it as it is directly opposite Reids Hotel.

There is a row of shops between the entrances to the Miramar and the Village that has a small supermarket, a bakery, a takeaway and a paper shop. Couldn't have been more convenient. We did use the Pingo Doce supermarket in the shopping centre opposite the Lavradores Market for fresh fruit and Veg.

The hotel is in a great location and about a 15 minute walk to the old town and about 10 minutes to the Lido area. We did prefer the old town and were glad we had not stayed in the main hotel zone as it appeared to be mostly high rise hotel accomodation and we prefer low rise accomodation like Pestana Village. We mostle walked but sometimes used the local buses to get around. The main town buses to go passed the village entrance are the No1 and No 6 buses and they are very frequent and run late into the evening. The cost if paid on the bus is 1.80 but if you get a pre pay Giro card it is only 1 euro per journey. You can get a Giro card and recharge it at several vending machines on Avenido do Mar oppiste the harbour area. Apparently other places as well but we didn't find anywhere else.

I would highly recommend a trip to Monte Palace Tropical Gardens. You can get the cable car there which is a15 euro round trip or 10 euro one way or do as we did and get the local bus which in itself was a bit of a thrill ride up the hill. The No 48 bus goes from the bus stop outside the Hotel (Reids Hotel side) and if you have a prepay on the Giro card the journey to Monte is only 1 euro each way. The bus is not very frequent about every hour Monday to Friday but less frequent at the weekends so probably a trip to avoid then if you want to use the bus. The buses to Monte go more frequently from Avenido do Mar. Monte Tropical Gardens are truly lovely and the entrance fee of 10 euro is well worth paying. We had lunch it the cafe overlooking Funchal and it was a very reasonable price.

We also went to Camara de Lobos on the local Rodesto buses which also stop outside the hotel. Most of the Rodesto buses going westbound go through Camara de Lobos and the cost is only 1.70 or the local hop on hop off sightseeing bus on the blue route goes to Camara de Lobos. A nice place to visit for an hour or so. We ate at Churchills Restaurant overlooking the harbour which was nice but perhaps a little too expensive for lunch.

Our favourite restauarnt in Funchal was Terrace d'Ajuda which is on Travessa do Valente a few minutes walk from the hotel (go out of the village entrance and turn right take the first road on the right and it is the second restaurant on this road, you can't miss it it has parrots outside). They have a tourist set menu of three courses and a drink for 18.99 euro (although this set menu didn't seem to be in every menu handed out so if you go worth asking for it). The food was lovely with big portions and each time we ate they gave us a 10% discount of the bill.

All in all a lovely holiday and we will visit again and stay at Pestana Village. The only negative thing I can say about Funchal is that the nightlife is very quite. We did not find anywhere very lively at all and gave up trying by the end of the week. We did find Number 2 bar (opposite the Pestana Carlton & behind the Red Lion restaurant) a pleasant place for a late drink and they will give you acess to their Wi Fi if you ask them. Also had air con and cheapest Coral we had all week at 2.40 a pint.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank irishatleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetUK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at the above after exchanging via RCi - we always expect best quality via RCi as Timeshare in our experience isnt cheap, but somehow gives us great quality. We were not let down by Pestana Village or indeed by this little island which is a little gem. Our resport was just beautifully landscaped and designed and the rooms very well appointed with a great balcony overlooking superb gardens. The service and lounges around the resort were of great quality albeit the prices for drinks and food a little high (hence the value marked down a little) The resort perhaps reflected the entire island which lacked a little "nightlife" but I didnt miss hoards of British larger louts singing football songs through the streets.
The resport had numerous restaurants and food options, but just outside the main gates was a lovely small pizza cafe run by some splendid girls who served up great quality pizze etc., at a great price. There was also a small coffee shop which served pastries etc called "Petit Fours" which was just first class. Even a little grocery store to buy wines, beers, snacks etc.,
NOTE; I have only ever heard of Matues Rose as a Portugese wine, but now I have sampled their red wines I am totally hooked. In essence a far cheaper "Rioja" style wine to glug down during the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We have just purchased a week in the village and this was the first time we used it.We had never seen the place before so you can imagine what we were feeling when we opened the door. Well we were so surpised that we had a purhased a wonderful 2 bed apartment. We had 2 balconys over looking the pool, very good kitchen but no washing machine (but i don't know why you would need one) never been to a time share that had a washing machine. We were not charged 50 euros for electric but I must admit that the outside bar was very expensive. Never ate in the restaurants so can't quote any prices. Customer relations were so good. Never had any hard sell. Only complaints were the hard beds and the TV only showed BBC1 and ITV until 7pm. All the German and other non english channels stayed on. Resort was very quite for time of year so nice to relax by the pool. Hardly any children there. Saw the firwork display on the Saturday night and what a show, it went on for 20mins and cost £77,000. Can' wait to go back next year and now we know our apartment is like will take some friends to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigel1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Having visited the village several times both myself and my wife thought that although still a very good resort we found a number of things that indicated it was on a downward trend, in particular the following we believe could be improved.

On arrival we found that there is a 50E utility charge which we believed to be on the high side and since we dined out and didn't really use the apartment utilities it made me score low on value for money.

The apartment was good, particularly the cleaning service although thew TVs were small or dated with the one in the bedroom not having good reception on all channels.
We both slept ok but the beds very hard although ok if you like it like them that way.

Again on the cost side the outside bar is particularly expensive compared to bars outside the resort, also the drinks are provided in plastic glassses, nothing worse when your drinking a cold beer!

Its a pity the inside bars weren't open since this is a lovely place to sit on the cooler nights. Also the hotel restaurants are expensive, one wasn't open and there appeared no one used the fine dining restaurant (too expensive)

The flora outside is always good to see but the walkways could do with a bit more maintenance to clean them up and carry out the odd repair to prevent a person from tripping.

Overall I had the opinion that Pestana are beginning to "penny pinch" and as a result standards are dropping.

This is the first review I have ever written and I am doing so since the Pestana village is a resourt I would like to see maintain a competative edge and maintain value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulrev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We had a 2-plate hob and fridge but nowhere to store food and there were no cereal bowls. The hotel was charming with fountains and blue/white tiling etc but the food was pretty poor (we had two free meals otherwise we wouldn't have bothered) so ate elsewhere which was pretty expensive. There is a charge if you hire an iron; no flannels in the bathroom but a bidet (useful for tired feet!). Room was a bit tatty in places but very clean and the towels/linen were changed every other day. Don't bother with white wine, have a glass of the house red in any restaurant. Can recommend Luigi's, Golden Gate and Taj Mahal (watch the parakeets playing in the trees whilst eating on the terrace). Very pleasant stay in all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonrakerSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
1.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing