We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another wonderful visit to the Floating gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Yet another wonderful visit to the Floating gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was our 4th visit to, in our opinion, the best positioned hotel in Madeira. As usual, we were made welcome from the start. I had enquired, on their facebook page a few weeks ago, as to whether they had wifi, & was told only in public areas. But that was fine & it was free. But the first morning, the manager arrived with a router, so we could enjoy free wifi in our room, which was wonderful. They also arranged seating tickets for the flower festival prior to our arrival, which were most appreciated. Their customer services are second to one, and we will certainly return again. The only slight criticism I have is the dining room, which is excellent for the buffet breakfast, could do with a bit more atmosphere in the evening, maybe subdued lighting, and perhaps just use one section, to make it more interesting. But it is a difficult one, as with so many restaurants so close to the hotel, most people eat out anyway. Well done PSM, another brilliant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Guests,
We are delighted for having the chance to greet you once more with a "Welcome back!" and that you left Madeira Island with more great memories to take home.
Regarding your requests that we managed to provide it only shows that calling us in advance is still the easier way to let us know your particular needs. Although we keep our ears and eyes open to what people post all over the internet, not always we get these in a timely manner.
It makes sense to post queries of subjective nature in public forums, but when one just needs straight info or place a special request, nothing beats a direct contact with the hotel. And e-mail is a cheap and effective way to do it.
The Flower Festival is over, but since you are a regular visitor of our Facebook page, we will keep posting there more photos of the sheer diversity of plants that bloom throughout the year in gardens and in the wild, all over the island.
Thank you very much.
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    353
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
109
1,334
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Located in the old town and just done the road from the bus station and cable car this hotel is spotless and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent - hot buffet was always fresh, scrambled eggs moist and tasty which is something that hotels don't often manage! Tables cleared efficiently. Usual continental cheeses & fruit - you make your own tea in pots. Had a junior suite which has a kitchenette with 2 rings, electric kettle and crockery and cutlery for a couple. Very useful fridge. There is a supermarket down the road and 2 large ones in the shopping centres to get your milk, tea etc and anything else you require. Small shop in hotel sells papers, confectionery etc. Reception very helpful and there was a very helpful young man for the luggage. Food at pool bar was good. Captains bar had entertainment and football showing in a separate lounge with novels in different languages. Gardens immaculate with wide range of plants, pools, gym and spa looked good though didn't try them. Sunloungers plentiful, free and unreservable. In the immediate vicinity there are at least a dozen decent restaurants. Agree needs in room brochure but our towels and bathrobes were soft, plentiful and fluffy. Also good range of refreshed toiletries inc toothbrush in bathroom. Thoroughly recommend hotel and location which is so much nicer than the lido area. Buses easy to use so if you don't like cable cars take the bus up to Monte

Room Tip: far west rooms near square may get festival noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AmandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a very good hotel, I have a couple of small moans which I will get out of the way first. There does not seem to ever be a porter/doorman so no help with the bags to and from taxi. There was no information folder in the room so we had no idea about the bars, restaurants, pools, spa etc or opening times. very strange, I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere without info in the room. Some of the towels were extremely thin and hard so were wet quickly and unable to be used more than once.
Moans over...... Lovely calm reception, beautiful flowers and the floor was always smartly polished. Free Wifi in reception and bar but not free in the room so just checked emails on the way in and out. Free wifi would be nice in the room, especially as we had a suite.
The suite was very large (160) on 1st floor right at the end of hotel, big lounge with sofa, dining table and chairs, could do with another armchair. corridor through to big bedroom with balcony, table and chairs. bathroom nice but would have liked a separate shower. 2 big wardrobes with hang space and shelves, so we had one each which was a bonus. Very comfy bed and bedding soft and white. Not keen on it being 2 put together but made up as singles so small duvet each, which, once you were under it barely covers you!!! much better if big duvet and sheets making the bed one big kingsize. Towels, as I have said were a bit pot luck, some pretty thin and scratchy others bit better but none really thick and fluffy. Safe has to be paid for, about 13euro for week, again I think this could be included in the suite. I also thought it was a little mean to not have any welcome in the way of a few flowers, or water or fruit. These, I believe are given if you are a repeat guest but what better time to welcome a guest than the first time!. apart from 2 boiled sweets on the pillow there was nothing to welcome us, shame for 4*
Breakfast was as expected, the usual mix of buffet, nothing exceptional but perfectly adequate and mostly well topped up. Coffee nice and liked that fact there were pots, baskets and trays so you could collect several bits at once.
Did not eat in the restaurant but we did have a bar meal which was nice and also toasted sandwiches from the pool bar, again very good.
Not warm enough for outdoor pool but did use the indoor one. It is heated but could be a bit warmer!! once you are in it is ok. Jacuzzi is warmer and very frothy!! Did not use the spa so unable to comment on that.
We would be happy to return to this hotel and also to try others in the group as mostly we were more than happy with it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

My wife and I have considered a holiday in Madeira a number of times but always ended up elsewhere. This year we made it and I'm so glad we did.

As has been stated by so many reviews this hotel has to be in the perfect position in Funchal. Only the hotel grounds and the promenade separated our ground floor room from the sea. The hotel grounds are not huge but seem to be sufficient for those guests who choose to spend their holiday around the pool. We didn't use the outdoor bar/restaurant ourselves but as we passed through the food looked very nice and the prices were very reasonable. The breakfasts in the main dining room were excellent with so much choice that nearly all tastes must be catered for. There are so many restaurants within strolling distance that we only used the hotel once in the evening but that was very good and only slightly more expensive than the other restaurants. I was totally surprised on returning to my room on the Wednesday to find a card and birthday cake from the hotel. How they knew I'm not sure but a very nice gesture nevertheless.

The room itself was just as the brochure showed which in my experience is not at all common. The furnishings consisted of two large single beds pushed together , dressing table, an armchair (two would have been nice but perhaps a bit of a squeeze) a small table with two chairs plus similar on the balcony (our most used furniture). Amazingly for two dedicated TV viewers we didn't use the smallish wall mounted room television once. When you can sit on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the cruise ships come and go who needs television.

All the hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel itself was well decorated and spotless. We found nothing at all about this hotel which we would even consider complaining about.

Although he's not part of the hotel staff I'd like to sneak in a quick word of appreciation for our Thomson rep, Joe, who like the hotel staff was always friendly and helpful and was always available morning and evening for anyone who needed him.

This is one hotel I would have no hesitation in recommending and will almost certainly try to stay here on my next visit to Madeira and return I will.

Room Tip: Any south facing room will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you very much for showing your appreciation with this thorough review of Porto Santa Maria.
Since you want to return to Madeira Island and Porto Santa Maria, you may like to know that we plan to replace all our current TV sets during this year. Although I agree with you, watching the seaside activities from the tranquility of the room's balcony beats any TV channel.
I will forward your kind words to Joe, since I'm not sure he reads Porto Santa Maria's reviews. Which is becoming an habit since a few Thomson's guests already praised him in these reviews.
We hope to reward your kindness with our hospitality again, on this beautiful island.
Yours sincerely,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Couldn't really find fault with this hotel at all. It's beautifully clean and well-appointed. It was well worth paying the small amount extra to have a sea view. We had an uninterrupted view of the sea and the marina and spent many a happy hour sitting enjoying the sun with a glass of wine (or three!). The location is excellent (I won't repeat what previous reviewers have said - just that it's within walking distance of almost anywhere you might want to go in Funchal). Another reviewer complained about the restaurant touts in the immediate vicinity - we actually found them quite entertaining. They're just keen for you to try their particular restaurant, however most of them serve fairly similar menus with the traditional Madeiran fare. For a bit of variety we tried the Chinese restaurant just behind the hotel and the food was excellent, far better than we find in this country. We didn't have dinner in the hotel (others who did said it was adequate but nothing special) but no complaints about the breakfast. Everything was freshly cooked and topped up frequently during service, unlike hotels in the UK where you generally have to chase down a waitress to ask for something like clean glasses or cups or eggs that aren't solid and congealed. The kitchenette in the room was adequate for having a coffee and a sandwich at lunchtime and keeping a couple of bottles of wine and beer in the fridge. The only minor quibble perhaps is that service in the bar in the evening was quite slow even though there were hardly any customers. It didn't detract from the holiday though - we had a great time and if we come back to Madeira we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AberdeenAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
On behalf of Porto Santa Maria and its team I thank you very much for taking some time to share your recent holiday experience with us.
We are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay and that we met your expectations.
Regarding our restaurant, if you return I hope you will dine with us at least once so that we can do our best to change your perception based on the opinions you heard.
Meanwhile, I met with our bar team to discuss your remark about slow service. We apologise for that and will be more attentive to this issue in order to avoid its repetition.
We look forward to greet you with a "Welcome back!" upon your return to Madeira Island.
Kind regards.
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This was our second time at the hotel and just as good as the first. Excellent staff, everyone is cheerful, friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Everything fresh and well presented with good choice. Buffet dinners are also good quality and nicely presented. The bar has a nice atmosphere and the bar staff are attentive and always cheerful. Location is arguably the best in Funchal, set in the Old Town in easy walking distance to restaurants, the cable car, busses and taxis and the town itself. Sea view rooms have a great view of the cruise ships coming and going. Rooms are spotless and well equipped with kitchenette. Indoor and outdoor pool areas and bar all well kept. Book early, they have an occupancy rate of 96 to 98% which speaks for itself. We will return!

Room Tip: Book direct & you get loyalty club membership
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sixtiescouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
It's a pleasure to share such positive reviews with my staff.
To meet, exceed if possible, our guests expectations and provide good memories to bring back home is our main purpose.
And during this stay you became one of our return guests, those 3 out of every ten arrivals that we greet each day with a "Welcome back!" upon their arrival. Thank you for letting us know that we confirmed the positive evaluation that you've done on your first stay with us and made you come back.
We hope it won't be your last visit and look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful island.
Kind regards,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Just returned from a week’s stay at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel which was lovely. We upgraded to a sea view studio which was perfect as it benefitted from the sun all day. The room was very comfortable which included a small kitchenette with fridge, two electric rings, kettle, cultery and a few pots and pans (it was fine for preparing sandwiches/simple meals and drinks). The room was cleaned thoroughly every day with fresh towels and toiletries. It was also very relaxing to sit with a drink on the balcony and watch the cruise ships going in and out of Funchal harbour.

The breakfast was satisfactory for a four star hotel – sufficient choice (hot and cold) which was replenished at regular intervals. All the staff we encountered were extremely kind, efficient and helpful.

The indoor pool/jacuzzi area was never over crowded and we enjoyed a swim every evening before getting ready to go out for dinner. The outdoor pool was rather cold and we hardly saw anyone use it while were there. We didn’t eat in the hotel in the evenings as there are so many restaurants nearby to choose from.

The hotel is situated in a very convenient position – handy for the cable car to Monte (to visit the Tropical Gardens) and for the bus station. The market is quite close by – interesting to look around, but the price of fruit is actually far cheaper in the supermarket which is just across the road from the market!

There is plenty to do on Madeira – a week certainly wasn’t enough. We will most definitely return and without hesitation would choose the Porto Santa Maria again. We did look around the ‘hotel zone’ and although there are a number of nice hotels, we personally thought the Porto Santa Maria’s position directly on the sea-front promenade was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neapolitan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing