We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holiday Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal with Thomas Cook for our Honeymoon last year as we had always wanted to go to Madeira and this hotel looked really nice. We were definitely not disappointed! The hotel is, in my opinion, in the best part of Funchal - right in the heart of the old town with many excellent restaurants literally on the doorstep (try Mozarts for a unique and quirky experience and superb good value menu!). At this end of the resort, there are no steep hills to climb which is another added bonus! As soon as we walked into the foyer, we knew this was a great hotel - the foyer is large, cool and airy with plenty of seats. The reception staff are extremely polite and helpful and they all speak very good English. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was overlooking the sea and the marina where we had a brilliant view of the cruise ships that visit. The view is beautiful. The hotel staff had left us a wedding gift of champagne, flowers and fruit which was a lovely touch. The room was spacious with it's own air conditioning, a small kitchen area consisting of a hob and a fridge plus crockery, pans and utensils etc and a lovely clean bathroom with bath and a shower over. There was also a safe for your valuables. Everything was spotlessly clean. They even provide towels for taking down to the outdoor pool. The hotel has a gym (which we did not use!) and an indoor pool plus an excellent spa which offered a good selection of face and body treatments for both men and women (which we did indulge in!). The outdoor area consists of a pool and a good quantity of sun loungers and parasols plus an eating area serving hot and cold drinks (including alcohol) plus a decent selection of light lunches and snacks. The main restaurant serves a buffet style breakfast which has a very varied selection of items to choose from which should cater for most tastes and nationalities. It is a lovely big room with plenty of tables to choose from. The evening menu we personally found a little restricted and so we preferred to eat out most nights. However, they did a great barbecue night which consisted of lots of fish and meat dishes (you could have as much as you liked). There is also a bar with indoor seating and a balcony terrace. The bar staff were very attentive and friendly - in fact all the staff from the cleaners to the management, were all extremely helpful and pleasant. Evening entertainment was fairly typical of hotel entertainment - nothing outstanding - but it was pleasant enough to while away an hour or two after dinner. They also did an evening with the local folk group of singers/dancers which was highly entertaining and so full of fun and energy that I defy anyone not to come away feeling uplifted. All in all it was a perfect resort and a brilliant hotel, making a truly wonderful honeymoon. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation - so much so that we have booked it again for next year!

Room Tip: A few local girls and boys sometimes gather in the evening at the end of the promenade where the lid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissieh336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Porto Santa Maria hotel, knowing that those are memories that last a lifetime we are very happy that we contributed on making them good ones! We will be waiting for your next visit!
Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    358
    53
    15
    11
See reviews for
111
1,360
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

A great hotel would love to come back but not with Tomson's (more of that later), the little kitchen in the room and the fact your can to bring your own food and drink in is excellent, in fact several times gin and tonic on the balcony turned in to let's not go out tonight we will just go down for the buffet (we should have booked the advanced package and saved money)as it was good. As others have said the location is excellent in the center of the old town, the beach next to the hotel is small and pebbly, and judging by the sun tans used only by locals don't bother, I fact don't come to Madeira if you want a beach holiday. The hotel has two pools and plenty of sun loungers The garden view rooms looked fine overlooking paved area and local restaurants, the other side of the hotel had two rooms that didn't look as good overlooking a car park and the remains of Funchal's fishing industry. TV with BBC1, BBC2 & ITV and on extra charge for air conditioning as well as free wifi in the foyer make this hotel a good choice, all though The bar wasn't keen on you sitting at the bar insisting that you sat down for waiter service and beer was served in 200ml unless you asked for a big one.

Thomson's do not operate return transfers from this hotel instead a van came for the luggage and we were marched to the bus station to pick up a coach, we weren't told about in advance or we would have arranged a taxi as my companion found it difficult to keep up. Tomson's also invited a time share salesman to the welcome meeting!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petermilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for you review on Porto Santa Maria Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in a sea facing room, between in August 2012.

The room was very nice, with everything you might expect and want from a good hotel, the fridge was a good size, and although we did not use it, there was also a two ringed electric hob in the room. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was well appointed with shower, bath, sink, wc, toilet and bidet. The Balcony was great, with a table and two chairs to sit on whilst enjoying the lovely view out to see.

Both the indoor and outdoor pools were good, very clean, warm, and very well maintained. There were plenty of sun loungers around both pools, and the outside pool had a bar right next to it where you could purchase drinks and snacks.

The public areas of the hotel were lovely, and felt like places where you wanted to be. Other than for breakfast, we did not eat at the restaurant, but the food and service that we experienced was excellent.

The hotel is located right next to the sea, and within a few minutes easy walk of the old town, the town centre, the cable car to Monte and lots of very good reasonably priced restaurants. It was lovely just wandering out in the evening to chose somewhere to eat, and then being able to walk back to the hotel in a few mintues.

We were delighted that we had chosen this hotel, and hope that others have the same experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CNewton_SL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from a week staying at this lovely hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
The hotel is in an excellent location in the Old Town zone right on the seafront and with great views of the harbour. It's in a nice flat area, so easy on the legs!
We stayed in a sea view room (213) and enjoyed the most splendid view of a P&O cruise ship coming in one morning right facing our balcony. The room was cleaned everyday with all toiletries topped up and towels changed if left in the bath. We loved the big pool towels and also the bath robes came in handy for popping down to the indoor pool and jacuzzi in.
The fridge in the room was super for keeping water and drinks nice and cold and the air conditioning was very welcome after a hot day out.
With the cable car station, bus station and taxi ranks plus about a 10 minute slow stroll along to the harbour, it really is in a great location. Then there are all the restaurants literally on the doorstep.....
We spent a few peaceful hours each afternoon up on the rooftop sun terrace followed by a swim and jacuzzi. The breakfast's are great - I particularly enjoyed the array of fresh fruit followed by a couple of boiled eggs, nice soft bread and a sneaky glass of sparkling white wine :)
We did the cable car (15 euros each return) but didn't bother with the toboggan. We also did a 3 hour sailing trip on Sea Born catamaran (30 euros each) and spotted a few dolphins. We used the red hop on hop off bus and visited Camara de Lobos which was a rather quaint little fishing village and sampled a glass of passion fruit Poncha - lethal!
We really had a splendid holiday, would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be back for more.

Room Tip: Sea view room on a higher floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wicksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our 4th visit to the wonderful Porto Santa Maria and as good if not better than our previous holidays. The new roof-top terrace is a perfect addition to a well appointed hotel. We had requested a particular room and they were able to oblige. We did a mixture of evening meals both in the hotel and in Funchal itself and this suited us very well. Breakfast was very varied, well presented and nicely cooked, the evening meals were also of a very high standard, we particularly liked the bbq evening.
Many of the staff from our fist visit were there and remembered us, they were all friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment in the bar and the prices of the drinks are good, which all helped make this a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday, we will be back!

Room Tip: We liked a ground floor room with access via a gate to the garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lunnsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel offers everything that you need for a quiet, relaxing break. The rooms are large with extremely comfortable beds. The food is super and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in a very good location for exploring the town and other attractions such as the cable car and palace gardens at Monte. Top tip is to book a room with a sea view....it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view not a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank upminstercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

With it`s unique location and stunning view, I can definitely recommend Porto Santa Maria. Close to Funchals restaurants, small streets, promenade and overlooking the see.
The rooms are spacious and the food is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing