We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just returned from a trip to Madeira use this lovely hotel for a drink and sandwich at lunch time . Staff are excellent location near the cable car good food if the lunch time meals etc are are an example of what they offer seem excellent.The pools seem fine also the facilities on the ground floor are good.This i would say is my second favourite hotel in Madeira next to the Cliff Bay which i all ways stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for reviewing your Promenade Bar lunch! Guests from other hotels are always welcome to Porto Santa Maria!

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a trip, bit reticent about visiting Madeira in the winter as not quite Tenerife, give it a chance though. Stayed in the Santa Maria, Funchal old town, what a location, next to the Fort and the cable car, short walk to town but with ample restaurants alongside. Friends stayed in the hotel district, whata mistake, has I been there I would not want to go back but fortunately we were perfectly positioned. Hotel well above standard, breakfast great but we did not have half board so ate out every night. Some very good and some very poor experiences there but on the whole a fair choice. The hotel itself was quite grand and to some degree catered for the older clientel, however do not let that put you off as the location itself well makes up for that. Sitting on the balcony or by the outside pool with cocktails watching the numerous cruise ships enter port was a delight. The second inside pool was ideal for that cloudy day albeit we had great weather. Entertainment was a bit off as I do not do bingo nor sing alongs however not intentionally but had a great laugh at some of the acts and they were not comedians. Great location in Funchal and there were a lot of people passing who wished they had picked this one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,


thank you for reviewing Porto Santa Maria hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our cocktail bar. Was a bit surprised by the entertainment comment since we do not have Bingo?! but offer live music with different artists and styles during the week.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent a very enjoyable fortnight at this hotel. The location is everything that you could wish for, right in the heart of the old town and with delightful views to sea and over the harbour.At the same time, it is very peaceful and a sound night's sleep is assured. The rooms are of a good size and well equipped including a small kitchenette. The breakfasts were a great way to start the day with a wide range of choice including some lovely local specialities. We thought that the restaurant and bar charged realistic prices, no doubt in order to compete with the plethora of local restaurants on the doorstep. A very pleasant feature is a comfortable and well equipped library which forms part of the bar.

My only gripe was that you had to pay to use the safe in your own room. This was not clearly advertised and seemed unnnecessarily penny pinching when the hotel was so generous in other respects.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a sea view or partial sea view as the gardens to the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andystothard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Came back on Monday from our 3rd visit to this hotel,really all i can say is that we had a lovely room in a lovely hotel with lovely staff in a lovely part of funchal.In fact everything was just lovely!! and we will hopefully be back again next year

Room Tip: Always ask for a 2nd floor seaview room so you can people watch and have the best view of the liners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algarveaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful week at Porto Santa Maria. We last went 5 years ago and it's still as good as ever. The addition of the Roof Terrace is SPECTACULAR!!
We would recommend it without hesitation to those who need to "Chill" in beautiful surroundings or to those with more energy who want to use it as a base to explore this amazing island.
The staff are helpful without being intrusive and the facilities are first class. Each room has it's own kitchenette facility to use as much or as little as you want!
The food is excellent in the restaurant but don't miss the half price cocktails during Happy Hour(s) in The Captain's Bar. There is also a wonderful choice of restaurants close by in The Old Town.
We shall return!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are a must and second or third floor to appreciate the incredible views of the ocean and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I joined my daughter and son in law in June this year for a week at porto santa Maria. The room was very well equiped with such comfortable beds, robes and even a toothbrush. We ate in the restaurant on three nights and found the food quality far better than some of the restaurants we tried. The biggest downside was too many sun beds squashed around a small pool, but the indoor pool was so warm. when I compare this to 10 days I have just spent in a greek five star I truly applaud this hotel for its comfort and would go back and recommend it. It is an adult only hotel so I fail to understand why some people may have commented on the lack of children. We had a first floor room closest to the beach where I enjoyed watching everyone marching along the front keeping fit and the fun that was had in the water by the locals. The entertainment wasn't fantastic and I think this was the reason so many people went out at night..To me room comfort is very important, I like to sit on the balcony and there is no doubt that this hotel gives all that. My daughters room was facing the garden and it was much bigger than mine she was more than happy. The cleaners were there every day and what a good job they did the hotel was spotless.
It is situated close to buses and the cable car and no distance to walk to shops.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank droversNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I travelled with my wife for a seven day break in Funchal. This was our first overseas holiday for some years and we can't fault the hotel. it is centrally located on the sea front and close to the old town.

Our bedroom had a view over the sea and the pool terrace.

We opted to eat dinner in the restaurant on three nights and enjoyed the choice of buffet dishes available. On the other evenings we visited some of the restaurants close to the hotel main entrance. The restaurant staff do ask you to visit their restaurant but accept a friendly rejection with the reply 'perhaps tomorrow'

I used the well equipped gym and indoor pool.

All the staff are friendly and the bedroom in particularly was always clean and welcoming.

There is a library in the bar with a wide range of books available. no need to take too many books in your luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £127 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing