We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Great Hoiliday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just back from a week in Funchal in the Porto Santa Maria. The Staff at the Hotel are so efficient and Helpful, nothing is too for much for them to make your stay more enjoyable. Booking in was so easy and quick. Our room was a garden view double at the side of the hotel overlooking the public gardens. The room was bright spaceous and very clean and tidy.
We were on B&B, the breakfasts were good and had a long serving period, great for lie ins. The choice of hot/cold food was great with a varied selection of drinks. We had a choice of eating inside or on the terrace, depending on which tables were free. The waiting staff were very good.
We did eat in the hotel restaurant twice during our stay, sampling the carvery night and the Madeiran Folk night. The Local folk group provided music and dancing during the meal. The restuarant did have a theme for every night and a ala carte menu. We enjoyed both meals very much.
The indoor pool was a good place to cool down and enjoy a swim in nice surroundings.
The Captains bar was a good place to have a pre dinner cocktail (can recommend the Captains Special), or after dinner drinks. The entertaiment varied nightly from Lounge Music to a very Lively Salsa Band. The Bar Staff are very friendly and offered quick table service.
The location of the Hotel is central in Funchal, with easy access to the Local Attractions. There a several good restaurants near to the hotel, with very friendly staff, at reasonable pricies.
Despite some work being carried out on the promenade at the front of the hotel, this did not detract on our holiday at the Porto Santa Maria.
If I was being really picky on our really enjoyable time, it would be the lack of coffee or tea in the room to go with the provided kettle.
We would definately stay at the Porto Santa Maria again when we return to Funchal

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms are abit nosier at present due to the works ongoing at the sea front. The side ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with is! I will pass your comments to our team specially our F&B Team! We hope you visit us again soon!

Regrads,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent another fantastic two weeks at the Porto Santa Maria in September and still cannot rate the hotel highly enough. This was our first visit since the new manager has taken over and we were very impressed with the changes being made, for example the hotel restaurant was in the process of being refurbished very stylishly. We spent some time chatting with him and were impressed with his vision for the hotel. As ever the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming us like old friends, and catering to our every need. We celebrated our third anniversary whilst there and were thrilled to receive champagne and flowers in our room.

We were particularly interested to be told that around half of the staff at the hotel have been there since it opened 12 years ago. This speaks volumes for the company ethos and the dedication of the staff to make every visitor's stay an absolute pleasure.

Please see our previous review for this hotel and everything we praised previously is still as impressive as ever!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you liked the changes we have been doing to keep Porto Santa Maria up to date! We hope to have with us for the seventh time in the near future!

Best regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just spent 1 week at this hotel , from the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends , welcomed and made to feel special. Check in was simple and quick, our room was a junior suite which was perfect in every way , lots of space and every possible comfort...
The standard of food at this hotel was simply outstanding at every meal , you will not go hungry here !
Staff were always helpful , friendly and seemed very happy in their work , all in all this is a very well run hotel and a credit to the manager.
Only downside is having is having to leave !

Room Tip: go for a suite its worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for you warm and kind review! It is a true pleasure for us to read it and it does make us proud! We always do our best and it is good to know that we provided a nice experience at Porto Santa Maria! We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our first holiday on the beautiful island of Madeira. Described as 'off the beaten track' on the holiday firm's website, we chose this hotel for its peaceful yet central location. Our very comfortable first floor 'junior suite' was well air-conditioned and included a lounge/kitchette area. The beds were wonderfuly welcoming with good quality linen. The balcony overlooked the pool with views towards Funchal harbour and hills beyond. Numerous restaurants walled in the hotel which was a bubble of peace in the old town area near the cable car to Monte. The indoor and outdoor pools were well maintained, clean and stocked with clean pool towels. One of the plusses was the hotel not being in the Funchal 'Hotels Area'. The hotel reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff were all unfailingly polite, helpful and efficient. The restaurant food was very good with plenty of variety at buffet dinners in the evening. We would return tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leckhampton_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed Porto Santa Maria and will be here welcoming you on your next visit!

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Would not stay anywhere else in Madeira, have tried the other end before we found this hotel. Ideally situated, staff brilliant, a calm and restful aura about the hotel and some very good restaurants nearby. We will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden rooms, go for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! It is always nice to read in reviews that guests want to come back it makes the whole team happy that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We went back to this hotel on our autumn holiday, and we were just as pleesed as last year. The staff is nice, the food is excellent, the rooms are big and comfortable, the location is splendid and the seawiev is fantastick. In addition there is a nice pool, a fitness room and a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Choose a room with seawiev - it is worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NorwayJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you r for your review, we hope that next autumn you will visit us again and also enjoy your stay!

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just returned from a trip to Madeira use this lovely hotel for a drink and sandwich at lunch time . Staff are excellent location near the cable car good food if the lunch time meals etc are are an example of what they offer seem excellent.The pools seem fine also the facilities on the ground floor are good.This i would say is my second favourite hotel in Madeira next to the Cliff Bay which i all ways stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for reviewing your Promenade Bar lunch! Guests from other hotels are always welcome to Porto Santa Maria!

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £109 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing