We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The hotel lived up to its billing in the previous reviews. We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed it despite the weather being overcast for most of the time. We particullarly liked the location being so close to the old town and real people rather than being struck in the rather false hotel area on the western side of the bay. We had half board and the food was excellent. The service was attentive without being over done. There is a good range of entertainment in the hotel, some better than others, but over the week the should be something to please everyone.

We had a free Portuguese lesson from Adriana, one of the hotel staff . If you want to learn some of the language so that you can say simple things I would suggest that you try it. If you persevere with simple words instead of always using English you will be rewarded by the locals, who will help you with any problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sslmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porto Santa Maria through tripadvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed our Thursday's Gourmet Dinner by Chef Klaus! I will pass this review to Adriana as I am sure she will be pleased to to know that her students enjoyed her Portuguese class!

Obrigado (which I hope after your class you already know what it means)

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    382
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
119
1,438
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

There have been many good words said about this hotel from Trip Advisor contributors and that is the primary reason why my wife and I booked a two week holiday here. I am very pleased to report that it very much lived up to the reports and we both had an extremely pleasant stay. We had taken the precaution to email our requirements for a 2nd or 3rd storey room overlooking the ocean, and that is what we got. It is hard to fault this hotel from any perspective; staff, food and accommodation were all first class. Its position in the old town was perfectly placed for a magnificent range of restaurants and the city centre was only 5 minutes walk away. From our room, we enjoyed watching the activity in the harbour. The little kitchenette was ideal for making snacks and storing our wine and cold beer. As an adult’s only hotel, we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. Musical entertainment was provided every night and Lina, the Guest Services Manager, always seemed to on hand to ensure everyone was well looked after. If offered, I recommend you participate in her tour of the hotel or else you may miss out on some of its many facilities. For information, at the time of writing (Sep 12), a major construction project had just been started along the promenade, about 400m from the hotel, to extend the tourist facilities in the harbour area. There was very occasional noise from the site and that was only during normal working hours; as far as I could determine, it should not affect your enjoyment whilst staying at this wonderful hotel. Would we stay here again – most definitely!

Room Tip: Email ahead to be sure of a room that meets your requirements. Note some balconies are fully open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Waspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for you kind review! It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass this also to Lina as she will be glad you enjoyed both her tour of the hotel as her company. We truly hope to have your visit again soon!

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great Hotel, Some Great Staff , Good setting.

Please be aware when you upgrade to suite to check what your getting before you arrive or before you accept the room.

Very small Balcony ,No Privacy Just Poor.

Shame as we dod not use it.

Room Tip: Dont bother with Suite Unless you know what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear guest,

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the balcony on your junior suite. As you can understand due to the shape of the hotel the size and shape of balconies change and as with views guests have different preferences. We hope that on your next visit we will be able to find a junior suite that has a balcony that you like. We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the personal recommendation of good friends who raved about the position of the hotel, with cable car, restaurants and the old town on your doorstep.
The hotel was fine, but we had booked the week for a peaceful relaxation and I'm afraid the noise of the dumper trucks and diggers from 7.30 am to 6 pm really was a blot on our holiday. It is true that we were given a credit of 10 euros each per day to spend on extras in the hotel and its sister hotels, however this did not compensate for the noise. In addition a 7 foot metal fence was erected all along the promenade so there was no point in walking along there as there was no view. I realise that this is no fault of the hotel but if you want peace and quiet I would give this hotel a miss until the work on the breakwaters and beaches in completed

Room Tip: Try not to have a garden room overlooking the square with picnic tables as it got very noisy, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your time reviewing Porto Santa Maria Hotel. We are glad that you found no problem with the hotel itself. The credit that the hotel choose to give to all its guests to use in the extra bill was a goodwill sign by the hotel as we now that as any construction can sometimes bring noise however there is a correction that I must do to your review that is no construction in Portugal can start at 7h30am since it is against the law. Let me also point out that no noise is made during the night nor Saturdays nor Sundays. regarding the protecting fence that separates the promenade from the construction it does not exist in front of the hotel
We still believe that the hotel as well as Funchal city center is worth a visit! We will be here waiting to welcome you back!

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just back after a wonderful stay at this hotel. we had a sea view room on the first floor. Yes some noise at the moment due to the work on the promenade, but it did not spoil our stay. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. It was good to be so near the old town and all the restaurants and to be able to watch the activity in the harbour from our balcony. Breakfast in the hotel was varied and very tasty.The swimming pool is a good size for town centre hotel and never had more than 3 people in it, also very good service in the spa.we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teazel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your time reviewing Porto Santa Maria. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose us on a next visit to Madeira.

Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked this hotel mostly on the back of the reviews we had read here and I must say we were not at all disappointed.

Excellent location in the old town plenty of places to go to eat around, most sights can be got to without walking enormous hills (unlike the rest of Funchal) and the cable car is on your door step. You can sit in the hotel garden and watch cruise ships manouvering right in front of you.

Staff were wonderful the ladies on reception were so helpful and kind I couldn't fault them. When we arrive we had been assigned a garden view room looking out, my husband wasn't happy with this so I asked if there was any possibility of changing. They found a ground floor room looking into the hotel garden, which was fantastic and they moved our luggage whilst we ate lunch. After months of insomnia by husband sleep peacefully that night, for which I can't thank them enough. The restaurant staff (breakfast only) always made sure we got an outside table. Breaksfast was lovely lots of selection bacon, eggs (fried and scrambled) sausages, a daily change of other items e.g. frittata or french toast. Various breads and rolls a toasting machine. Salad items, cheeses, cold meats, spreads, jams, preserves, danish pastries, croissants, cereals, the list goes on. The also has a light Prosseco if you wanted true indulgance, a bit much for me but I did make bucks fizz one day. We had lunch at the pool bar on a couple of days and this was very nice although when I ordered quiche of the day on our first day I got a toasted sandwich!?!??

The rooms are lovely huge wardrobe, TV with english channels, hairdryer in the bath room, shampoo and shower gel regularly refreshed, emergency kits with toothbrushes and combs, two bathrobes, pool towles, air conditioning, and of course the little kitchenette. We only used the fridge but could have easily reduced our expenditure by making little lunches or dinners in there as everything was provided.

I tried out the spa and had a lovely facial and massage, quite reasonably priced too. The indoor and outdoor pools were clean and well maintained. The gym was sufficient for holidays but sadly I seemed to be the only person using it.

Hubby went to the bar far more than I did, again the staff there were very nice but my husband does not care for "entertainment" so was forced to relocate each evening as they had live bands/singers on most nights. But if you do like that sort of thing you would be in your element.

The only down side (and this is very small) the Porto brand have a timeshare complex up in the Hotel district and our Thomson welcome meeting included a pitch by their rep (not high pressure just high visability) and another day they were on the prowl offering free drinks so they could have another go at getting you up there.

Regardless, we would like to return to Madeira soon and I can't think we would want to select any other hotel at all.

Room Tip: 85-90% of the hotel is actually seaview so I think they ought to price as the seaview price with a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonglecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for all the Porto Santa Maria team to read a description of our hotel as the one in your review! We will always do our best in order to live up to our guests expectations and feel happy and proud when we do so. We will be waiting for you return!

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We are newly home from our first holiday in Madeira and were bowled over by the standard and quality of this hotel. The location is excellent, situated on the promenade, with close up views of luxury cruise liners arriving and departing daily. The hotel nestles beside the Old Town which provides many varied choices for dining and entertainment in the evenings. I cannot speak highly enough of the friendly and helpful service provided by all the hotel staff, from the cleaners in the morning to the bar staff in the evenings and the restaurant staff managed by Lina who always had a friendly word for every guest. The weather in Funchal allowed any activity from shopping to walking or climbing or sunbathing. This experience was so memorable that we would definitely consider returning to this beautiful island and would not choose to stay anywhere other than the Porto Santa Maria Hotel.

Room Tip: A balcony with a sea view provides variety watching the cruise liners and the sailing ships but is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that your first impression of Porto Santa Maria was a good one. I will pass your compliments to all the team as I am sure they too will be happy to read them. We hope you come for a second visit soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,890 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#6 of 86 in Funchal
2,075 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing