We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Visit & Change of Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Visit & Change of Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay on Madeira which we chose in preference to London because of the better climate in our later years.
We stayed between 6-13 January. My wife is less able so location was important as she cannot walk very far. Taxis are very close. The hotel is extremely clean and staff very friendly. A bottle of Asti Spumante and beautiful flowers to welcome us and to celebrate our 43 wedding anniversary were a nice surprise. The breakfast is very good, extremely varied and would cater for most nationalities. There are plenty of very good restaurants very close which is spoilt by the persistent in your face invitations to dine at their establishments which means you have to run the gauntlet until you find a way of avoiding most of them. We had garden/view of the harbour room which was extremely well equipped. You could even do some home cooking if you wanted!! It's a pity they charge for the use of the room safe but perhaps this charge will be removed when they no longer give a discount because of the sea defence noise which did annoy some. Perhaps next year we will have a full sea view!
Many of the residents of the hotel have stayed there before and it's not difficult to see why! We booked for next year to celebrate our next anniversary. Thank you to all concerned.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparkymustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you first of all for choosing Porto Santa Maria for the celebration of your wedding anniversary, we feel honored when guest choose us for these special dates. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward for the celebration of the 44th!

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    358
    53
    15
    11
See reviews for
111
1,359
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Many people return to this hotel and we went on a recommendation from a colleague. All these people are not wrong .The hotel is in a perfect setting right next to the cable cars and cobbled streets of the old town,which is relatively flat compared to the Lido area and a great atmosphere both day and night. The hotel staff are all lovely and its been a long time since I have seen so many staff looking like they enjoy their work from the housekeeping team ,waiting staff to front desk.
The rooms are a good size ,simply furnished with the bonus of the kitchen sink,hob and fridge and utensils .Great for stocking the lovely local wine or if you want to get some nibbles from the local market. Like others Wifi would be good.Not all seaview rooms overlook the harbour and I would suggest you really need to specifically request this ,we had more of a side seaview but still nice. The breakfasts were great ,plenty of eggs ,hot food and lovely bread and pastries ,all kept hot. The Gala Dinner at New Years Eve was lovely and well presented. The rest of the meals were slightly disappointing. The quality of food could not be faulted and if you are a meat and veg person you will be fine ie pork, veal , beef however if you like a bit more variety or spicy like us it was all a bit the same. Also if you eat early the dining room has a nice buzz, if you eat like us after 8pm it was often empty and they cleared up for closing at 9.30pm ,not what we are used to in Europe. However many of the guests are more mature therefore perhaps this was the more popular approach. I would definately go back to the hotel just for the location , staff and amenities but would go Bed and Breakfast and eat in the local restaurants. The fireworks on New Years Eve are absolutely amazing and its definately worth having afternoon tea at Reids hotel. The only fly in the ointment was the shambolic system at the airport on the return home. We were at the airport at 12noon for our flight at 2pm ,at 1.40pm we were only just at security and by 1.50pm being rushed through passport control .Apparently with so many flights leaving on a Monday this is a regular occurance. Some people beside us were ready for passing out from standing so long in all the various queues,therefore a major plea to the airport authorities please resolve this issue as its not a pleasant end to an otherwise great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank champagneannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Porto Santa Maria, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the fire works on New Years's it is a special moment and we too much enjoy the view from our Harbour terrace. We hope that you visit us again.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel from december 26th until january the 2nd. It was our 3rd stay in this hotel.
The whole staff is very friendly and working very hard to help you with everything, and this makes your holiday unforgetable.
New years evening was wunderfull with a lovely diner, excellent service, great food and wine. Lina and the whole staff make you feel at home.
We look forward to go back.
Denise and Jan, Belgium

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Knowing that our returning guests keep enjoying their stay with us is very important! I will pass our review to Lina as she will be happy to read it also. We hope to see you soon at Porto Santa Maria

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been to Funchal many times, and to several different hotels, but this hotel has become our favourite for a number of reasons. Firstly, its position right in the heart of the Old Town, with a wide variety of restaurants and bars. Secondly, it caters mainly for mature couples so it is much easier to relax, not having boisterous and noisy children around. Thirdly, it has the type of accommodation which we prefer, namely a roomy and comfortable suite, but above all the hotel staff are all so friendly and helpful. In fact many of the guests we met on our recent visit had been there several times and all say it is like being part of a family. Not only that but the staff turnover is very low, nearly half of them having been there since it opened. The general manager Andre Caldeira instils a sense of "enjoyment in the job" into his staff, and it certainly shows. Congratulations to him and all his staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keithmclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the kind review at Tripadvisor on our stay with us, and personally thank you for the complement. I can say that at least I enjoy my job very much. We hope that you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We returned to this great hotel after spending Xmas 2012 there. Soon as the taxi pulled up we were greeted and our suitcases taken after working hard all year the little things like this make a difference and is just one of the reasons that makes this hotel so special to us.
Our Xmas Eve Dinner was made even more special by being greeted by Lina she is truly a lovely lady who makes you feel like one of the family. The food was waiter served and of a superb standard with endless wine.
The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and the bedrooms spacious and well furnished.
It is situated in the Old Town of Funchal and surrounded by many small restaurants so you are spoilt for choice of where to dine should you wish to dine away from the hotel. It's an easy walk into the centre of Funchal with no hills the promenade is having extensive work to enhance Funchal even more.
It's a wonderful hotel in an excellent position where you can watch the cruise liners arrive in the harbour.
Many thanks to the manager Andre and Lina and all the staff who worked so hard and made out hard earned holiday so special. See you this Xmas.
Trevor & linda

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trevlin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that we were able to help you relax in your hard earned holiday break! That is exactly what we want to happen to all our guests. I will pass your complement on the Christmas dinner to our Chef as he too will be happy to read it. We will be waiting for your next visit.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel from 27th December to 3rd January mainly to get away from the bleak British weather and to enjoy New Year. We were not disappointed !! The Hotel is in a perfect location being right in the heart of the old town surrounded by great restaurants and bars. The cable car is a two minute walk away and the main town about 5 minutes walk away. This Hotel is well worth a visit and we will be returning. The staff are all very helpful, the rooms well appointed and furnished and the food is excellent. The added benefit of a small two ring cooker was wasted on us but the large fridge, kettle, crockery and cutlery is handy if you want to prepare a snack and eat on your balcony. The only downside was that the wi-fi only worked in the Lobby but this is being addressed as I write this review. The New Years Eve Gala Dinner was excellent and the champagne served on the roof terrace whilst watching the fireworks was a great way to see in the new year. Our thanks to the whole team at the Porto Santo who made our trip one to remember.

Room Tip: Romm 026 on the ground floor has a great view of the Cruise ships coming in to the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Porto Santa Maria hotel, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the beginning of 2014 with the champagne and the fireworks will be one to remember. I am happy to tell you that the WiFi is already available in the rooms.
We hope to have another visit soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel now for the last six years, can't say better than that. Perfect location
the friendly staff are in every corner of the hotel to help with anything, Unfortunately the
noise from the building work which just seems to go on and on ruined the holiday as they
start work at 8 in the morning and continue till 5 you can't really sit by the pool as it just
drives you mad. Also noticed a few small things being cut back on now, and it really does make a difference when you are choosing where to spend your winter holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hairylenghts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read that you were disturbed by the works at the waterfront, unfortunately they are out of our control and we too hope that they finish soon. We hope that you seventh visit will be a more enjoyable one.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing