We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Returned for the 5th time, 1st time in April. If anything the hotel staff are even better at making you feel at home. You have a request it gets dealt with there and then, even if it has nothing to do with the hotel. Bar and restaurant staff attentive and quick to fulfil your requests. Cleaners do their rounds with the minimum of disruption. Didn't use the spa as I spent most days on the roof terrace even there the bar service is prompt. Everyone has a smile on their face even with the awkward guests. The new year visit can't come quick enough. multi obrigado, ate' breve

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotbt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    350
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
109
1,329
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a very good hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, but the best bit was its location, it is the only hotel on the seafront in the old town. Yes the sea defence works are a bit noisy but to be able to walk to the market and loads of restaurants is fab. We took a bus up around the hotel strip at the top of the hill and it was a concrete jungle.
Madeira is a nice holiday destination we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heleningleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed here on a B&B basis for 2 weeks. I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. I had a large sea view room with all mod cons.I only had the evening meal on one occasion and to be honest I thought it was expensive compared to nearby restaurants Staff were without fail pleasant and helpful.
This was my first visit to Madeira. The hotel is not directly affected by the building work,but outside the hotel it can be a nuisance. Local buses also seem to be disrupted re stopping places.
I am quite fit and active,but found I had to be very careful walking on the cobbled streets, would be difficult for anyone with limited mobilty. Also,very hilly !.
Worst part of holiday was delays at Funchal airport on return. Apparently this is going worse year by year. I stood for about 3 hours in various queues before boarding. not good.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greensleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again despite your less positive experience at the airport.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was our first visit to the Porto Santa Maria and it will not be our last! It has wonderful comfort and style without being pretentious, spacious, cosy, well designed and furnished rooms, very good facilities with plenty of space so that you never feel crowded, but the service is without equal! All of the staff are extremely courteous, friendly, efficient and with great attention to detail. Great value for money, a hotel that the staff are proud of and it shows!

Room Tip: Recommend east or south facing, away from prevailing wind even though view of harbour compromised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review on our hotel and team, we are in fact very proud of our hotel, which is not of course flawless, but we do our best every day in order to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We will be waiting your second visit.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed after our timeshare week was completed at The Residence, another Portobay hotel. I loved our room 262, it wasn't the largest but well thought out and the views were spectacular. It was great watching the cruise ships leave port at night all light up like Christmas trees.
The breakfast was okay but why oh why can't they give us a teapot instead of a jug of hot water. The Residence gives you one as does their Serra Golf Hotel. It would make breakfast so much more enjoyable and surely not too much trouble? It's the only bit of Britain I want on holiday with me!
The hotel is situated in the old town of Funchal very close to the sea front and when the work is completed it will be spectacular. The only downside we found were the seemingly homeless dogs running around but this is not the fault of the hotel.
The staff, like all Portobay Hotel employees are exceptional. It is a lovely hotel and we hope to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review we are glad to have lived up to the Porto Bay expectations that you already knew from our other hotels. We will consider your suggestion on the tea pots. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed on a B&B basis for 7 nights. Located just in old town with about a 10 min walk into Funchal centre. Staff very nice and very helpful. We weren't keen on the location of our room but once I spoke with reception we were allocated another room which was fab overlooking the sea and great for watching the cruise ships coming and going. Breakfast was very good all you could want and eat. Didn't eat any other meals in the hotel but looked really nice. Plenty of restaurants around to choose from literally just outside of the hotel complex.

We were aged 48 and 53 so were probably the youngest couple to stay which was not a problem for us, although I do have to add that the more senior guests to struggle with closing doors quitely and seemed to love dragging chairs on the balcony at 7am in the morning!

Facilities were quite good. Outside pool too cold to use though but the indoor was quite good although looking tired now and in need of an overhaul. There is a separate charge to use the sauna 4 euros per person which for a 4 star hotel you would expect to be free of charge. Happy hour in the Captains bar was a nice touch to give you 50% off between 6 - 7 every evening.

Overall nothing to complain about and would return again.

Room Tip: We paid for sea view and the first room we had was not a very good view but once I told reception we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sal5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have carefully read your suggestions. I would recommend a visit to our restaurant on your next visit as I am convinced that you will enjoy it.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel (last time was 2 years ago) and - again - the room, service and breakfasts were all you could hope they would be. The Porto Bay group of hotels operate a loyalty scheme that gives you a card entitling you to discounts on future visits. This made it cheaper for us to book flights and accommodation separately than to book the whole thing on a package, as we had done previously. There is still a lot of development work being done on the front to reinforce sea walls and create a new dock for the cruise ships so we missed being able to walk directly from the hotel along the promenade to the harbour. Once this is finished it will be another advantage to staying in what appears to be the only hotel directly on the promenade and next to the old town with its good restaurants and interesting painted doorways.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we were happy t have you for a second visit and hope that a third one won't take long. The works in the sea front are moving on and away from the hotel. We hope that they will be don on your next visit.

Best Regards.

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing