We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$226
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$404
US$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$193
US$162
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$237
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$188
US$161
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,025)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveller rating
1,502
428
68
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,502
428
68
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptains barold towncable cargourmet nightsea viewsea frontpublic parkexcellent hotelsea defenceshappy hourroof terracelocal restaurantssmall kitchenettenumerous restaurantscruise linerscobbled streetsyour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Madeira which was certainly not long enough one week .The Hotel was beautiful with room having excellent sea view and exceptionally clean and comfortable . We could not single out any member of the staff as they were all equally pleasant and very helpful .Only down side not long enough but very good reason to return to a great hotel .thanks to all staff members

Room Tip: Must have a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for such a nice review, I'm so pleased to learn that the only down side was that it was not long enough.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel, for a longer stay next time.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had 10 days at the hotel in July and thoroughly enjoyed it. We chose a suite which was very comfortable with lounge, kitchenette and large bedroom/bathroom, well worth the extra. Having stayed at various hotels in Funchal on 6 occasions, we would say that overall this was the best.

The hotel is situated in the old town and there are lots of restaurants and bars to wander to. It's a 10 min walk to the Marina and main town so ideal for anyone wanting to get away from their car.

Our only complaint - like many others - was lack of sun beds due to guests reserving at breakfast (and often never using) and relaxed smoking policy which meant that many smokers lit up directly outside bars and restaurants - they may as well have been inside.

However the overall service and facilities were great, the hotel has a relaxed feel and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. Or some rooms on floor 2 have large balconies with sun beds
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Topcat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you value the location of the hotel, our service and facilities.
Regarding the sun beds reservation, I will take good care of your comment and will reinforce the information according to the hotel policy. The Portuguese law states that it is only allowed to smoke outdoors and the hotel is non-smoking, guests are only allowed to smoke on the terraces or balconies.
I hope to welcome you back to Porto Santa Maria, again in a near future.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just returned from two weeks half board at the Porto Santa Maria. We chose this hotel as it was on the outskirts of the old town. The hotel was beautiful. Rooms were clean and they had very comfy beds. The staff were polite and made us feel very welcome and their service and friendliness was outstanding. The food in the restaurant was really good. There was plenty of choices. Each night was a themed night and we were spoilt for choice. I must mention the Gourmet night, the food was superb, service was great. Before we arrived I had read on trip advisor that people were reserving sun beds and then not using them for most of the day. This happened but with only a couple of sun beds. It wasn't difficult to find a sun bed throughout the day. We will definitely be returning to this hotel for our next holiday

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I'm very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning a future visit.
I'm glad our facilities and service corresponded to your expectations and that you enjoyed your evening meals at our restaurant, the Gourmet night is in fact very popular.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one week break at this hotel and on our return discussed our feelings about the holiday.We agreed we could not fault it.The hotel is situated in the heart of the old town with its mulitude of restaurants and bars on the doorstep.Comfort and service are of the best and our garden view room was spacious with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.We were bed and breakfast and there was huge choice of food to satisfy everyone's taste.
Service and friendliness of the staff was of the highest.
As a tip I would avoid the garden rooms to the west wing as they overlook the bus station and the cable car.
We will certainly return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms to west wing overlook bus and cable car stations,so best avoided
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 400RalphM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you so much for such a positive review, I am glad that you enjoyed our staff and the services offered.
I really hope to be able to welcome you back to Madeira and to Porto Santa Maria next year.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Hotel Porto Santa Maria in Funchal. This hotel was immaculately decorated and extremely clean. The rooms were of a very high standard with an enormous bathroom. The maid service was terrific. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the dining room was brilliant. The choice of food was excellent with such a wide range of both hot and cold foods alongside a multitude of fruits and even Bucks Fizz! The service was excellent as well. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel because of the position of the hotel, the choice of restaurants in the area was immense. We ate at a different place every night and never had a bad meal anywhere. The pool area was as good as the rest of the hotel with loads of sunbeds, beautiful gardens and even a jacuzzi. As has been said in some other reviews there is some building work being done on the seafront owing to the floods a few years go but we never found these a problem. If I was going to complain about anything, it would be the lack of information at reception about free wi.fi, courtesy bus etc. A wonderful holiday......thank you.



Nt

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and facilities corresponded to your expectations.
At reception we have the At Porto Santa Maria, an hotel news paper with all useful information, I will make sure that this is available, for all guests.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews