We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights lights lights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lights lights lights”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Excellent hotel, perfect location, great reception. Staff couldnt be more helpful. Located near the bus station which offers a great bus network across the island, so no real need for car hire. Bus stop approx 5 mins walk from hotel. Being situated in the old part of town made our stay at this hotel even more pleasant with a huge choice of lovely restaurants right on your doorstep, However be warned you will be constantly hassled to dine as you stroll along the street looking at menus. The taxis are also a problem with touting common place, We even had taxis lying about the bus times so they could make a few quid. Seaview is a must at the hotel with fabulous views and waking to the gentle lapping of sea waves against the shore. We didnt eat in the hotel, as we thought it was slightly overpriced and not well occupied in the evening to create the romantic ambience we were seeking. The christmas lights are magnificent and really put anything in the UK to shame. Highly recommend Blandys wine tasting absolute bargain at euro 5 including 5 free tiples and an interesting short tour. The bus journey approx 40 mins to Curral de Ferrias (valley of the nuns) is also spectacular at euro 4 approx. Thankfully we didnt have any problems with dogs only a few playing quietly in the street near the church at the back of the hotel. Top vote goes to Carmina on bookings who answered all my queries with absolute clarity and speed.

  • Liked — Location and sea view
  • Disliked — The swimming pool was a bit too cold for my liking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    368
    56
    15
    11
See reviews for
114
1,398
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Our second visit to this hotel and just as good as before. Rooms, facilities, restaurant all excellent standard. On our last visit we chose to eat in local restaurants each evening but this time ate in the hotel almost every night and found the selection on their buffet menus (both at breakfast and dinner) to be varied ,plentiful, good quality and value for money every time. The previous comments about dogs barking etc should be disregarded - we saw a few dogs in the area but never heard one all week. Yes, the local men play cards in the park most days but this is the old town of Funchal and these features are part of the charm of the place. If you want to stay in a 'clinical concrete jungle' then book one of the hotels at the Lido end of Funchal instead! We found every member of staff to be most polite and obliging. Obviously some visitors like to dwell on negative issues wherever they go but we are seasoned travellers and cannot fault this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and excellent standard
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mackenzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

This hotel, unlike all the others in Funchal, is in the old town at the heart of the city. All you need is on your doorstep, without the trudge in from the hotel zone. The food and service were particularly good, i would however opt for the buffet dinner rather than the a la carte, which is a bit pricey. We had a good room on the ground floor, which led out onto the garden, and even a sea view, which was nice. The minor drawback was that I could hear what i took to be the filtration system for the 2 pools, which started up at 7am, so no long lie in. also the rooms have a self catering element with a 2 ring hob, sink and fridge, everything you need really. This caused a bit of noise from the adjacent room when they were obviously making themselves breakfast (at 6am). That said, the stay was excellent and the staff were some of the best I have come across in recent years.
The old town is the restaurant centre for Funchal, so you wont need to walk far for good food, and not far to stagger back after trying the local concoctions. My favourites were, O Jango (for local cooking) and Xaramba (for pasta and pizza with a local twist).

  • Liked — friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Some noise, but nothing untoward
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

A week flew by in this hotel.A free upgrade on our room was welcome (we had previously tried to book a seaview but failed,only to be told on arrival we had one!).Friendly reception staff,clean accomodation,excellent food,nice wines and a simply unbeatable position for old Funchal.Highly recommended.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Cruise liners hooting on arrival early morning!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D0cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantrisant, Mid Glamorgan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Just returned from our first visit to Madeira. Lovely hotel, friendly very helpful staff. When we booked we told our travel agent we were celebrating our Ruby Wedding. On arrival we were told we'd been upgraded to a junior suite (we'd booked a sea view room) and there was a rather large bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us. We stayed half board and the food and the choice was excellent. On the downside nobody in previous reviews had mentioned the sewage treatment plant on the promenade about 100 yards or so from the hotel. A bit whiffy when passing it. Also the old men who sit in the garden playing cards and dominoes use that side of the hotel as a urinal. But if you can turn a blind eye to that, and possibly a blocked nose too, the location couldn't be faulted. Would we stay there again...yes. Could we recommend it...most definitely.

  • Liked — Our upgrade to a suite. Loads of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seniormedsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

As others have said, The Porto Santa Maria is a pleasant hotel in the heart of Funchal’s Old Town.

But be careful here – after booking a Suite with a “Full Sea View” we were initially shown to a room at the end of the eastern wing of the hotel – with a beautiful view – of the Car Park and Fort. (See Picture – lower, right hand room.)

We immediately returned to reception and after an unpleasant row with a female receptionist we were told that “as we were lucky” we could look at another room. This Suite seemed lovely by comparison – private balcony (some are not) with full sea view etc. Our only complaint being that the air conditioning system only emitted cool air – which meant that we were cold for some of the time.(It was obvious that the hotel try to sell a “side sea view” as a “full sea view”. )

The food at the Porto Santa Maria is good but not outstanding – Dinner as well as Breakfast is Buffet. If we went down to our evening meal later than 8pm we felt rather hurried along. Other guests were not impressed with this – (I had some “Chinese Noodles” for lunch one day - which were particularly tasteless!) There are however many local restaurants nearby - so “flexi-dine” is recommended.

Madeira is a lovely island which we have visited many times. Over Development however seems now out of hand.

Apart from the receptionist we dealt with on arrival the staff at this hotel are pleasant and we had a very good holiday.

Incidentally we booked this break with “First Choice Holidays”. For several reasons however, “First Choice” will be our “Last Choice” next time !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank musictuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We have stayed on Madeira many times, usually in 5 star hotels, but chose this for a long weekend, mainly for its location, on flat ground in the old town, we were not dissapointed, from the moment we walked into the hotel to the moment we checked out, the service offered was excellent. The staff were lovely, from the reception to the restaurant, the bar, cleaners, all were very proffesional and friendly. the rooms were spacious and spotless, a enormous comfi bed, with a small kitchenette, should you wish to make a light meal. Bathroom was well equipt with a good hairdryer and bathrobes. Our seaview studio room was on the ground floor with patio doors leading out to a small enclosed patio with furniture, a little gate opened onto the nice pool area with plenty of loungers, the ocean was directly in front, we could see the large cruise ships arrive and depart each day. The restaurant was very nice, quite intimate, not sprawling like some of the bigger hotels, breakfast choice was very good, even a glass of sparkling wine if you wished. We did not eat there in the evening but heard good reports from other quests. There are so many good restaurants in the local area. I would not recommend this hotel to families with small children, it has a grown up air about it, by that I dont mean it is for oldies, we are only early fifties and our son and his wife are only in their thirties, it just is not a kiddies hotel.

  • Liked — Location, staff, food.
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Madeira1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing