We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as excellent as other reviews had led us to hope.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“as excellent as other reviews had led us to hope.”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

For our second winter 'escape' to Madeira , we chose this hotel on the recommendation of friends who, like many of the Trip Advisor reviewers, had returned several times. We found it ideal in all ways and really have little to add to the positive comments - and cannot think of any negative ones!
Staff and service :
unfailingly friendly ( especially our motherly chambermaid, Rosa) and helpful. When our taxi to the airport failed to arrive - no fault of theirs - they worked hard to put the situation right.
Accommodation :
We were lucky in being allocated a ground-floor room, with balcony opening on to the palm-studded garden, rather then the sunbed terraces/pool. Some sea view rooms would feel quite far back from the sea, but we had it directly opposite - and developed quite an interest in the cruise liners going in and out of port. It was quiet and spotlessly clean. We found the firm bed very comfortable.
Meals :
The buffet breakfasts were as high-quality, copious and appealing to all tastes as we have found elsewhere ; they formed lunch as well! We did not eat at the hotel in the evenings, as there was such a choice of restaurants within a few yards of the gate. Of these, we enjoyed two excellent meals at the 'Portao' - turn right and go past the white chapel, where the service was most attentive and generous. One warning.....the 'zabaionne madeirense' portion is enough for two! We chose this restaurant because it does NOT have touts luring you in at all times of day. Pleasant as they are, it is like running the gauntlet.
We found the kitchenette in our room a great success. Supermarket shopping enabled us to make good meals on other nights - and there was never a smell of food lingering.
Location:
Closeness to the seafront and centre is a great plus. Comfortable 'interurban' buses leave from only 2 mins away. Other town services and stops are quite easy to find and taxi ranks are everywhere. The Monte funicular - do give it a go on a fine day - is only yards away.
Shopping :
The market is very colourful but, on this occasion, we felt we had been overcharged. The Anadia shopping centre has a first-class Pingo Doce supermarket on the lower floor and is only a 5-minute walk, There is another 'local' supermarket closer. For traditional Madeiran embroidered goods (though not cheap) ,the Viola showroom just below the market is quiet, elegant and you are not harassed.
Tips :
Do not opt for a garden room. The balconies overlook the little park where local men gather to play cards etc and so have no privacy.
If , like us, you travel from the airport by local bus, do get off at the stop near the Anadia Centre, just before the sea front.. The next is a much longer hike back along the Avenida del Mar.
If you choose the safe option of a taxi back (35 euros), book via the hotel or just find a taxi outside the gate.
Take your own shower gel and bath mousse - not provided.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward already to returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    382
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
119
1,435
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

A good hotel , right on the sea near the harbour, and in the old town.

All rooms withh view and canhave cooking facilities.

Nice helpful people too.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NixEre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We arrived at Porto Santa Maria late at night and were welcomed by a very helpful Male Receptionist who could not do enough for us.
Rooms were very good with your own kitchenette, fridge,cutlery, dishes, pans, a great help if you didnt want to go out in the evenings, we actually cooked three very nice meals there.
The only drawback was that there was a great shortage of electric sockets around the bedroom. The whole hotel was spotless. The breakfasts were excellant., and the situation of the hotel is wonderful, you can almost touch the sea from the hotel garden and you can spend many an hour watching the Cruise Liners arrive and depart from Funchal.
Restaurants are a two minuite walk from the hotel.
Cannot fault it, we are already planning to go back next December 2010. It is not often we return to a hotel the beauty was there were no children at the time we stayed, Cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinfold
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Old Town is being rehabilitated with many family owned restaurants and shops and walking distance to the town centre and adjacent to the cable car station - thus this hotel is the only 4 one in the new resort area - and adjacent to the coast and the new promanade (almost compoleted). The hotel was perfect though we had to wait 4 hours for a satisfactory sea view room and this was the only down side. Excellent restaurants a two m inute walk away but our favourite is Gaviao Novo where we had 3 meals in 6 days.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidheysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We had such a lovely time in Funchal, Madeira. The hotel was very nice, food was of a high quality and good overall service. The rooms were well equipped with double rooms containing a kitchen area including kettle, tea pots, cutlery, plates and hob for use and were cleaned to a very high standard.

Inside there was a spa facility although we didn't try this ourselves, lovely scenery and a nice range of local shops and day trips out to keep us both busy. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie22England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

this was probably one of the best hotels i have been to where everything ticks the right box.The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated , with the added bonus of a small kitchen .The maids kept our room so clean each day.The food was eccelent , and the staff were so kind, and not one member of staff was rude or inpolite. I just loved the whole thing , the bar staff were lovely and evening entertainment was good.The town has loads of twisting streets with enough shops to keep the shopaholics happy .And at night its all lit up with airy lights everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshiremrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at this hotel in early September which we both greatly enjoyed.It is very well run by friendly staff and is spotlessly clean.

Location
At the foot of the old town on level ground with direct access to the promenade ( daytime only ) with great views out to sea.No road noise,plenty of eateries just outside the front door and easy access to the town.

Accommodation
Rooms are a good size and are bright and well equipped and all have a kitchenette .Some of the balconies are less private than others but no worse than many hotels I have seen.Would recommend the sea facing rooms over the garden facing ones.

Facilities
Plenty of sunbathing space with ample sun beds – towels provided – and tables and chairs for drinks and snacks.Good size outdoor pool which is deep enough for swimming but has no deep end which is ideal for less strong swimmers.There is also a large indoor pool,jacuzzi and for the more athletic a small gym.

Food and drink
Breakfast and evening meals are served in the restaurant buffet style.The selection on offer for breakfast covered all tastes from light and healthy to full English fry up.The evening meals were themed each night of the week to give variety and offered more than enough choice.The food was prepared to a good standard and was always fresh.
During the daytime a reasonable selection of snacks are available from the pool bar.For a larger meal the restaurant serves a buffet lunch in an outdoor covered area and was good value.
Not a big wine list in the restaurant and some were a bit pricey but about average for a 4 star hotel.The drinks at the pool bar and the captains bar during the evening were reasonably priced and each evening had happy hour and other daily promotions.

Conclusion
A great place to stay for a relaxing holiday for couples but not ideal for young children or teenagers.We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing