We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place from where to enjoy Funchal and Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Porto Santa Maria, an excellent hotel in the old center of Funchal, close to the most interesting things. Very pleasant, spacious and clean rooms with nice view (we had a studio with sea view on the ground floor, saw the cruise ships manoeuvring in front of us...). Very professional staff, friendly and helpful. Like João, for example, the pool attendant: hardly met someone who is so enthusiastic about his job! We enjoyed the large and tasty breakfast buffet, the indoor swimming pool and the jacuzzi, the happy hour in the Captain's Bar (though the cocktails could have been a little stronger: question of taste...), the garage for our rented car... But we never tried the restaurant of the hotel. The reason? It's location! As soon as you leave the hotel, there's a choice of bars and restaurants to discover. Like 'O Regional', at some 100 meters, delicious! And next to this restaurant, the bar 'Sabor a Fado', run by a family of fadistas and fadistos, with live fado-music all the time and many guests performing during weekend nights: highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank polennikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Me and I my staff feel privileged to welcome someone who enjoyed a stay at Porto Santa Maria to the point of writing such an enthusiastic review.
Specially João, who you describe so well, and I am sure will receive your words with delight.
Regarding the cocktails, if you come back, please let our barmen know how you prefer them and they will do their best to adjust them to your own taste.
Again, if you return to Porto Santa Maria, may I suggest you try at least once our Arsenal Restaurant for dinner and then let us know how do you think it compares to our neighbours.
I agree with you that Porto Santa Maria's location so close to such a wide choice of restaurants is both a disadvantage (from our point of view), since they "steal" so many of our guests, but on the other hand we are aware that we get a lot of customers precisely for that reason.
I already forwarded your comments to the places you mention on your review, since they don't usually check them.
We look forward to welcome you back to this beautiful island.
Kindest regards,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

We have just come back from this hotel in Madeira. We have found it perfect for a non-driving holiday as it is close to all amenities. There are at least 20 restaurants in close proximity and we tried as many as we could. It is also within walking distance from the Teleferico cable car terminal for trips to Monte and the botanic gardens further on. There is a large central bus terminal where you can get local buses and sightseeing buses to anywhere on the island. The hotel is clean and the maid service very thorough. We stayed on a B&B basis and the ample good quality breakfast was an added feature of our stay. The friendly staff made us feel welcome and could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Like most reviewers on TripAdvisor you highlight Porto Santa Maria's location as one of its key features.
And your evaluation of the hotel facilities and service, granting full marks on all areas, seems to confirm that you think that we deserve such a privileged location.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay and we hope to have another chance to meet or even excede your expectations, if you return to this lovely island.
Yours sincerely,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After a hectic year, we decided to book a weeks holiday to Madeira for some well earned rest and relaxation in beautiful surroundings. Having never been to the island before, we were certainly not disappointed. We were transported from the airport with three other couples by mini coach and our driver/guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgable. The hotel was just wonderful - clean, bright and airy. We couldn't have chosen a better room - ground floor with balcony area, overlooking the gardens beside the dining room. We had read comments that there was noise from the kitchen fans, but we certainly weren't aware of any noise at all. The outdoor pool area was fine, although we tended to use the indoor pool for swimming, and we made use of the poolside bar for lunch a couple of times. We enjoyed breakfast at the buffet everyday and the choice and quality of food was very good. Can't comment on dinner as we didn't eat in the hotel at night. We did use the bar on the occasional evening and the bar staff were very friendly and attentive. The location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the old town. There are numerous very good restaurants well within walking distance, although we found a couple of little places on the back street behind the hotel that were very good. One was a "fruit shop" where if you went through to the back, you could order amazing fresh fruit salad with ice cream for a couple of euros. Took the chance of a guided levada walk while we were there, and managed to pick the wettest day of the week! As I don't have a great head for heights, I found it all a bit of a challenge, but my partner enjoyed it very much. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Madeira and are planning a return visit to this beautiful island later this year. We used Thomson Holidays and Paula, the company rep, was absolutely wonderful. She is an absolute wealth of knowledge. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

Dear guest,
I am glad you had such a good experience on your first visit to our beautiful island.
Also that you remark on your review a past issue you read about here on TripAdvisor and you confirmed that meanwhile it has been fixed.
If you return to Madeira, please let me know and I will be most pleased to check the weather and advise on the best hikes for you and your wife, since walking the island's paths has been my favourite hobby for the past 12 years.
I thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review that I would also mark as "helpful" if I was the one looking for a place to stay and activities outside the hotel. Also will forward your comments to Paula of Thomson Holidays, in case she doesn't read this review.
Kind regards,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

In the heart of the old town, ideally placed for buses around the beautiful island . This hotel is right on the sea front next to the cable car up to Monte. Beautifully kept gardens to sit and relax in. All the staff are very pleasant and welcoming. Sit on your balcony and watch the cruise ships come in. The food is excellent with a large and plentiful choice at both breakfast and dinner, with a themed menu each evening, plus a la carte. Evening entertainment most nights. This is our second stay at this hotel and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Madeira. If you want to eat out there are lots of excellent restaurants within a two minute walk - you are really spoilt for choice, although most serve similar food - try the Espada (local fish with banana) and Espetada (fillet steak on a skewer) - both superb.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandjNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Thank you very much for the appreciation you have shown for Madeira Island and Porto Santa Maria while visiting us once more.
On top of that you took sometime to share with us a personal description of our hotel which, I am pleased to say, stands very close to our own. Meaning our marketing people are saving their creativity for other areas and letting the hotel teams do their best to reach, or even exceed, guests expectations.
As a final tease, let me tell you about Porto Santa Maria's own menues. If you return, I hope you will take some time to taste some of the work of our cooks and compare it with what you already sampled during your previous stays.
On behalf of Porto Santa Maria and its team, I look forward to greet you with a "Welcome back" sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

What a find! When planning our trip to Funchal i was eager to book this hotel as reviews on Trip Advisor had been pretty good. They were for the most part, spot on.
When we arrived our room was not ready so we were given a complimentary lunch. From there on everything was lovely, the staff are so polite, friendly, helpful and our room spotless. Magnificent breakfasts and with a fridge and cooking facilities in our room we were able to visit the supermarket in the Anidia shopping centre and eat on our balcony.
Even the Hollywood Channel on TV was entertaining! There was slso a small library. One of the best hotels i have been to for a long time.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trdajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience at Porto Santa Maria.
Specially when you rank it as one of the best you had in a long time.
My staff will surely appreciate your kind remarks and we look forward to welcome you back to Madeira Island.
Yours sincerely.
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the second time. Mainly because of its location - away from the tourist zone, very close to the city and old town, directly on the sea and very quiet. No other hotel in Funchal can offer this.
This time we wanted to treat ourselves with a junior suite. We booked directly with the hotel. They confirmed that the suite would have a bedroom and a living room. However the first room that we got consisted clearly only of one room. It was a little bit larger than a standart room, but never worth the extra of EUR 50 per night, as also the sea view wasn't the best. We complained and next day we could move to another junior suite which had a separate living room, was much larger and offered a nice sea view. I'm glad we could move but I can't understand that these two rooms should be in the same category.
We enjoyed the good weather which allowed even in January to sunbath. The pool area is nice and clean. But obviously the outdoor pool is unheated and it was ice cold - only once I saw somebody swimming in it. On the other side the indoor pool had an agreable temperature - maybe the complaints of previous posters had an influence on this... Also it was of a good size - a pool where you could really swim in.
The breakfast was fine. It had a vast choice of cooked items - clearly obvious from where the majority of guests are! To make it perfect, the quality of cheese and cold meat could improve and it would be great to have some of the great fresh exotic fruts which grow on the island instead of tinned one, and also fresh fruit juice.
We only ate once at the terrace restaurant. Some salads for a light lunch, but we weren't much impressed. Otherwise we enjoyed the large choice of restaurants just steps from the hotel, out of which we liked O Portao and Riso the most.
The bar is a good place to enjoy your aperitif or after dinner drink. They had live music every evening.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thank you very much for taking some time to write such a thorough review of your recent stay at Porto Santa Maria.
I am sorry for the mistake we have made on the room attribution upon your arrival, since you have made your preferences clear upon booking.
Hopefully we were able to fix it to your satisfaction. We will keep your room preferences on your file in case you return to Madeira Island and chose us once more for your stay.
I also appreciate your remark regarding issues that you read about on TripAdvisor previously and you found to be fixed since then. Guest reviews are highly valued at Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts and we take each issue mentioned as an opportunity to improve our hotels and service.
Yours sincerely,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

After 30 hrs delay because of the winter weather, we finally made to the hotel; Room was excellent, great view, Spent many an hour watching the Cruise ships berth.
Great facililties in the room, the kitchenette proved very useful for cooking when you need a break from eating out..
Pool area marked down on cleanliness for having workmen use the area as a walk through, muddy boots.
We were there for 2 weeks, excellent hotel location for trips into town, best in town.
Booked the 4x4 safri trip with Travel agent (Louis the driver, was great company).
special thanks to the Manager ,Virgilio Silva, who dealt with an issue on the 2nd last night in an extremely efficient manner.
In summary, excellent hotel and Service, planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgilio_Silva, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your recent holiday experience on Madeira Island.
I am glad that the weather that forced you to postpone your holidays didn't follow you here.
Please accept my apologies for overlooking a bit the external workers who were on site during your stay. Although they were instructed not to cross the garden and pool area and were given alternative routes, we should have been more attentive to this situation and avoid their passage and the footprints they left behind. Thank you for reporting it. This will help us avoid similar situations in the future.
On behalf of Porto Santa Maria and our team, I look forward to welcome you back to this beautiful island soon.
Yours sincerely,
Virgilio Silva (General Manager - Hotel Porto Santa Maria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £118 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing