We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have stayed twice before and prior to the arrival of our daughter and had always wanted to return.

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this very special hotel. It was a perfect Christmas break for the grown ups as well as our 5 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like house guests. The staff were very attentive but did not get in our way which is just how we like it. The food was excellent, especially the Christmas Eve and Christmas Day menu's. They cooked whatever our daughter wanted and were very keen to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We played some lovely golf, they even had some kids clubs and so our daughter was not left out.
We shall be returning. There is an extra 3 hours or so daylight at this time of year and the weather was as good as a good summers day in the uk. It is only three hours from the uk and 20 minutes transfer to the hotel. It can take that long to travel a hundred miles or so in the uk. It's a pity that BA don't fly the route any more but the monarch flight with extra leg room was very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Robert,
Thanks for your review and it is great to know that you your holiday at Casa Velha with your child was as much as a success as your holidays without. Generally in Madeira the attitude towards young children is a wonderful one and so unlike the experience of many European cities! We hope to welcome you again soon
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited this hotel and golf course in January for our 50th wedding anniversary. The hotel sent a taxi to the airport to pick us up, which was good. The room was very pleasant, well furnished with a nice big bed. We played golf most days. The course is interesting, not easy but a good challenge. The staff were very attentive. Food was excellent and on our anniversary night, as well as cake and sparkling wine they offered us a glass of "madeira" in the lounge. My husband also had a birthday while we were there and he was looked after very well. We used the mini bus on a few occasions to go down to Funchal. As hotel guests we had access to the Botanic gardens just next door with a gate leading to it. A pleasure which we undertook a number of times. Even in January it was a good to see..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thanks for your review and we are very pleased that you chose Casa Velha for your 50th Wedding Anniversary and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in 2014 which is a special anniversary for us - our 210th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It is very hard to fault this lovely small hotel set in attractive gardens, and surrounded by the golf course and botanical gardens. The bedrooms were attractive, if rather lacking a view. The restaurant and other public rooms were also lovely, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

The courtesy bus was a good idea to get to the centre of Funchal, and for trips to the splendid golf course, though it is only a short 10 minute walk to the club house.

My only comments are WiFi in the bedrooms would be good, and I thought the dinner prices a little expensive relative to other restaurants in Funchal

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Alan,
Thanks for your great review and many positive comments. Regarding the WIFI we are presently examining ways to upgrade the signal and improve the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Casa Velha do Palheiro was the perfect place from which to enjoy the delights of Madeira! The hotel is beautiful and set in wonderful grounds (although we're not golfers it seemed that the hotel golf course was very well appreciated). The staff are personal and professional - very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The hotel is a short taxi ride into Funchal but nicely secluded and quiet.

My husband and I were there to celebrate my 65th birthday and the champagne and birthday cake at dinner that night were charming and much appreciated.

I highly recommend the Casa for anyone travelling to Madeira.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main (original) house on the estate. The room was spacious and very comfortable wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Kathy,
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. The team at Casa Velha are very pleased that your stay and birthday celebrations were a great success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My partner & i stayed at casa velha at end of oct we had booked a superior room but due to these all been full when we arrived we were given a upgrade to a suite which was a lovely bonus.
The room was huge clean with some lovely furniture.
The hotel is set in a peaceful location above Funchel surrounded by gardens & the golf coarse but the what sets it apart is the friendly staff from the manageress who was often around all the staff have a can do attitude always served with a smile..
We ate dinner at the hotel 4 times the food & service were never less than outstanding the highlight been a chocolate melt in middle pudding a true heaven moment.
If i have one slight negative the half board menu can be a bit limited on choice & the wine is way overpriced.
We also had dinner 3 times at the clubhouse again food & service were excellent with one of the best views you will find anywhere also nice wine at sensible price.
We played golf four times the coarse has spetacular views and five or six holes that would be classed as signiture holes on most coarses.
Also used the spa which again was spotlessly clean the indoor pool nice temp and a real wow factor,i had a full body massage on our last day which was a nice end of my stay.
In short if you like good food & service along with your golf this hotel will be hard to beat we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Graham,
Thanks for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you used and enjoyed the resorts facilities - golf, spa and gardens. The memorable moment during one of your dinners is also one of my favorite dishes - chocolate moelleux. Hopefully you will come back in 2014 and enjoy our 210th anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Velha and loved it so much we can't wait to return . We had 4 nights at the end of our 1 month holiday at Casa Velha which was the ideal place to relax with our family of five the staff was so friendly and professional , the breakfast was excellent and the breakfast cakes amazing ! We can not wait to return and highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyjacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for your review and it is rewarding to know that you chose Casa Velha as the last place on your epic tour. If you can remember what the cake looked like maybe I can get the chef to send you the recipe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully located and peaceful. The staff are excellent, pleasant and helpful. The food was first class and we appreciated the chef's recommendation of O Barqueiro for a fish restaurant on one night! We would definitely return to Madiera and to Casa Velha. The golf course has spectacular views and the staff there were also really charming and helpful. A real find!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rm 4! Although it was lovely and comfortable it is right above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for your great review and it is nice to know that our team have some handy restaurant tips up their sleeves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
916 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,228 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 88 in Funchal
937 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £137 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing