We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed here on many occasions and love returning. The staff are old friends but service is always first class. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to be of help. The rooms are lovely and airy with great bath accessories.

The food and wine is fantastic. We have never had even an average meal here.

At the club house the views over Funchal - OMG, again great service and food.

The golf course is a devil but a great challenge. We shall be back!

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are separate from the main accomodation and worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for this superb review. Hopefully on your next visit you can master the golf course too!!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very nice and calm place to stay. all the staff is fantastic and available. The surrounding of the hotel are very beautiful and the view to funchal great. The golf course is a good mountain course, a good challenge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joaquim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our stunning setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We (parents and two teens) had a wonderful golf-holiday at the Casa Velha do Palheiro. All staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food served is delicious. The golf course is in good condition with fast and challenging greens. This hotel can be highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are delighted that your family had such a great active holiday with us and that service levels were friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just arrived back from 5 nights at the Casa Velha do Palheiro. This was my first stay and I am already planning to book another, longer visit in May. As I was looking for a restful, beautiful and indulgent place to stay, this was just perfect. At 52, I was definitely on the young side, as the majority of the visitors seem to have retired some time ago. There were, however, a couple of young families, and visitors who seemed to be mainly there for the golf course rather than the spa or gardens. Having stayed in big, lively spa hotels in Malta, this was exactly the change I was looking for. The service was impeccable, yet extremely friendly. Staff in other parts of the estate, such as the clubhouse and the tea house, knew my name and my room number on the day of my arrival, without having to introduce myself. The food served at dinner was extremely beautiful and delicious, in the style of The Dorchester Hotel in London. The location had breath-taking views and was surrounded by a immaculate golf course and the famous botanical gardens. The only sound, other than the occasional gardener, was the singing of birds, and the whole place was filled with the scent of exotic flowers that bloom year round. If you are looking for a little gentility, with afternoon tea served in the library and your bed turned down at night, this is definitely the place to go. Expect a slow pace - no nightclub, no karaoke, no group activities, no rowdiness or drunkenness. It isn't that it isn't friendly; people just give you your space and don't intrude if you want to curl up on a sofa and relax with a book, or sip a Pimms in the bar before dinner. Nothing seems to be too much to ask there and, if you don't feel like visiting the island or wandering round Funchal, you can just float away in the spa and forget all your troubles.

You should be aware that the hotel is a fairly long drive up from the coast - around 10-15 minutes - although there is a free shuttle service. You can of course hire a car to get around Madeira if you're not alarmed by narrow, single-track roads, precipices and the occasional rockfall and even having to drive through a waterfall at one point on the main road. The Palheiro Estate seems to have its own micro-climate that is a little cooler than the lower lying areas because of the altitude, so bring layers of clothing. February can be extremely warm in the sun, to the point of burning, but you will also find wet and windy days. It is not unusual to experience cold, biting winds up on the central plateau of the island, then blazing sunshine, with pouring rain in-between, all in the space of a couple of hours. If you are choosing the hotel for its extra facilities, be aware that the gym is very small; more like an exercise room. Then again, you are likely to have it all to yourself. If you want to swim lengths, choose a season that you can use the outdoor pool. The inside pool is lovely but not suitable for serious exercise. While I was there, I had the sauna, Turkish bath and the pool to myself as the other visitors were either playing golf, out visiting the island or relaxing elsewhere. Bliss!

Room Tip: I had a ground floor garden room which was lovely but, if you want a view, you can't see anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write this in depth review of Casa Velha and our facilities.
You certainly seemed to enjoy all aspects of the Estate and hopefully you got the relaxing and invigorating experience that you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a great 10 day Holiday at Casa Velha do Palheiro. All staff were really helpfull and friendly, especially all the ladies and gentlemen serving the breakfast, lunch and dinner. The service we received on my birthday was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us.
The room was nice and clean and on most days we had the spa facilities to ourselves at the time we visited the spa.
We enjoyed our games of pool and snooker.
In short, an excellent break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneliese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for choosing Casa Velha for your celebrations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spa facilities as well as the gastronomic experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stylish smaller hotel, rooms high standard but really made by beautiful grounds, lovely communal areas and outstanding service and food. Golf course is in good condition and challenging, grounds and access to gardens all beautiful.

Room Tip: Garden rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel seems one of a kind in a city where most of the accommodation is either in the heavily built up centre of town or in the huge purpose built new resort style hotels on the eastern edge of the capital. Casa Velha is a haven of peace and tranquility and excudes style, with the atmosphere of a country house hotel. The communal areas are spacious and we felt like we were sharing our own country house with a few select guests. Although visiting over the Christmas period the hotel remained relatively quiet and easily soaked up the 8 or 10 groups of people staying there. We appreciated almost exclusive use of the tennis court, gym and ping pong table. The spa is spacious (although the pool pretty small), beautifully designed and scruptuously clean and the range of treatments excellent. The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. As a family with 2 teenagers we appreciated our rooms no 1 and 2 which were on their own landing and were effectively interconnected. Evening meals were 5 star, the lunch menu however, seemed relatively expensive and could be more elaborate - few people take lunch there. The hotel offers a shuttle service to Funchal 2x a day (10 mins drive), but a car is useful to explore the island and with a vast network of expressways and v. little traffic getting around the island is very easy. However, with the incredibly steep road up to the hotel, you might be happier for someone else to drive!

Room Tip: Families with kids will appreciate rooms 1& 2 which are on a separate floor, with their own land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildatheart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Wild at Heart,
Would you like a job working for us in our Press Relations!!! This review is fantastic and highlights so many of the little differences that make Casa Velha so special.
Thanks,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#20 of 88 in Funchal
948 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,297 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £127 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing