We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel good value”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel good value”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is right in the center,there is a small park to the front nice to have a sit down,we had a free upgrade on day 2 if we wanted to move which we did,Staff are so helpfull with booking trips taxi etc,the hotel and rooms are spotless no complaints,bar shuts prompt at 11, would have liked a little longer on the weekend,but if you want to stay out there are bars that stay open longer in the town,The hotel pool on the roof is fine with places to sit around never had any problem getting a sunbed,great views from the roof,overall we had a great holiday here would recomend this hotel without a doubt,we are planning to go back next year,we noted this hotel is a Thomson awarded hotel,although we booked direct.

Room Tip: If you go on one trip go to nuns valley, only pay about 10/12 euro each,this place is stunning but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne00Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    202
    33
    12
    1
See reviews for
57
293
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and myself have just returned from a one week holiday at this hotel.
The hotel was everything that we expected from reading its own advertisement and also the many reviews that have gone before.
Its position could not be any better if you want a central town location. It is in the middle of town with the municipal gardens being a one minute stroll away. You could have a drink and a snack in the park as well as enjoying the many flowers and shrubs. The Santa Caterina Park is just a five minute walk heading in the Lido direction. This gives great views of the seafront and also has superb flowers, trees and and a pond with swans on it.
Good restaurants are also right on hand with one of our choices being the Restaurante Dos Combatentes only a two minute walk away. Another choice is in the old part of town and is called the Restaurante Portao. It is near the end of the main strip of restaurants just before the Forte de Sao Tiago.
The reasons we liked this one was not just the excellent food but that they did not try to drag you into their establishment. If you do not like being hassled I suggest you walk along the sea front past the Hotel Porto Santa Maria and then walk into the old town from their.
The Hotel itself is very clean - rooms are cleaned daily with towels and bedding changed every day. Try to get a high floor for better views. we were lucky to get a top corner floor with a double balcony which gave good views of the mountains at the rear and a glance at the sea through the trees of the Municipal Park.
The staff are friendly and always on duty to help if needed.
There is also a free internet computer on hand to use if you wish.
The minor downside is what everyone seems to mention ie. the breakfast is the same everyday and is very restrictive. A little extra planning and thought of what to give visitors would transform breakfast with no or little extra cost to the hotel.
All in all I would still recommend this hotel if the above is taken into account.

Room Tip: Top floor on the front corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GJackson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in July 2011. Good city centre location, clean rooms, friendly staff. Bar has limited choice of drinks and snacks but excellent value. Nothing fancy just a plain and sime hotel. Travelled with Thompsons - don't use their tours as they are ridiculously expensive. The local tour companies offer the same service at a fraction if the price especially if you go in the morning and ask what is available. Also Taxi tours are better value and more flexible.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for a week in August. The hotel was very good. all staff friendly and helpful and the rooms lovely and clean. It is located over the road from the Municipal Gardens. We even had a parking space reserved at a nearby carpark. The only negative has been mentioned before - breakfasts were the same every morning but as far as I was concerned these were more than adequate. if I were to return to Madeira I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pammiejean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Madeira for a week at the end of August. The location of the hotel is it's main asset, it is nearly in the city centre and is only ten minutes walk from the old town, where there is a large choice of restaurants, some which are great value!

The hotel doesn't have some of the facilities that a new resort style hotel may have, but it would seem a waste of a trip to be somewhere as stunning as Madeira and spend too much time in your hotel! Having said this, there is a roof terrace with a small pool that is nice to relax in! There are great views of the surrounding hills of Funchal and a bit of a see view, which I guess would have been stunning sea views before some more recent developments!

The bar down stairs sells bottles of beer for 1 euro and some fairly priced snack meals! The room we were in was on the front corner had a good view of the hills and over looked the municipal gardens! It was spacious, clean, with clean towels and bedding everyday, and free Air con. The only down side was that we had no fridge, that would have been useful.

The breakfast was quite basic, but not too bad, cheese, ham, rolls, boiled or scrambled eggs and cereal and fruit!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always willing to give advice with locations and directions.

A must is a sight seeing tour with Strawberry World. They are based in the Monumental Lido area of Funchal, a 5 min bus journey on Line 1 from the see front. We did the South and East tour, which travelled trough stunning scenery with commentary giving a great insight into the island, from the guide who was great!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mkrn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located - bus stops, marina and a big supermarket are all nearby. Friendly and helpful staff at the reception. Loved the view from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
6 Thank nn201108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is in a prime location with everything within easy reach. The hotel is about the best I have stayed in in recent years. It is very clean and the staff visit the rooms every day . always clean linen and towels daily. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Bar is very cheap, 1 euro for good coffee and beer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RogerHEgremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,063 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Property: Hotel Madeira
Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing