We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service in central location”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great service in central location”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We walked in and got a room on the spot when the place we had booked turned out to be unacceptable. The staff was incredibly helpful and arranged for us to stay in the same room for all 9 nights of our stay on the island. The room was large, bright and spotless and we were thankful to have found it. We seldom heard any other guests within the hotel even though it was full. The included breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection. The staff continued to be helpful by allowing us to stay in our room for a very late check out We would stay here again, but perhaps choose a different room. Our corner room overlooked the park, but was also in a direct line with the nightclub down on the main street so we could hear it at night on Saturdays and other holiday nights and that is why we rated the "sleep quality" as average. The location is excellent aside from that.

Room Tip: We had a corner room - 215- and while it was large and bright, it was also loud on Saturday nights w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPSsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    211
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
59
302
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Hotel was noisy, over New Year music plays outside till 4am most nights. Requested a quiet room on booking but got one right at the front and when we requested a move they were really quite shirty.
I found the beds very uncomfortable and the pillows were rock hard. I would suggest you take your own if you have room. I would have liked kettle in room, and breakfast, as many have mentioned, was super dull. Madeira has lovely fresh fruit all year round and a lovely fruit salad wouldn't go amiss.
On the plus side it's clean and central and a fair price but overall the cons outweighed the pros for me.

Room Tip: Ask for high room not facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

we love this hotel because the staff are all very helpful, situation perfect, fresh laundry daily, breakfast sufficient. location is perfect, in the centre of this lovely city. reception staff most helpful. bar staff very friendly and all of the girls who work very hard are all very attentive. will be returning again 2013 for visit number 16!! Mr and Mrs Paxton - Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrincessJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed in this very well situated hotel for a couple of nights in november.The staff are very helpful and accommadating,the second time we stayed we had our son with us and within 5 mins, they had turned a double room into a family unit.
The situation is superb,just 2 mins walk from the main shopping,cafe and restaurant area of the city, and about 4 mins from the busy seafront.
Worth asking for deals as here, as in many places in the Madeira, they just want to get people through the door.
Rooms were very,clean fairly spacious,and very quiet.
Breakfast was very good, serve yourself from a varied buffet, friut,yogurt,cereals,breads cheese, ham and a cooked option,though I wasnt too goneon the coffee!!
Hotel bar, run by a very friendly gentleman was open from 3pm, but was very quiet during the time we were there
If and when we return to this lovely island,I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We wanted a hotel in the town centre, easy to walk around the central area and the old town.

We didn't want to be on the edge of town in the so-called hotel zone at the concrete Lido / Pestana area, nor up the difficult hill that rises immediately and increasingly steeply behind the front couple of roads in the town.

Everything jin the Hotel Madeira ust worked properly and the hotel was clean and well cared for, at rather a budget price compared to the hotel zone. We'd definitely go back, but after 10 days in Madeira we feel we have seen everything we wanted, at least for several years.

Our room was with a nice big bed which we chose over having a balcony which was also offered, but maybe I should have read the reviews better and asked for a fridge, plus the street noise did travel up on Fri and Sat in the small hours to our 2nd floor front corner room overlooking the park and even with a bit of a sea view.

Breakfasts were a basic but acceptable cold buffet with little variation day to day and only the eggs being cooked and hot. The hotel owners offered to help with excursion planing, though we did our own thing, mainly by scheduled public buses which leave from various points on the nearby Avenido do Mar and the slightly more distant bus stations near each end of that road. - an internet search will yield detailed public bus timetables.

A 100 yards up the road from the hotel is a discrete three story shopping centre including a full supermarket and much more.

We used the hotel bar just once but it was good value for ice cream or indeed cheese on toast, as well as drinks, attended by an unobtrusive but friendly barman.

There is a roof top unheated pool. We didn't have the weather to sunbathe, although on the evening we arrived, the last of sunworshippers was climbing out of the pool as we went to see it.

All in all a decent clean cheap well tended unextravagant hotel and one of the very few to be found right in the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose the front corner to overlook the park, but go high up to avoid weekend street chatter and ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and really liked it so decided to go back this year. Last year we had a room with a balcony but found it almost impossible to sit on it, it was so tiny so we decided not to pay extra for one this time. We had a corner room on the second floor which looked over the park and down the road to the sea front. There were windows on both sides of the corner and a small table and two chairs where we could sit and read our books and watch the rain pouring down. We needed the air conditioning on most nights and it was very quiet and you don't pay extra for it. The windows have blackout linings under the curtains so the light doesn't wake you up and there is very little outside noise. The downstairs bar is very good for coffee with very reasonable prices. We found all the staff polite and helpful. Everyone mentions the dull breakfasts which were still just as dull but you do get what you pay for and the central location and comfortable beds more than make up for the lack of a resort hotel type breakfast. Part of the sea front promenade is cordoned off while a new cruise ship dock is being constructed and we were a bit disappointed not to be able to walk all the way along the front. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the cable car which goes up to Monte. This is more expensive than the bus but the views are wonderful. Try to avoid going when the cruise ships are disgorging their passengers as there can be long queues. The main bus station is also near the cable car. Most of the restaurants seem to be good quality and I have reviewed some of these seperately. Yes it does rain sometimes but the people who live in Funchal are rightly proud of their little city and are very helpful to the slightly disorientated tourist. A word of warning. Don't hover on the pavement near one of the numerous zebra crossings unless you mean to cross the road. The very polite drivers will stop and wait for you to cross and I always felt obliged to do so although usually I had only stopped to admire a building and didn't want to be on the other side of the road!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bowdensrus_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIDDERMINSTER, ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We chose this hotel for its location as we wanted to have access to public transport and to be in the centre of Funchal rather than in the hotel area and this hotel really is in a perfect location. All staff were really friendly, interesting and helpful and the room with 2 balconies overlooking the most beautiful park was perfect with very efficient and quiet air conditioning, a blessing at night as on our second week it did get very hot. The barman mixes a mean poncha. Had just one and wasn't quite sure which way up I was. We went to do levada walking and had to replan when it became very hot and the island was overwhelmed with forest fires. Went on some of the trips which enabled us to see more of the beautiful island. The levada walks we did we organised on our own but you do have to be confident walkers with the right boots and good maps and a definite head for heights as you do find yourself walking on rocky precipices hundreds of feet high. Would not advise these walks with young children. Fantastic trip out on the catamaran to see dolphins and then swim just in front of the second highest sea cliff in the world. Only downside running the gauntlet of restaurant touts - not really sure how to deal with them but we did stay polite and remembered that they are trying to do a very demoralising job in an island that is relying enormously on tourism. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner, high up as they seem to have two balconies and you can nip up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#34 of 86 in Funchal
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Property: Hotel Madeira
Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing