We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in Funchal so that even at a gentle pace everything was within walking distance. The hotel is very clean and the staff are amazing, always so friendly and welcoming and ensuring all guests are well looked after. The breakfast contained a good selection of hot and cold food and was constantly replenished, right up to the end of service. Finally, the roof top pool and bar were fantastic for a town centre hotel. The pool is small but lovely for a cooling down and there were more than enough seats and loungers around for guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a great location. We stayed here for a week in one of the suites on the 4th floor, it's a lovely place to stay with daily linen changes and a great sun terrace on the top floor. There's plenty of places to eat and shop nearby and we've stayed in 5 star places that were worse. Only very minor gripes were no room safe or not tea or coffee despite the fact that there was a kettle and cups! Other than that very good value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have just returned from a weeks holiday in Madeira. This hotel was booked on line. The location is ideal for the city centre. The main shopping area, marina and local amenities are in walking distance. The hotel was very clean, obviously recently refurbished. Bed and breakfast basis only, but no problems. Food was fresh and good. Room was excellent, bed linen changed every day. Staff were very polite and helpful. Price of food and drinks in roof terrace bar also reasonable. A very good stay, I can recommend this to anyone who needs to watch their budget on holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have its own entertainment, so if you are looking for evening entertainment inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located, everything is walking distance, in the city center next to the city garden. Very nice service and nice staff, very helpful. A terrace with a very nice view on Funchal. I would recommend this place definitely.

Room Tip: Choose room 316 overlooking the garden and the Presbyterian Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this small hotel for a week. Our room on first floor was very nice, everything spotless and a good size with a massive wardrobe. Bathroom with a big shower was big as well, every day clean towels and new cosmetics. Breakfast very nice with few choices of cold and hot dishes, as open 7.30-10.30 it was never crowded. You can play a pool on the grand floor next to the reception (great fun). The roof bar serves excellent drinks and tasty burgers. The swimming pool very clean and water was always warm. You can get sun there all day but parasols are available for a bit of shade- great views across the city. All staff very nice and helpful. Especially the older gentlemen who was working in the bar (sorry i don't know the name) and Paul on reception who went extra mile greeting us to the hotel and helping with few different things during our stay. Very pleased with this hotel and a bargain as we booked through Amoma. We choose it because of the pool and free wifi and we will return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a fantastic week in Madeira and honestly coming back to our hotel was one of the best parts of the trip. We made a point of enjoying the view from the rooftop bar at least twice a day to take in the amazing views and enjoy our slice of heaven with new friends. The hotel is located in the best part of Funchal, where you can walk through a pristine park and be in the center of town. All of the staff was friendly and approachable, and by the end of our stay we knew many of them by their first names, especially the bartenders :). Arthur at the front desk was tremendously helpful and was a highlight of our trip. The rooms were clean, freshly remodeled, and had plenty of open air and balcony space. Can not recommend enough and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but in a nearby apartment. We went to the rooftop bar one evening to watch a World Cup match and were warmly welcomed by the charming barman. The roof has a great view over central Funchal, a good place to watch the sun go down. The pool looked very inviting. I would certainly consider staying here in the future - the prices seem very reasonable for such a central location with a pool and sun terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Cags63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#35 of 88 in Funchal
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing