We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked holiday at last minute. Was very cheap so was not sure what to expect!! I was really suprised:-) Staff extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble from the start. Room was basic and a bit tired but clean. Bathroom was lovely and had a great walk in shower. Toiletries were included.
This is a small hotel 2 streets back from the harbour and a stones throw from the Old Town. It is next to a lovely park. Suprmarket is located within a 2 minute stroll, as are an abundance of shops and restaraunts.
The hotel has a rooftop swimming pool with several sun loungers, and a small bar which serves competetively priced drinks, alcoholic, soft and hot!!! 1 euro 20 for cola or 33cl beer. They also serve snacks such as toasties, burgers, omlettes etc. These, again are competetively priced.
This is a lovely peaceful hotel in the middle of a city. We always managed to get sun loungers and on most occassions there was a maximum of 6 of us around the pool at one time.
I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central location in peaceful surroundings with great staff. Our leaner and bar staff were very attentative and went above expected levels of service.
I would also recommend the resort of Funchal to those looking for a restful break in a pictureseque setting with an abundance of lovely walks with bars and restaurants to take the load off occassionally!! I instantly felt safe and at ease once we got to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    202
    33
    12
    1
See reviews for
57
293
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in Funchal so that even at a gentle pace everything was within walking distance. The hotel is very clean and the staff are amazing, always so friendly and welcoming and ensuring all guests are well looked after. The breakfast contained a good selection of hot and cold food and was constantly replenished, right up to the end of service. Finally, the roof top pool and bar were fantastic for a town centre hotel. The pool is small but lovely for a cooling down and there were more than enough seats and loungers around for guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a great location. We stayed here for a week in one of the suites on the 4th floor, it's a lovely place to stay with daily linen changes and a great sun terrace on the top floor. There's plenty of places to eat and shop nearby and we've stayed in 5 star places that were worse. Only very minor gripes were no room safe or not tea or coffee despite the fact that there was a kettle and cups! Other than that very good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have just returned from a weeks holiday in Madeira. This hotel was booked on line. The location is ideal for the city centre. The main shopping area, marina and local amenities are in walking distance. The hotel was very clean, obviously recently refurbished. Bed and breakfast basis only, but no problems. Food was fresh and good. Room was excellent, bed linen changed every day. Staff were very polite and helpful. Price of food and drinks in roof terrace bar also reasonable. A very good stay, I can recommend this to anyone who needs to watch their budget on holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have its own entertainment, so if you are looking for evening entertainment inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located, everything is walking distance, in the city center next to the city garden. Very nice service and nice staff, very helpful. A terrace with a very nice view on Funchal. I would recommend this place definitely.

Room Tip: Choose room 316 overlooking the garden and the Presbyterian Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this small hotel for a week. Our room on first floor was very nice, everything spotless and a good size with a massive wardrobe. Bathroom with a big shower was big as well, every day clean towels and new cosmetics. Breakfast very nice with few choices of cold and hot dishes, as open 7.30-10.30 it was never crowded. You can play a pool on the grand floor next to the reception (great fun). The roof bar serves excellent drinks and tasty burgers. The swimming pool very clean and water was always warm. You can get sun there all day but parasols are available for a bit of shade- great views across the city. All staff very nice and helpful. Especially the older gentlemen who was working in the bar (sorry i don't know the name) and Paul on reception who went extra mile greeting us to the hotel and helping with few different things during our stay. Very pleased with this hotel and a bargain as we booked through Amoma. We choose it because of the pool and free wifi and we will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a fantastic week in Madeira and honestly coming back to our hotel was one of the best parts of the trip. We made a point of enjoying the view from the rooftop bar at least twice a day to take in the amazing views and enjoy our slice of heaven with new friends. The hotel is located in the best part of Funchal, where you can walk through a pristine park and be in the center of town. All of the staff was friendly and approachable, and by the end of our stay we knew many of them by their first names, especially the bartenders :). Arthur at the front desk was tremendously helpful and was a highlight of our trip. The rooms were clean, freshly remodeled, and had plenty of open air and balcony space. Can not recommend enough and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,059 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Property: Hotel Madeira
Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing