We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original atmosfere from the sixties”
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original atmosfere from the sixties”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The modern rooms in the hotel have all very large photos of the icoons of the sixties: The Beatles, Birgit Bardot, James Dean. The hotel was built in the sixties and the original furniture is re-established. Gives a nice atmosphere.
Good service, nice people, good breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a Sixties-room
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays in Madeira.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    216
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
215
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

hotel in centre of Funchal
five-ten minute walk to harbour and main promenade
service at hotel excellent
rooms at moment being upgraded on 3rd and 4th floors should be finished for this summer. small suppliment for these rooms
rooms otherwise comfortable with satelite television
only issues with rooms no coffee making facilities would have to take your own kettle
no view of coastline

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays and we have taken careful note of comments.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed here as part of an 'Explore' walking holiday. Very polite staff and very clean. Breakfast ok good average spread, except for juice that was squash. Not a plush hotel, but it has an excellent pool and balcony area on the top floor with sunloungers and umbrellas and fabulous views. I had a room on the first floor at the rear 101 or 103 - I had a huge balcony over looking large trees and an apartment block and church. It was quiet.

I had lunch here once and I wouldn't recommend it nothing special at all, but there are lots of restaurants all around to eat at. Bar and restaurant area in hotel nothing special but clean and nice staff. I had no air conditioning which made it quite hot in August but bearable

The aerobus from the airport will drop you at the end of the road, so very easy journey to get to and from the airport - a 5 min walk from drop off point. The aerobus costs 5 euros each way - see web site for times. Hotel Close to supermarkets and cashpoints and an easy stroll to the old town which has the most character. In fact you can easily access all important sites in Funchal by foot from here. Also it is about a 5-10 min walk to get to the cable car to take you to monte and the gardens. The area felt very safe.

I had a room the night before the walking tour for about 50 euros for a double for one person with breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassionateTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Drab and dated multi-storey hotel wedged into a sidestreet in Central Funchal. Very handy location but lacking in character. The downstairs breakfast area in particular has a gloomy feel to it. In fairness, the buffet breakfast itself was reasonable, with a good selection of bread rolls and a little fruit, plus bacon and scrambled egg.

The price you pay for a central location is a degree of noise, with dustcarts and industrial vehicles clattering round close by late at night.

My group stayed here for two nights at the end of a walking tour round the island. I would not have wanted to stay any longer.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We checked into this hotel on 15/02/10.Have to say it didnt look too promising.Rooftop pool was a good size but needed a wee bit of maintenance.It was also cold but what do you expect for February?
Breakfast was adequate,but there are plenty of nice cafe bars nearby where you can relax and people watch.Had to be evacuated on the 20th because of major flood damage...Staff used thier OWN cars to ferry us to thier sister hotel called the Girrassol.Felt very sorry for the staff having to put up with some very rude guests on the day of evacuation.Especially from one pompous English couple.
My overall view of Madeira is good.The people are fantastic,but the arrogance of the older English tourists is dreadful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed in hotel do Carmo over the Christmas and we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was really friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet. A good value for the money!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlandTiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Just returned to the UK after staying at the Hotel do Carmo, never again, the pool was dirty (black tide mark around the pool) breakfast poor, no air conditioning, beds very uncomfortable and EXTREMELY NOISY, could not lock balcony doors, and the corridors smelt musty with badly stained carpets, more like a Youth Hostel than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#27 of 86 in Funchal
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#29 of 86 in Funchal
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#61 of 86 in Funchal
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.3 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Property: Hotel do Carmo
Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing