We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, central hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value, central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour of Madeira. The first night and last 2 nights were spent in this hotel. Although the outside of the hotel isn't appealing due to the narrow street, everything inside is good and there is a lovely little courtyard to sit in with your evening drinks. The service from all the staff was totally flawless, more the level expected for 5 star prices rather than 3 star. I would go back just to meet the staff again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    190
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
190
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here when we first arrived in Madeira. It was a good introduction to Madeiran hospitality. The staff were extremely welcoming & cheerful, they showed us maps & places to go.
The room was a good size, clean & with a balcony. A good view of the city can be seen at the top of the building where the pool is situated. We had a refurbished room on the higher floor which was nice with a flat screen TV & ceiling fan.
Takes about 5-10 minutes to stroll into city centre. The hotel is also located close to a supermarket which is handy when you want to buy some tit-bits.
I would definitely stay here if I return to Funchal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pui07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights here in November 2011. The hotel is in a great central location less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal. The hotel staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful and able to give great advice on how to get the best from our time there. Breakfast was of the normal buffet style. Would recommend this hotel to anybody visting the area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin24722612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed being at Hotel do Carmo and that our staff helped to get the best from your time in Madeira.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Hotel is within a 5 minutes walk to the harbor, at the center of FUNCHAL. It is small but confortable. People working there are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalacoluchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays in Madeira.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Visited Madeira in May 2011 for the annual flower festival and stayed here with my partner for the fourth time running. Hotel has had a refurb with rooms all newly decorated, flat screen TV and ceiling fan in the rooms. What we love about this hotel is if you stay in the TV has all english programmes with portuguese sub-titles not the other way round like you get in most hotels in Europe. Wonderful spread at breakfast time, hot and cold foods and a wide variety of fruits, cereal, cheese, breads, hot & cold drinks.. Rooms cleaned everyday, towels changed as well. Best thing about this hotel is the staff. You cant fault anyone, right from the lovely people at the front desk especially Nadia, the bar staff (try their own sangria absolutely lovely) or the chambermaids.. So helpful, so courteous and polite. As imentioned in my other reviews this hotel is a short walk to the high street and marina with loads of restaurants and bars around. You can take the airport bus to the hotel, cost 5euros per person, about 5 to 7 minute walk to the hotel. Taxi cost 15 euros better to travel in comfort right to the the hotel but thats choice.
A 3 star hotel with 5 star service. Wouldnt fault this hotel in any way,. People like to complain about carpets and swimming pool areas!! These are trivial issues which dont bother us, hotel itself very comfortable and full marks and thanks to people who work so hard to make it a good one. Roll on the next visit. :-))
Supermarket called Pingo Doce down the road from the hotel, where you can get everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Madame,
First let me thank your kind words about Hotel do Carmo. I'm glad to know that you enjoied, again, your stay with us.
I hope to see you in near future.
Best regards,
João Paulo Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for eleven nights and was so pleased with my choice. Booked mainly for the location (5-10 mins walk to Old Town and 5 mins in other direction to centre of Funchal). Was slightly worried by some of the adverse comments on TA but needn't have been. It's an absolute gem and for the price cannot be beaten. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room, tho' overlooking the road, was quiet and quite spacious with a nice wide balcony. Breakfast (included in the price) was fine by me as I only want coffee and toast(nice coffee btw) with a good selection of bread and croissants. Shall most certainly stay here again if we return to Funchal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays in Madeira.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

My Wife and I had a wonderful time in Funchal, the hotel was exactly what we had expected
although the pool as mentioned by other guests could have been cleaner + my wife picked up a couple of splinters on her feet from the decking just moving her bed round to catch the sun - be-aware. The staff could not have been more helpful and the Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We picked the Hotel do Carmo because of its location - right in the centre of the Old Town, 2 minutes walk from the Sea, Cafe's, and the Market. The hotel could improve by putting in aircon but the Fan was ok at the end of June, a Fridge thou would be great. Many thanks to all the staff, we both had a great time.

Room Tip: Ugrade - 10 euro's a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin4fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays and we have taken careful note of comments. Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#24 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Property: Hotel do Carmo
Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing