We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel”
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is ideally located within walking distance to downtown, old town and marina. The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean. The breakfast is okay, simple but perfectly adequate. There are several different planes of the sundeck with lounge chairs just like on a ferry :)
We gladly return to the same hotel.
We were not disappointed. The pictures on the internet were consistent with reality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

The staff is helpful and sympathetic. the hotel is very clean but is very old and needs urgent reform. Do not sew fooled by the photos. 'll be disappointed when you get inside the hotel. Not a real hotel.is cheap but expensive for what it's worth

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritinha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPAraujo, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We regret that the Hotel do Carmo has not met yours expectations. Although we accept the maxim that "tastes do not argue," most of our guests enjoy the hotel and realizes the concept we have implemented. The "Hotel do Carmo" was recently renovated and the idea was to create a very unique style with regard to its interior decoration. We maintained and introduced iconic elements of the late sixties and recovered genuine furniture of that decade. For all this, we have a unique 3 stars and a photographic portfolio that faithfully captures its ambiance.
Finally, we thank’s and appreciate the compliments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A hotel right in the center of the city
An considerate and personalized service by the hotel staff.
A 3-star hotel than in any place in the world would deserved more.
Personalised rooms and very comfortable.

Room Tip: the accommodations are exactly what you need for a quiet rest and the clash of modernity and vintage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipe_Rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed for long weekend in Hotel do Carmo. The staff was very friendly, check in was fast and smooth. Hotel room was clean, but a bit tired, renewing would be nice. Located in center, but quiet place. WiFi is free, but only in the lobby. Hotel provides parking lot for those, who have a car, for 6eur/day. Did not choose breakfast which costs 10eur/person. There are plenty cafeterias around to have nice morning coffee. Request the room away from elevator, it makes some noise during the night, since the walls are very thin.
In general -- we would probably stay again, on the next visit in Madeira.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_do_Carmo, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank for your kind words about Hotel do Carmo.

I'm glad thar you enjoy being with us and in Funchal.

I hope to see you next ime that you will came to Madeira.

Best regards

João Paulo Beja
General-manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hotel is in easy walking distance for all the sights around the old town. Situated in a quiet side road with little traffic and a couple of car parking spaces available outside the hotel if travelling by car. Rooms have been partially refurbished in contemporary style. Newly decorated, ours had a striking image of Marilyn Munroe on one wall plus flat screen TV and balcony overlooking the street. Rooms have retained original bedroom furniture and bathroom also appeared to be a little dated with a shower in bath arrangement but the room was spottlesly clean. Shower not particularly effective but plenty of hot water and enough space in the room for a short stay.

Breakfast is buffet style with a reasonable selection of cereals, ham, cheese, fruit and bread plus limited offering of hot food and tea,coffee, juice etc but quite adequate.

The big plus was the staff who were very good and after advising them we were moving on mid afternoon of the third day we were offered without any prompting a free extension allowing us to keep the room until we were ready to go. A generous gesture.

There is a pool on the roof with outdoor seating and overall it offers very good value in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_do_Carmo, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel do Carmo.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays in Madeira and your stay with us.
Hoping of welcoming you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
João Beja
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were in a pinch and needed a room fast. Went on Booking.com and fount this hotel.
As described, a good 3 star hotel. Rooms are basic but functional. Good water pressure and heat for the shower.
Very good buffet breakfast included.
Free wifi in the lounge is a good think.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
You get a little more than you pay for here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_do_Carmo, General Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Sir
First of all let me thanks for your preference for Hotel do Carmo.

I'm glad that you enjoy being with us.

I'm looking forward to see you with us in the near future.

Best regards

João Beja
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Good location, excellent service, excellent value for money, very helpful staff. View to the sea and mountains. Situated in a quiet street downtown with almost no traffic at night. We stayed there three nights and will stay there again on our next trip to Funchal. And nice with the outdoor pool on the top floor.
Mogens P. Denmark

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpo189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#60 of 88 in Funchal
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#58 of 88 in Funchal
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#69 of 88 in Funchal
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#63 of 88 in Funchal
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing