We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Service!”
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5* Service!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel do Carmo for 1 week in October and I can't recommend it highly enough!
We received a complimentary glass of wine on arrival and were made to feel very welcome by all the super friendly staff at the hotel. All of them remembered us and had a smile throughout the day. The manager Antonio helped us to see dolphins for a much cheaper price than we found at a travel place. There was a mishap with the tickets and he even called them up and sorted us out the issue and a free drink too!

The cleaners were all really friendly and our room was cleaned daily. The rooms were really distinctive compared to other hotels, with an individual large photograph above the beds. We also had a balcony. There was a TV in the room with many english channels and the hotel was in an area very close to the docks and to the daily local market. There aren't many public beaches in Madeira but this hotel was a small 10 minute walk away from a nice little public beach.

I would recommend this hotel and their incredible customer service to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachBash90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.
We are trying our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Mónica Freitas
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    207
    51
    8
    1
See reviews for
64
203
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very well situated, close to all you need to see in the city, with very helpful and gentle staff. No bad words about it. Of course it's a budget hotel, so very much luxury you shouldn't expect, but it has all basic needs you might need for your stay in Madeira. Free wifi in lobby, bar and terrace. When we go back, and I'm sure we'll go back, I wouldn't search another.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irogiershier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

this is a very pleasant hotel, well situated and very well-priced.The room was clean,airy and spacious with a balcony with views over the rooftops to the harbour and to the mountains on the other side.The staff were very helpful and had all sorts of bus schedules and tourist information available for guests..The lounge and outdoor patio área are comfortable and there is a social space with a TV and a small lending library with books in various languages and a billiards table!The breakfast was more than adequate, either continental or with scrambled eggs,bacon and sausages etc.The swimming pool on the roof was great, with loungers and spectacular views.
Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies.Well worth a Little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patriciafromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Other than that, it's just your average budget hotel. We booked it just for one night because our flight had to be anticipated, and we chose it because of great reviews and the cheap price. The room was very dated, with old furniture, the bathroom was hideous and just barely clean. We had a terrible night of sleep because the wooden bed kept making cracking noises all night long. There's free wifi but it doesn't work anywhere besides the reception area. Breakfast was absolutely unimpressive. I'm definitely not booking this hotel again, nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunapgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for the comment made on TripAdvisor, which took our best attention.

We are a bit surprised that you didn’t enjoy your stay in our hotel. We started the renovation of the hotel in 2010 and tried to create an atmosphere of the sixties in all the rooms and public areas. The furniture was also recovered from that time to make a different decoration from all other properties. We recognize that not everybody can like it and we are sorry that we couldn’t meet your expectations.

Regarding the wi-fi connection it’s true we don’t have it available in the rooms, but we never advertise it and we don’t charge anything for using in the reception and bar area.

As a 3 star hotel we try everyday to meet our clients happy and we are really sorry that you didn’t enjoy it. We apologized for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for your comments that were very helpful to improve our service in the future.

Best Regards,

Mónica Freitas
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our decision to stay at Hotel do Carmo was based on the many positive web-based reviews and the fact that our quoted daily rate included breakfast. The hotel itself is not vast and impersonal so instead you get a fantastic team at the reception desk who are excellent linguists and who willingly pull out all the stops to ensure you enjoy your stay in Madeira. The restaurant provides a fair range of food and we made use of free wi-fi in the lounge. Outside the hotel, you are only a few minutes walk from discovering shortcuts to the market, cable-car, bus terminus, marina and parks as well as the selection of eateries on Rua Sta Maria or Rua da Carreira. As a rider, we originally planned to use the airport shuttle bus to drop us nearby but found an on-line taxi service that offered door to door service for not much extra cost for 2 persons. Madeira is a fine holiday destination, perfectly complemented by a stay at Hotel do Carmo.

Room Tip: Because we stayed 9 nights, we took advantage of the room upgrade that was offered on our arrival. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Firstly, it was a bit shot when we see the hotel, it is quite a difference with the picture on the web, the hotel is very old. It definitely a time to renovate. The wifi only workable near the hotel bar area, it will be disconnected at the receiption. However, a credit will be given to this hotel due to the location and quite a difference variety of the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I arrived mid May and were warmly welcomed at the reception and given room 502, this room was spacious with a good sized bathroom and was cleaned on a daily basis. We were lucky to have a nice view of the Monte Palace tropical gardens from our window. The twin beds were comfortable, but the pillows were too small for my liking. The buffet breakfast was reasonable as it was inclusive, but I would not pay 10 euros if not been inclusive. There were fresh rolls and bread and the fruit salad was nice, but the drinks,croissants and the scrambled egg were not to our liking. Well located for the cable car to Monte Palace and close to the bus station and market. situated on a side street near to a construction area made the roof top pool rather noisy also the work on the sea front carried noise if the wind was in the wrong direction. Overall a good base for someone who just wants a clean and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Monte Palace and the cable car up to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewarkDelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 86 in Funchal
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Property: Hotel do Carmo
Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing