We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage vibe and not just vibe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Turku
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vintage vibe and not just vibe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked double bed balcony room, they seem to be the -05 ending ones facing the mountains. Nice view, cable car, monte village and so on.

Balcony of good size with a table and two chairs. Sliding glass door soundproof enough for the alley/rather quiet street down below.

Basic bathroom with bathtub and shower. Washtub of older vintage, toilet seat and bidé newer. Hairdryer worked. Clean and functional.

Double bed was of regular european standard. Not american-wide or asian-hard, but not small or too soft either. Furniture had beautiful veneering and lacquer coating that had eroded in places like only old-skool furniture lacquer does. Beautiful atmosphere. Safe looked like it had been dived from the Andrea Doria.

If you like brand-new and shiny Ikea fiberboard - trends, this is not for you. If you like the philosophy of not throwing away furniture that still work and have a thing for the fifties/sixties, this is for you.

Breakfast had sausages/bacon, boiled/scrambled eggs and a wide variety of bread and toppings, muesli, youghurt and fruit. Local coffee or nescafe style machine specials. Sparkling wine.

Pool bar was a telephone connection to lobby bar during low season. Pool was unheated, with a few knocks but ok. Rooftop has a great view and even in winter was usable for sunbathing and swimming when wind was low.

Staff were truly great. There are great personalities working there who made us relax and enjoy our holiday all in their own style but all putting guests first.

Reception can book airport taxis for a fixed rate (€27 as of feb/14 compared to €34 with taximeter), check this option out especially on sunday when buses travel infrequently.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We happy to know that you understood the essence of our hotel and that you enjoy it.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    193
    50
    7
    1
See reviews for
60
193
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a wonderful hotel experience from the moment we arrived, the reception staff made us feel so special and very welcome.The room was perfect and kept very clean throughout our stay.
The waiters in the restaurant had a very friendly manner and the buffet breakfast was a good variety of continental and cooked choices .The evening meals where good overall, but the starter was always soup only and always only warm,never hot enough.The main course always had a choice of meat or fish and was very good, except that the vegetables just warm, never hot.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Funchal, and only 5 minutes walk from everything'

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel do Carmo is a completed refurbished "oldie" hotel. Located in city center, but in a quiet street, is owned by a traditional Maderian old family, knowing, for ages, "the art of hospitality". With a teemed "new" decoration, based in sixties, Hotel do Carmo is the right place to "urbans". A swimming pool in the "terrace" makes an ideal place to combine city and Sun.

Room Tip: The higher the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel is in excellent location, just in a few minute walking distance from the most important places in Fuchal. Rooms are well equipped and always clean. Also there is free WiFi and seasonal fruits available at the lobby. :) Great price-value ratio! 100% recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmandsEders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel do Carmo for 1 week in October and I can't recommend it highly enough!
We received a complimentary glass of wine on arrival and were made to feel very welcome by all the super friendly staff at the hotel. All of them remembered us and had a smile throughout the day. The manager Antonio helped us to see dolphins for a much cheaper price than we found at a travel place. There was a mishap with the tickets and he even called them up and sorted us out the issue and a free drink too!

The cleaners were all really friendly and our room was cleaned daily. The rooms were really distinctive compared to other hotels, with an individual large photograph above the beds. We also had a balcony. There was a TV in the room with many english channels and the hotel was in an area very close to the docks and to the daily local market. There aren't many public beaches in Madeira but this hotel was a small 10 minute walk away from a nice little public beach.

I would recommend this hotel and their incredible customer service to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachBash90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.
We are trying our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Mónica Freitas
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very well situated, close to all you need to see in the city, with very helpful and gentle staff. No bad words about it. Of course it's a budget hotel, so very much luxury you shouldn't expect, but it has all basic needs you might need for your stay in Madeira. Free wifi in lobby, bar and terrace. When we go back, and I'm sure we'll go back, I wouldn't search another.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irogiershier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

this is a very pleasant hotel, well situated and very well-priced.The room was clean,airy and spacious with a balcony with views over the rooftops to the harbour and to the mountains on the other side.The staff were very helpful and had all sorts of bus schedules and tourist information available for guests..The lounge and outdoor patio área are comfortable and there is a social space with a TV and a small lending library with books in various languages and a billiards table!The breakfast was more than adequate, either continental or with scrambled eggs,bacon and sausages etc.The swimming pool on the roof was great, with loungers and spectacular views.
Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies.Well worth a Little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patriciafromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#25 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
2.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Property: Hotel do Carmo
Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing