We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel do Carmo Three times and have never been disappointed.The staff are professional,helpful and extremely friendly. Comfortable rooms with practical en suite. Breakfasts excellent. The location is in Central Funchal close to all amenities including the cable car, promenade and the old town. We will definitely be back again next year.
P&D North Wales

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_stephens245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    190
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
190
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a fab little hotel, with comfortable rooms and great beds We where lucky girls we had Sean Connery 007 above are beds Breakfast good selection every day- They even opened early for us one morning-Hotel couple of minutes to shops and old town--highly recommend-

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julier-Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here over two weekends before and after a week of trekking with EXPLORE. We found the hotel very clean, with attentive staff and an excellent breakfast, all this at an affordable price and the best location in the city, just above all the urban attractions. The room itself was not luxury but offered all the things we wanted, including a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the street below the hotel. If this is a budget hotel it is exactly what I want and need when I am away from home. Here one doesn't need to take a taxi or bus to town, it is all there just steps and blocks away. In our travels we have never found a more helpful staff than do Carmo exhibits all day long.

Room Tip: balcony is fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked double bed balcony room, they seem to be the -05 ending ones facing the mountains. Nice view, cable car, monte village and so on.

Balcony of good size with a table and two chairs. Sliding glass door soundproof enough for the alley/rather quiet street down below.

Basic bathroom with bathtub and shower. Washtub of older vintage, toilet seat and bidé newer. Hairdryer worked. Clean and functional.

Double bed was of regular european standard. Not american-wide or asian-hard, but not small or too soft either. Furniture had beautiful veneering and lacquer coating that had eroded in places like only old-skool furniture lacquer does. Beautiful atmosphere. Safe looked like it had been dived from the Andrea Doria.

If you like brand-new and shiny Ikea fiberboard - trends, this is not for you. If you like the philosophy of not throwing away furniture that still work and have a thing for the fifties/sixties, this is for you.

Breakfast had sausages/bacon, boiled/scrambled eggs and a wide variety of bread and toppings, muesli, youghurt and fruit. Local coffee or nescafe style machine specials. Sparkling wine.

Pool bar was a telephone connection to lobby bar during low season. Pool was unheated, with a few knocks but ok. Rooftop has a great view and even in winter was usable for sunbathing and swimming when wind was low.

Staff were truly great. There are great personalities working there who made us relax and enjoy our holiday all in their own style but all putting guests first.

Reception can book airport taxis for a fixed rate (€27 as of feb/14 compared to €34 with taximeter), check this option out especially on sunday when buses travel infrequently.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We happy to know that you understood the essence of our hotel and that you enjoy it.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a wonderful hotel experience from the moment we arrived, the reception staff made us feel so special and very welcome.The room was perfect and kept very clean throughout our stay.
The waiters in the restaurant had a very friendly manner and the buffet breakfast was a good variety of continental and cooked choices .The evening meals where good overall, but the starter was always soup only and always only warm,never hot enough.The main course always had a choice of meat or fish and was very good, except that the vegetables just warm, never hot.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Funchal, and only 5 minutes walk from everything'

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel do Carmo is a completed refurbished "oldie" hotel. Located in city center, but in a quiet street, is owned by a traditional Maderian old family, knowing, for ages, "the art of hospitality". With a teemed "new" decoration, based in sixties, Hotel do Carmo is the right place to "urbans". A swimming pool in the "terrace" makes an ideal place to combine city and Sun.

Room Tip: The higher the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel is in excellent location, just in a few minute walking distance from the most important places in Fuchal. Rooms are well equipped and always clean. Also there is free WiFi and seasonal fruits available at the lobby. :) Great price-value ratio! 100% recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmandsEders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#24 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Property: Hotel do Carmo
Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing