We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent 3 star hotel in great location for accessing Funchal by foot. We spent a weekend here having emailed the hotel in advance to request twin rooms and to advise of our time of arrival. They responded very promptly and were able to meet our request and when we did arrive the reception staff were also fully aware of our email and requirements. The rooms were basic but clean and met our needs. As reviewers have commented before the breakfast was surprisingly good and the bread extremely fresh. The outdoor pool on the top floor was a bonus and a real sun trap which we had to ourselves all morning. The staff were helpful and friendly, the bar was pleasant - all in all an ideal hotel for our holiday. We will definitely use it again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others looking for a good value stay in Funchal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpontyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaJFreitas, Diretor de vendas at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor. We are trying our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Monica Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was going to write a long review, but DoraandNigel have covered most of it already (see their review below). In short, friendly and very helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms, and superb location. A really good base for exploring Funchal on foot. The harbour, marina, cable car and bus termini are within an easy 5-10 minutes walk. Countless places to eat and drink within easy staggering distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LastPintDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent first impression, reception staff made us very welcome & gave us a lot of information which was useful to our stay. The on arrival drink was a nice touch & much appreciated.
Our room (405) had great views to the north & Monte from the balcony. The room was adequate for our needs & was clean & well serviced on a daily basis. The bed was firm & comfortable with the benefit of a quiet location. Breakfast was served in a large, airy dining room. The choice of food was good, we enjoyed our continental option. Catering staff were readily available to replenish food & clear tables. It was nice to see a member of management clearly visible & regularly checking details in both the restaurant & bedrooms. Reception staff were pro-active in offering assistance, arranging tours & taxis etc. We didn't leave or enter the hotel without being acknowledged by a member of the reception staff which we appreciated. The hotel bar was pleasant to sit in with the option of an outside patio area .We enjoyed the 1960's theme with quirky photos in each room & memorabilia in the public areas. The hotel was ideally located within a 10 minute easy walk of both the Old town & cathedral areas where there were numerous bars, restaurants & sites of interest eg cathedral, promenade ,marina, Worker's Market, Cable car to Monte etc . We had a very enjoyable 10 days & would definitely recommend the Hotel do Carmo to anyone visiting Funchal.

Room Tip: Pick a north facing room with balcony for the best view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoraandNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst on holiday in Madeira. It is very conveniently situated near to the centre of Funchal.
It's a short walk to the main bus stops, the cable car and a good range of restaurants and bars in the old town. There are also handy supermarkets and a taxi rank.
Room was comfortable and and had all the facilities needed, including a pretty decent, a bath and a balcony. Don't expect luxury, but everything worked. There are good views from the roof terrace, but views from the rooms are limited to nearby buildings and streets. Staff were helpful, polite and unobtrusive. There was a good range of food on offer at the breakfast buffet, although it was quite busy some mornings. We particularly liked the fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. The small toaster was unable to cope during busy periods!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is an old hotel which the owners have tried to modernise with a degree of success,it has a suberb location with everything nearby and a better location than the west coast hotels which is very touristy.The staff are "excelent" one especially Nadia was really helpful.
This hotel is rated 8.3 for me it should be 9

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milesawayAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel do Carmo Three times and have never been disappointed.The staff are professional,helpful and extremely friendly. Comfortable rooms with practical en suite. Breakfasts excellent. The location is in Central Funchal close to all amenities including the cable car, promenade and the old town. We will definitely be back again next year.
P&D North Wales

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_stephens245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a fab little hotel, with comfortable rooms and great beds We where lucky girls we had Sean Connery 007 above are beds Breakfast good selection every day- They even opened early for us one morning-Hotel couple of minutes to shops and old town--highly recommend-

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julier-Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
524 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#27 of 88 in Funchal
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#68 of 88 in Funchal
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#62 of 88 in Funchal
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#24 of 88 in Funchal
614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Address: Travessa Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9050-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, free wifi, direct telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels and play Billiards. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. Free Wifi is provided is all areas of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing