We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Madeira.”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have recently returned from our 16th holiday at the Quintinha de Sao Joao and we were as equally impressed with this fantastic hotel and its staff as we were on our first visit in 2000. Almost all the staff are those originally employed when the QSJ opened in 1998 and they are like one big family in which guests are included. The Manager, Dr. Andre Barreto, describes the hotel as "Your home in Madeira". He, along with his indispensable deputy, Rosie Borges, goes to great lengths to ensure that each guest receives personal attention and is given whatever help is required.

Rosie is English, so is fully aware of the expectations of British guests and does her utmost to live up to them. She is more than capable of dealing with any eventuality. Ask her if you need to hire a car ~ she will get you the best deal. If Rosie should not be available, Catarina and the Reception staff are also well-qualified to provide the information you need.

Each Tuesday Dr. Barreto holds a cocktail party, when guests can talk to him and Rosie, as well as to each other, while being waited on by Antonio and the bar staff.

Since we first visited the QSJ, there have been some changes, all to provide extra facilities. There is a beautiful Spa, perfect for those needing to "chill out" and an indoor and outdoor heated pool. There is a well-equipped games room and a state-of-the-art gymnasium, free for guests to use. Bathrooms have been re-furbished. A modern TV and DVD player is in every room.

Unchanged is the quiet, peaceful atmosphere which pervades the hotel and the elegant decor and furnishings in the spacious rooms. Shelves holding books for light reading, reference, history and travel are found, especially on the third floor, where there are luxurious armchairs and settees in which to relax. Beautiful flower arrangements adorn the public areas. We are fascinated to watch Andre Barreto's mother displaying these so skilfully.

The gardens are a delight all the year round but our favourite time is late Spring, when the scent of Jasmine fills the air. The sun loungers and hammocks are most inviting !

The restaurant, A Morghadina, has maintained its high standard for the preparation and presentation of a variety of dishes. Carlo and the waiters and waitresses are always attentive, always smiling and cheerful. They are also interested to hear of our daily exploits. The breakfasts are out of this world, with more choice of cereals and fruits than one would normally expect. There is a good variety of cooked food which is prepared to individual requirements.

The Bar food is superb and also very well presented, at a very reasonable cost. Prices have been stable for several years. A luxurious alternative to eating in the Bar or Restaurant is to ask for Room Service, which is delivered every bit as elegantly as if we were in the Restaurant. After a long Levada walk in the mountains, we found it convenient and more relaxing to eat in our own room. A sumptuous spread, with silver service, was wheeled to our room and served by, in our case, Michael. Well worth the extra €5 !

The cleaning staff are efficient and friendly and they all take a pride in their work. There is an excellent, speedy Laundry service. Sofia, the Housekeeper, is anxious to ensure that nothing is overlooked and that the high standard of cleanliness in the rooms is maintained.

We cannot praise the QSJ and its staff enough and we look forward to our next visit in November.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacarandaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Well... what can we say?! 16 visits to our Quintinha must be a record - not to mention an honor for us!

Thank you for your very detailed and comprehensive review - it is clear that you are very much part of our "Quintinha Family" and we sincerely hope that you will remain so for many years to come. As you know, our aim is for you to feel that the Quintinha São João is your home from home and it definitely comes across that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

It is true that most of us have been at the hotel since it opened in 1998 and agree that it is good to come back and see the same friendly faces year after year.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 17th visit!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We just got back from a 6 night stay at the Quintinha Sao Joao for our honeymoon. From our arrival the impression of the hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous without being all over us. The decor of the hotel was very tasteful, giving the hotel a unique and distinctive style quite apart from a standard hotel - very homely.

The location is just about ideal in my mind - not right in the centre, nor in the primary hotel district of Funchal. It's only a ~10 minute walk to the centre or a taxi of <5 minutes and <5 euro.

The food was excellent - a high point of our stay. The breakfast buffet is vast, a selection of breads, cereals, continental style meats, waffles freshly cooked, bacon & eggs cooked to order, selection of freshly squeezed juices, the works. The only minor let-down was the coffee. The standard pot was just dire, I guess from a percolator, even if you ordered an espresso separately this was decidedly average - we like our coffee in the morning.

Lunch at the bar or on the terrace outside was also very good with a selection of sandwiches, salads and light meals. Dinner at the A Morgandinha restaurant was also excellent, we had it twice during our stay, once was included in the package, the second we went back again because the first was so good.

We also enjoyed the spa services, having a massage included in our package, and also booked some time in the jacuzzi. Staff at the spa again had just the right level of attention, friendly but not intrusive.

The two pools are great, the outdoor one a nice refreshing temperature even on a hot day, the indoor one heated and covered if the weather is a little cooler.

Overall, it was great, absolutely what we were looking for in our honeymoon hotel. Small, intimate, friendly, great service, great food, and a beautiful building and setting. Highly recommended, we will be back.

Room Tip: Requested a room with a view on booking and got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sssamcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Firstly, may we say a big “thank you" for choosing the Quintinha de São João for your honeymoon - we are very honored.

Secondly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review on Tripadvisor for us. We are very aware that many future guests visit the Quintinha on Tripadvisor prior to choosing their hotel/holiday/honeymoon and are sure that, after reading your comments, they will be pleased to visit us.

Lastly, we can see from your comments that our hotel has surpassed your expectations and this is definitely the best news for us! Our aim is to please and we are delighted to see that we have succeeded.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João - perhaps for your anniversary...

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had a glorious stay during the second week of June looking for rest and recuperation. The hotel is kept in immaculate condition, in a great location and the staff are some of the most welcoming we have experienced anywhere in the world. Rosie in particular was a mine of information with excellent recommendations for places to eat. The choice at the buffet breakfast was excellent - though one plea - please improve your coffee! The gym equipment is an excellent bonus as well as the pool table. Happy hour sat on the terrace - what more could you want? We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a review for the Quintinha de São João on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is genuinely much appreciated - not only by ourselves but no doubt by all potential visitors to the Quintinha de São João.

It is a delight to read that your holiday was "glorious” - that is exactly how it should be! I shall pass on your kind comments regarding the staff and, on behalf of them, would like to say that it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. In addition, we are pleased to inform you that the coffee served at breakfast time is under scrutiny.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and location and look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

All the staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The room (with a garden view) was spacious and pleasant. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the centre of Funchal. The restaurant provided a nice choice for breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals from the a la carte menu. We used the games room (pool, table tennis, chess, darts etc) and the outdoor swimming pool. Everything was working and a pleasure to use. We wanted a quiet pleasant break and were delighted we chose this hotel - it provided us with much more than we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your review for the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you were pleased with our location, restaurant “A Morgadinha”, facilities and service. Thank you for mentioning these points.

It is true… we are the ideal spot for a quiet pleasant break – we are just very encouraged that you agree with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you need some more rest and relaxation!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This was our first visit to this hotel and we stayed for two weeks from the 29 Apr to !3 May .We had a delightful holiday ,the staff and the atmosphere in the hotel were the most friendly we have known and we would like to thank the staff for making our stay such a pleasant one .There are already a number of excellent write ups about this hotel and we would endorse all the good reports that have been written and look forward to returning for a further stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeves001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

We thank you very much for endorsing the good reports for the Quintinha de Sao Joao on Tripadvisor. We are very much aware of the importance of this and we are delighted that we have contributed in such a way to making your holiday “delightful” .

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I shall pass on the good news to the rest of the staff – you will return!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This was a very nice hotel, with very friendly and personal service.
Every question/request was answered, and all the suggestions the staff had regarding things to do (or not to do) turned out to be correct.
From the moment we booked the rooms, we experienced the service level this hotel offers.
Arriving at the hotel and checking in went very smooth, the staff parked our car in the incl secure parking, while we checked in. Location was very easy to find by car, when we followed the instruction sent to us by the hotel. It is not directly in the city center. But 10-15 min walk or less than €5 in taxi.
The hotel bar also offered the same level of friendly service.
Theres is a very nice and relatively big garden that help create a calm and quiet atmosphere.
The breakfast was very good and had something for every tast, and was also served by friendly and helpful staff.
There was 2 heated pools. 1 indoor and 1 outdoor, both heated. Again all was clean and well kept. The pool was a bit on the smaler side for swimming.
The spa was good, again the service level was good, and the prices low. €35 for an hours massage.
As you can see, we had a very good experience with this hotel, and have only good things to say about it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

It was a great pleasure to read your review on Tripadvisor and we thank you very much for taking the time and trouble on our behalf.

It is very useful to know that our instructions on how to reach us are correct and easily deciphered! We earnestly ask anybody having difficulty with these to let us know so that we may re-think them.

Your “Quintinha Experience” should start from your first contact with us, whether it may be through queries prior to your arrival or your first foot in the door. We are delighted that our service, facilities and restaurant have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was our second two week visit and was just as enjoyable as the first.The food was very good,especially the large spread breakfasts, and the bedroom was spacious with a balcony view over the well maintained gardens.There are two heated pools,one in the garden and one covered, at second floor level, with robes and towels provided. Rosie Borges,the Guest Relations manager is English but multilingual, and is extremely helpful in advising on what to see and do.There is a courtesy bus into Funchal (there and back) during the week. All the staff speak very good English and are very polite,friendly and professional.The public areas at all floor levels are well furnished, comfortable and quiet if you want to read.

Room Tip: All rooms have varying views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanCastleDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Just the fact that this was your second two week visit to the Quintinha de Sao Joao says it all! A double thank you - one for posting your review for us on Tripadvisor and the other for coming back to stay with us!

As we have said before, making sure that our guests feel at home is our number one priority and speaking your language enables us to enforce this further. Thank you for your kind words – they shall certainly be passed on to the staff.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your second holiday at the Quintinha and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £100 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing