We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Rate Hotel”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

For our first visit to Madeira we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff were always friendly, yet very professional in their dealings with guests.
Our room was of a good size with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The air-conditioning was certainly beneficial during our stay.
Breakfasts were excellent - a wide choice of cereals, fruit and bread as well as a full cooked meal.
The hotel has well maintained gardens with a small outdoor pool. It is next to quite a busy road (not visible from the hotel) making it somewhat noisy in the grounds during the day. However there was no problem getting to sleep at night.
Public rooms were comfortable & spacious. We loved to use the large(ish) indoor pool on returning from a day out and about.
I would certainly recommend this hotel & would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JRMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you very much for writing a review for the Quintinha de São João on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated.

We are delighted that your first experience of our wonderful island was a memorable and successful one and that you feel that you “couldn’t have chosen a better hotel”. This is so very encouraging and motivating for us.

We are also pleased to hear that our facilities, cuisine and service met with your expectations.

We look forward look to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

The staff were very helpful and attentive, and 'smiley' at all times. Service was excellent. our room was spacious, with a balcony, and was spotlessly clean. Everywhere that you encountered staff around the hotel, they were uniformly polite and friendly. Public areas were numerous and spacious with many comfortable seating areas dotted around, where guests could relax, ordering drinks and snacks from the bar, if required. The outside pool was most enjoyable, and the weather was so good that we didn't use the indoor one. There is a steep hill down to Funchal, and we tended to walk down and up during the day, and walk down for the evening, and take a taxi back, after a good meal. Taxis are very numerous and cheap- under 4 euros, I seem to remember. The hotel runs a minibus twice daily. Half of us had a very reasonable,and enjoyable manicure and pedicure in the spa. All in all, an excellent holiday. We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarjandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write a review for the Quintinha de São João - it is much appreciated.

It is hugely rewarding to read your comments and see that your experience of our hotel describes exactly what we are aiming for - convenient location to the "real" Funchal, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, excellent facilities and above all (a factor so important to us…), first class service. We are delighted that we have met with your expectations in all these points.

We are also glad that you made use of our spa facilities - perhaps next time you would like to experience one of our superb massages or a peeling treatment!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Quintinha de São João is a small boutique style hotel where the emphasis is on service. The staff really cannot do enough for you. For example my first night I only wanted a light meal so the head waiter had a chat with the chief who was kind enough to make me an omlette even though it was not on the menu.

And reception helped me see the best of the island in a short time. I can definately recommend this hotel.

My room was spacious and comfortable with a delightul outdoor balcony. But before you go, do make sure to get directions! It is VERY hard to find - and if you are driving form the airport there is no sign outsode the hotel as the small sign is only visible if you are comming from the marina!
(The features that I didn't use I ticked as "not sure")

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LazyJimbo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Firstly, may we thank you for submitting your review for the Quintinha de São João on Trip Advisor. Your contribution is much appreciated.

Secondly, we are delighted that our service exceeded your expectations. As we have stressed time and time again, personal but professional service is our number one priority and we are so very pleased to hear that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

Lastly, we are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding us. For anybody hiring a car from the airport, we have explicit directions of how to reach us by road. We thank you for drawing our attention to this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

transport to and from hotel - airport. Rosie, on courtesy desk, very knowledegable and helpful. Wonderful 'teas'.

Room Tip: all rooms have view and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alflutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Thank you very much for your comments and enthusiasm – we are delighted to hear that everything went according to plan and that our service was just what you were looking for.

We are very proud of our “Quintinha Tea” – Home-made scones and jam, freshly cut sandwiches, mouthwatering cake made each day by our pastry chef – all washed down by our wide selection of teas. What could be nicer?!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We chose this hotel hoping we would be staying in a small place providing a personal service and it certainly lived up to all our expectations. The hotel is well appointed with very comfortable rooms, a nice bar, lovely gardens, good food and above all friendly and helpful staff who really do make you feel at home.
If you want a big hotel with loud music at the pool/bar area and that 'all inclusive' factory service this is not the hotel for you.
It is a 15 min walk into Funchal town for bars, restaurants, shops and busses. The island bus service is very good for getting to great walking routes even up in the mountains.
We are already looking for dates to make a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuncanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Thank you for your time and effort in writing a review for the Quintinha de São João. Your final sentence says it all “We are already looking for dates to make a return visit”!

Apart from praising the hotel and staff (for which we are most grateful) we are also pleased to see you have added what we are not. It would be disappointing for those wishing for “factory service” to holiday at the Quintinha de São João! We pride ourselves on the fact that we cater for the individual at the highest possible level.

We too think that our location is ideal – ideally located for downtown Funchal but within easy access to the rest of this beautiful island!

We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you are able to manage the dates!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I used the hotel once again as my base for walking in Madeira and as always the staff were fantastic in helping me identify new walks, identifying the correct buses and timetables, cafes/bars etc
In addition as I happened to arrive when the flower festival was on the staff gave me tips on how to ensure that I saw all the events. No question is ever a problem and ALL the staff go out of their way to help in anyway that they can. It is such a pleasure visiting and on my next week I am hoping to bring my walking friends with me

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Langfords2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you so much for your support in writing a review on Trip Advisor for the Quintinha de São João - it is much appreciated. Also, the words "I used the hotel once again..." means that you have stayed here before, and this, together with the fact that you are planning a return visit with your friends is truly encouraging.

The Quintinha de São João is ideally positioned for guests wishing to walk Madeira's Levada channels. There is a range of excursions for all levels of walkers departing daily from the Hotel. We are always ready to help "decipher" the various bus timetables available and to give ideas for those with cars. We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide the information you required and you found our service to be up to its usual high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back... and, of course, your friends.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Yet another wonderful stay at this fabulous hotel. As per normal the staff couldn't do enough for us and we felt totally pampered & spoilt, which is what we consider holidays are all about. Madeira is a wonderful island with plenty to see, lots of wonderful walks and amazing plants, however it is really this hotel that we keep returning to the island for as it is just a wonderful place to relax. It did also help that the weather was extremely good to us, so not only were we looked after so well we also managed to get a sun tan to boot!
Thoroughly recommended - you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thank you very much for your heartwarming review on Tripadvisor. Your time, effort and support are very much appreciated.

When I personally read these reviews one particular point stays in my mind... our guests enjoy coming back to stay with us so we must be providing the service and ambiance that was always our goal - one of total rest and relaxation, good food, personal attention to detail and the right amount of pampering! Of course, we are very fortunate to be situated where we are and have this amazing island just waiting to be explored.

We look forward very much to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £102 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing