We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not 5 star”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“not 5 star”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

I know I am going to upset regulars who stay at this hotel but I really am bemused with all the good write ups. Firstly we only stayed the one night so this is a very limited review based mainly on our suite. It was large but extemley dated and in need of a serious refurb, from painting to furnishing the very sparse rooms. The bath was disgusting the worst I have ever seen from any star hotel. Thick black mold surrounded it there was no
way I was going to sit in it and if I had seen it on check in I would have asked for another room. $200 euros is a lot to pay for such poor facilitys. ripped chair in the bedroom and writing desk was the extent of furnishing in a very large room, no extra touches.
Cant comment on the restaurant as ate out, had a drink in the very small bar area, staff were pleasant enough and drinks reasonably priced, pianist needed a few lessons on how to play the piano though. Pool area nice but very small and could be a problem in the height of summer as had about a dozen beds for 43 rooms. I would rate this no more than a 3 star hotel, maybe I was unlucky with the suite given but in anycase they should not be letting out a room in such disrepair and charging such a high price for the pleasure. Love madeira but would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — mold around the bath
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

In addition, we have since rennovated our bathrooms and increased our facilities including a Spa, indoor pool, outdoor pool and gym.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    160
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
855
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killaloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Overall, we had a great stay at Quintinha Sao Joao. The rooms were very spacious, prices of mini-bar and the bar very reasonable, nice pool, beautiful gardens and an exceptional staff that was always helpful and friendly. Agreed with the comment that the Goan dinner was not quite what we were looking for in Portugal but they did have more local dishes if you like (just not their specialty), but it felt like a hotel restaurant rather than being a part of the local culture.

My two downsides would be that it was a bit noisy - this was mostly due to nearby construction that was very noisy, sometimes starting at 8 am and going until 6 pm, which disrupts the peace you're trying to get when laying lazily by the pool. Also, the location is very residential. There are no restaurants, shops or bars that are an easy walk to the hotel and though the walk to town is only 15 minutes or so, its with some very steep climbing on the way back that may not suit all, esp. when the footpaths just come and go. I wouldn't do that walk at night - its not a bad area or anything.......just residential (esp. if you have to worry about cars when there are no sidewalks). Fortunately, taxis are cheap and plentiful so the front desk was very accommodating helping with this.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mierman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I'm not going to write a long review as most points have been covered. Suffice to say that this is one of the best hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. What really sets it apart from all the other 5* hotels in Funchal is that it has a small and friendly feel, the prices are reasonable at the bar both for snacks and drinks (unlike the Cliff Bay !) and the location which is much nicer than the hotel zone. If you are planning on staying in Funchal and you can book it, look no further, stay at the Quintinha. If possible try to book a 1st/2nd/or 3rd room floor rather than the ground. Enjoy.......

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Welshhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We booked our honeymoon to Madeira hoping for a quiet, relaxed high quality holiday.......We were not disappointed!
We were bar far one of the youngest couples in this hotel (so if you want to mix with other youngsters and have a lively, booze filled holiday, this is not the place for you). The staff were so friendly, they could not do enough for you.
We found that we were better placed than had we picked a hotel at the Ledos where all of the other hotels were. It is only a short walk into Funchal Center, and an equaly short walk to the Ledos if you wish to check out the area housing many of the hotels.
The restaurant in the hotel is out of this world, the duck is well recommended, and if you're a chocolate lover you just have to have the hot chocolate pudding with icecream!
If you visit it is well worth booking a trip on the Sea Born for a dolphin and whale watching trip. There are a number of other options for this trip but the Sea Born is the fastest and the crew were unbelievabley friendly (especially when I suffered from a bout of sea sickness!).
The Rampa restaurant (towards the Ledos) is also well recommended, the best meal we had outside of the hotel! Be warey when eating out about extras served at the start of your meal, you will be charged for them! (This doesn't happen in the hotel restuarant).
All in all, we could not have wished for a better honeymoon, we are already planning our return trip!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank tikkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

This was our first time to Madeira and we wanted a very quiet place to stay.
We had high expectations about the place. Usually I like places in the city but my girlfriend specifically needed to rest and wanted to stay in a quiet place.
We were not lucky! The Quintinha is just close to a busy road. We had a garden level room with noisy people in front of my window.
It is smaller than you would imagine from the website pictures.
The restaurant Morghadinha was not my style as being in Madeira I expected a more typical place.
The problem is that we did not find it as peaceful as we needed and that was not pleasant at all.
If you go try not to have a room in the garden level.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank PSFTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

My wife and I had one night in Funchal between disembarking a cruise and flying on to Lisbon, and I relied on TripAdvisor reviews to help find a well-reviewed and reasonably priced hotel. Excellent result!
We had some vague directions from the car rental guy, but as we drove in the general direction he had pointed we saw a big sign on a building up on the hill saying "Sao Joao". Actually getting there was no mean feat, as I soon discovered that Funchal streets don't necessarily end up going the way they start out.
When we finally reached the "Sao Joao" hotel and drove in the long driveway, I was quite disappointed - the facility looked tired and somewhat institutional, and a tour bus had just disgorged a bunch of folks. But we were only spending a night, so I went to check in and showed the desk clerk my confirmation. Much to my delighted surprise, the clerk said "Sorry, but you want the Quintinha Sao Joao next door - this is the Hotel Sao Joao!"
What a difference!!! The Quintinha impressed us immediately, from the friendly greeting by not only the desk clerk but the guest manager as well, to the invitation to attend the manager's cocktail party in the early evening.
Our spacious suite was immaculate, with a small balcony looking out over the town towards the harbor. A bit too much greenery obscured some of the view, but the verdant gardens lent a very peaceful atmosphere.
The public areas are very filled with fine furnishings, lending the property the feeling of a tastefully decorated home. Fresh flowers are everywhere.
Following a long walk around Funchal, the relaxed and civilized atmosphere of the cocktail party, with background piano music, was just the treatment we needed to wind down. Later, we enjoyed an excellent Goanese curry dinner at the highly recommended hotel restaurant. The breakfast buffet offered a broad selection for almost every taste, including fresh orange juice.
A real benefit was free underground parking. There are also other facilities we did not use - a nice pool, a recreation room with billiards, and a spa/workout facility.
We could not have asked for a better place to stay for our overnight in Funchal. Next time we will stay for several days.

  • Liked — Virtually everything.
  • Disliked — Trees could be trimmed to improve view. A bit difficult to drive to.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank winetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Our first visit to Madeira, our first visit to Quintinha Sao Joao. It's hard to say which is the best feature ...the scenery of the Island or the level of service and standards set by this hotel. if you want loud noisy and brash ..find another hotel. If you want elegance, style, peace and tranquility with exceedingly friendly staff you're in the right place.

From the moment we were met at the reception desk, to the time we left a fortnight later, we were made to feel as though we were part of a big family.

So if you are considering this hotel ..what are you waiting for,I don't think you'll find many better. You certainly won't find any as friendly !!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank KRTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing