We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a Gem”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just got back from a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here. I cannot belive how lucky we were to fall on this hotel almost blind except for other Trip Advisor reviews. If you want lots of activity and places for the kids to run around and play then don't bother. If on the other hand you want a quiet, well appointed place to stay with attentive service and in the ideal location to get into the town then this is for you.
The staff here are the real highlight. they are helpful, friendly and really go out ofthier way to make sure that you have a good holiday. The common areas and rooms are all well appointed and in good conditiion. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the town maybe a bit longer if you are a bit slower on the old legs. its don hill most of the way - but not to the point that its too much of a chore getting out or back. Whilt you might think that there are closer options to consider you have to consider that the Lido end of Funchal is a multi-floor hotel infested dump that I would not inflict on my worst enemy and the old town whilst delightful is busy through to the late evening which will not suit those after an early night.

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite which was well appointed and seemd good Value. i was on the fist floor and to...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your time, effort and support.

It is a delight to read your comments and I will personally convey your eulogy to the staff at our next meeting If they have contributed to the success of you holiday, then we are well satisfied.

As for our location... I couldn't agree with you more - if you would like to live a truly Madeiran experience, Quintinha is just the place - in every way.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
There are newer reviews for Quintinha Sao Joao
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

I suspect the main problem re this truly marvellous place is that the hotel you visit next will be an assured anti-climax.It is as good as it looks on the box - the staff are consummate professionals,polite,friendly,efficient and obviously enjoy their work (I don't know how much they are paying the Maitre D' but he is worth every Euro); the grounds and gardens are beautiful;the food top class,and the whole ambience is one of charm and charisma.Heaven know how much a comparable hotel would cost in a major city like London or Paris.
The gym was excellent (not the usual rusty dumbells behind locked doors),as was the roof pool.
Re the restaurant,my wife and myself ate there 5 of our 7 nights and really enjoyed the option on our bed and breakfast package of selecting either the Table D'hote or the A La Carte menus providing we pre-booked earlier the same day.
Rooms are bright and spacious and overall housekeeping is immaculate.Drinks are laughably reasonable too especially during the 1830-1930 hrs 'Happy Hour' (4 beers,3 cocktails - 9 Euros !!).
I could go on and on.The hotel is simply superb.
A minor gripe ? The noisy neighbourhood dogs of a night interrupted our sleep a few times (as mentioned on a previous review).But that's being churlish,and ,as a result if it were to lower my overall score down from 100 to 99% then then its still light years ahead of any other hotel my wife and myself,well travelled,have been to.
I doff my cap to you,Quintinha Sao Joao,you are brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scouser42Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

How does one respond to these wonderful words of praise? Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor.

We are overwhelmed by your support and enthusiasm and your comments have been posted on the wall of the staff room for all too see.

Most importantly, however, is our delight and happiness that your had a wonderful holiday at the Quintinha and that you have gone away with such fond memories. This is our ultimate objective and are immensely satisfied that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

it has taken some time for us to prepare this review, simply because it was so memorable. We have been extremly busy on our return but have been able to carry out all of our work because of the outstanding and beautiful care of everyone at this WOW hotel. The staff care so much and nothing was ever too much trouble, they also had the ability to show genuine care and interest in what you were doing. We never felt rushed in any area of the hotel and if you wanted to talk to the staff they were willing to spend time with you. The hotel itself is spotless and the food is designed to help you to expand your waistline if you so with. However the brisk walk down through the town, helps to keep the excess kilo's at bay. The area is nice too, and the facilities at the hotel encourage relaxation, the spa is a brilliant way to relax and forget any and all distracting thoughts. The hotel is small enough to provide a real sense of homliness, while at the same time providing all you are ever likly to need.

If you are thinking of heading somewhere for total relaxation, but woth the added option to do lot's as you wish, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheffexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you very much for finding time in your busy schedule to write such an uplifting review of the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor. I especially like the way you describe us as a “WOW hotel”! This is a new one on us but a phrase that has made us smile broadly.

You are right, of course, our staff do care very much and above all take genuine interest in making sure you have everything you need to ensure a great holiday. We are so pleased that this is in evidence.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel from 7th to 14th May on a Thomson holiday.

The hotel is fifteen minutes walk from Funchal town centre - not that you’d know it because the hotel is peaceful and has well maintained gardens

We were warmly welcomed by the polite, friendly and efficient reception staff (who couldn‘t do enough for us during our stay). We quickly noticed the plush (opulent even) public areas with their comfy chairs and antique furniture.

Our room was spacious, well decorated and extremely comfortable. There was a small living area separated from the sleeping area by a low divider. The room was immaculately cleaned as was the large bathroom with its big fluffy towels. Bathrobes were supplied.

The relaxing Vasco de Gama bar was run by charming and efficient bar staff. While we were there it was warm enough in the evenings for us to take our drinks on the terrace. A real delight watching the lights of Funchal come on as nightfall approached.

We booked half board and this was possibly a mistake. Don’t get me wrong, the restaurant was very good but it lacked character and ambience. Dining in a five star hotel should be something of an occasion and it wasn’t. The food was good but lacked inspiration. Indeed, the best food all week was served when the management took us out for the night (a wedding party had booked the restaurant and bar). Hearty soup and steak to get your teeth into. I thoroughly enjoyed this evening out - it was a real treat (although the gilt was taken off slightly by extremely noisy music continuing until well past 1.30am).

Would I go back? Of course!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeljohnmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

What a lovely way to describe the “Quintinha de São João”... “A Gem of a Hotel”! Thank you for your support in writing a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff – I have passed them on with the greatest of pleasure.

We are at the moment updating our à la carte menu and will take into account your comments.

It is lovely to see that we shall have the pleasure of your company on a future visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Lovely hotel and staff are friendly but they did struggle with offering me proper alternatives to the meat & fish dishes (which my husband enjoyed alot) - I think the chef (who apparently worked in London for several years) needs to address this and management should offer a dedicated menu for vegetarians and not expect us to "make it up as we go along" to help them out! We had wondeful weather and walked into Funchal most days but beware, the hills are steep! The hotel hosted a wedding on the Saturday which we (and our Thomson rep) knew nothing about, the hotel took us by coach to another Quinta for a meal and they included wine (once again i was given a meal, no choice - this time it was a crepe with runner beans in it!!). Unfortunately the weddinh dragged on into the early hours and we were kept awake until almost 3am once guests & staff had gone,. this hotel is too smallto host an event and cater for its guests adequately. So, if you don't have specific dietary needs choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are OK there and are well furnished but one looking onto garden is best
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue612Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.

We are sorry that our vegetarian options did not meet with your expectations. We try as hard as possible to please our guests in every way and this was the reason behind asking what you would like us to prepare for you as the alternative to meat or fish on our half board menu, together with a free choice of the vegetarian options from our à la carte menu. We are, however, updating our à la carte menu and will certainly look to offering more vegetarian dishes.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had an enjoyable week at this lovely hotel in April. We chose it after reading the good reviews of it on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located in a suburban area some 10 minutes walk (downhill) to the Quinta Vigia gardens, overlooking the cruise ships in the marina. We often took a taxi back to the hotel as the fare was only 5 euro. Our room on the second floor was spacious and spotlessly clean but the view from the balcony was a little restricted and being next to road, a tad noisy. The facilities in the room were as one would expect - a separate shower would have been preferable. The best feature of the hotel was the friendly, helpful and efficient staff. They were always ready to help out with any problems we had. The bar area was particularly attractive as it opened out on to a lovely terrace where they served delicious tea and scones!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden, away from the road will be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iveltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for choosing the Quintinha de São João for your stay in Madeira and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your week with us and are so pleased that you found the facilities to your liking. I shall pass on your lovely comments to the staff – it is true, nothing is too much trouble for us.

We are glad that you took the opportunity of sampling our tea and scones on the terrace – everything is homemade including the jams.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel over the Easter weekend and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for an individual hotel with superb customer service. The staff were friendly and very helpful, spending a great deal of time suggesting places to visit and printing off maps and timetables for us. The facilities were excellent including indoor and outdoor pools. A special meal was prepared for Easter Sunday which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bar has a good range of drinks and snacks and we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the costs were for these. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Funchal and will stay there again ourselves when we visit Madeira in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We are delighted that your first visit to our hotel met with your approval, and thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

Our aim is to make our guests feel special and we love to have the opportunity to share our enthusiasm for our island with you. Easter is a wonderful time of the year here and we are pleased that you enjoyed our special meal to celebrate the event.

We thank you for recommending the Quintinha to anyone visiting Funchal and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £103 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing