We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy hotel with a difference - we loved it”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A classy hotel with a difference – we loved it”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Quintinha is a relatively small hotel that positively glows with friendly and very personal service. We’ve enjoyed plenty of the larger modern hotels (and will again) and welcomed the different experience of what has to be one of the most relaxing hotels we have stayed at.

The hotel has a colonial feel to it but with all mod cons. We had a suite that was spacious and gave us all that we wanted to make our stay a special one. Star of the show however has to be the staff – the people in reception cannot do enough for you, a real 5 star performance.

Okay the outdoor pool may not be Olympic size etc but we loved the gardens and the relaxed, laid back feel to the place – with all that Funchal and the Lido have to offer on your doorstep.

Top tip: take advice from the staff about where to eat and if you enjoy the great outdoors then take your walking shoes with you – the mountain walks are truly amazing and so accessible.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. Your support is much appreciated.

I am particularly pleased with your comments regarding our staff and I shall mention your words at our next meeting. They will be delighted to hear that they are the “star of the show”!

Madeira has something to suit all tastes and we are glad that your experience of our little corner of Paradise has been a welcome difference.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future for another relaxing holiday.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    171
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
880
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We returned to the hotel after a truly relaxing and enjoyable visit in 2011. The hotel is very welcoming, the food excellent and all the staff cannot do enough to help you. The bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There are two good swimming pools and the spa is a welcome option. The breakfasts are outstanding with a very wide choice, lunch by the pool is very enjoyable and the A la Carte meals in the restaurant are delicious .

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and garden view on the1st, 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen2012841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, we are delighted that you returned to stay with us after your enjoyable and relaxing experience the previous year. The fact that you have returned to the Quintinha says it all!

We are also glad that you have found our breakfasts to be “outstanding” and that our other meal options and facilities met with your approval.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have just returned from 10 day stay at this hotel on a B&B basis and would highly recommend for couples who want a quiet quality hotel stay.The staff were all very helpful and would go out of thier way to make sure your stay was comfortable,the rooms were spacious and clean and had everything we needed.the breakfast service was excellent with a large choice of cold and hot foods to accomidate all.Beautiful well maintained gardens surround the hotel which made an idealic relaxing stay.
Thank you Quintinha Sao Joao for our 5 star stay

Room Tip: ask for rooms on first or second floor facing gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are most motivating and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed a “5 star stay”. This is so very important to everybody working at the hotel and honestly, we will do as much as possible to make you feel welcome and pampered. We are delighted to hear that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

It is clear that you returned home relaxed and contented after your stay and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

we spent the first week of September at the Soa Joao, check in was efficient but reception smelt of fumes coming from a rear extractor fan.Room was large and pleasant but lacked those little extras you usually have in a " five star" hotel, no flowers,no fruit, no complimentary bottle of water etc.
The dinning room lacked character and it was obvious that there were staffing issues here, we also experienced problems with eggs either arriving over or under cooked, poached eggs sitting in a pool of water and full cooked breakfast looking and tasting unappetizing.
Outside pool is small and not much use for less confident swimmers as it doesn't graduate in depth. pool area uninteresting but staff serving drinks, lunch and snacks are very polite.
If you want to feel special and receive five star service and attention dinner at the Fort restaurant is a must,arranged by Rosie at 38 Euros per person fantastic value for a fantastic evening,(including excellent food and wine!!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norm88400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the services of several of our staff but sorry that you felt there were “issues” in the dining room which, of course, I shall be looking into.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

my husband and i visited this htel for a week in aug.we fortunate that this was our 3rd hol this year and the ne i was loking forward to the most.
we were given a warm welcome from reception and after a wait was shown to to our room . the room was large and clean but lacked a lot of 5 star add ons. eg kettle ,ipod docking ect.
the pool in my opinion was a very grim area. its a smallpool set on a sloop were you spend all day sliding down your sun bed .the staff there were great though. there was a roof top one which was nice but to hot to sit in.
we were half board but the food was poor. breakfast was the same every day, one day i was given a omlette raw in the middle. evening meals were of a standard, no matter what i ordered i got the wrong thing. in in the end i just ate what i was given. but again the staff were great.a
in my opinion if you are looking for a hotel on b&b and dont want to sit by the pool this is for you.if not look else were.we also met some lovely guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank motty14562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We are sorry to read your comments but are pleased that you received a warm welcome from our Reception upon your arrival.

We do not advertise facilities we do not offer and have never contemplated ipod docking facilities although our suites now have coffee machines. Depending of the popularity of this service, we are looking at the possibility of making them a general feature.

As previously stated, guests do not have to frequent the far side of the pool in order to enjoy the sun. There are plenty of sun beds in the garden area and the near side of the pool.

I beg to differ regarding the fact that our breakfast is the same each day. Our buffet offers a large range of fresh fruit, cold meats and smoked salmon, cheeses, cereals, choice of bread, dried fruits, juices, sparkling wine etc. Items are added or substituted on a daily basis but as far as the cooked selection is concerned it is all made to order: bacon, eggs (cooked in many different ways), mushrooms, tomatoes, sausages, beans etc. We are sorry, however, that you were dissatisfied.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from a week in this beautiful, quaint little hotel. From arrival to departure the staff were friendly, attentive, helpful and obliging. The reception staff were excellent in recommending restaurants to try, helpful as there are a lot to choose from!!! The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and attentive, food in the restaurant both for breakfast and evening meal was excellent.
The rooms are extremely spacious with a separate seating area. Very comfortable and well equipt. The pool is small but with it being such a small hotel with was not a problem, especially as there are actually 2, one in the gardens and the other enclosed on the roof top.
All in all we had one of the best relaxing holidays we've had. I don't think I would recommend this hotel to families it's more suited to couples.
If you have a disability, check out the facilities first as it may not be suitable. Better than arriving and then spending evenings putting other holidaymakers off their drinks with loud moaning like the lady who commented below!!!!
This is a beautiful, well run, friendly hotel. I highly recommend it and will hopefully return soon.

Room Tip: We had a garden view with balcony which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the trouble to post them on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that the Quintinha, its staff, cuisine and facilities have come up to your expectations - it was a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you also for saying that you would recommend our hotel – this is most heartening.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for 14nights at this quaint hotel it is rated as 5 star but we found it did not live up to a 5 star after having stayed in many 5 star hotels The room was big and spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens and terrace. but the bathroom was not ideal with the shower being over the bath, as the bath was very deep and with having mobility problems it was not ideal, but Rosie brought us a stool so could step into the bath. We stayed half board table de horte but wanted to eat out some nights and wanted to have lunch by the pool we were told that we could only do this 3 times in our 14night stay which was not ideal so we lost money on the nights we went out. We thought that we had the option but apparantly not. The pool was not up to standard it had no slope to get in only steep steps . The garden is on a slope so you kept sliding down the sunbeds thats after you stepped over stepping stones to get across the pool. . The terrace is lovely where you can have happy hour before going to dinner or going out. I suggest that you go bed and breakfast only and then you can please yourself wheather you eat at the hotel or not take a kettle as there is not one in the room but if you ask they will do their best to get you one We had tea at reids palace which is a must do yes its expensive but its an expereince you will not forget. Also recommend the Maderian night its worth the money. . Taxis are very cheap and plentiful so if you dont fancy the steep walk back up the hill get a taxi. The prices at the hotel bar and poolside are very reasonable. The staff are 5star pleasant helpful and polite. could not say the same for the mosquitos.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise keep away from coridoor rooms beside reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not find that the Quintinha São João lived up to your expectations. We are, however, delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff.

If you will permit me, I would like to comment on some of the points you have raised.

We had no information prior to your arrival regarding your husband’s limitations. As soon as this was brought to our attention, we did everything possible to try to resolve the problem with the bathroom and Rosie actually provided that very day after going to her home to collect it, a bath seat (not a step) which goes from one side of the bath to the other, to enable easier bathing. We do not advertise separate showers and all our rooms have attachments over the bath with the exception of our Junior Suites.

We advertise our Half Board arrangements as breakfast and dinner. Our restaurant is not open at lunchtime and only light meals are served at the pool bar and we do not advertise anywhere that guests on Half Board have the option of either lunch or dinner. As you say, we did make some exceptions in your case but these were exceptions. Our Half Board menu changes every day and has a good variety of dishes. We have several choices available regarding pre-booked meal options and many guests staying for 14 nights book 7 nights on bed and breakfast and 7 nights on half board or even 3 or 5 nights on half board during the duration of their holiday. We are, in fact, flexible and are sorry that you had not been made aware of these alternatives at the time of booking.

Entrance to both our swimming pools is by means of a ladder and it has always been thus. To reach the far side of the outside pool sunbathing area, there is access through the garden, along the corridor of the Spa or over the “paddles” (which are mainly there for aesthetic reasons.) There is, however, the near side of the pool which is completely flat, offering sun beds and comfortable chairs, together with the rest of our lovely garden which also has beds and hammocks available.

Yours sincerely

André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing