We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with truly delightful staff”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have been visiting this beautiful hotel for some years now and it truly beautiful with the most wonderful, welcoming, warm staff.

The hotel is spotless and the recently refurbished bedrooms are light, bright & spacious.

The staff work tirelessly to make you feel welcome and at home and they succeed-it really does feel like your home in Madeira

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

It is with delight that I read your review on TripAdvisor and, on behalf of all of us, thank you for your continuing support and frequent visits!

I shall certainly pass on your comments to our staff and we are pleased that you have enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms. We feel it is most important to move with the times and therefore we like to invest as much as possible in maintaining our high standards both from the point of view of staff and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit very much.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is a little gem in every respect. Not only is it a very well presented hotel but all the staff cannot be more helpful whether giving general information to organising trips around the island which includes an English speaking driver. If you just want to relax, this hotel is for you. If you want to use the hotel as a base to explore the island then that is fine too. This is a hotel which we will happily return to and happily look forward to our next visit.
Martin and Carol Watkins, Wilmslow, Cheshire

Room Tip: Our room was 107 which boasted a view over the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WatkinsSK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Mr. and Watkins,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for calling us a little gem! It sounds so nice. We are delighted that you found our staff helpful – it is something I have said before but I think it is worth mentioning again – we all so want you to get the utmost from your holiday and it is a pleasure to help you do just that.

We agree with you when you say that the Quintinha caters for all your requirements. If you wish to explore our wonderful island, everything is on hand. If you just wish to relax, that is just fine too.

We too look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were put in room 002 first, right next to restaurant and on the ground floor, looking out onto a wall.
The noise during restaurant opening times was none stop.

We asked to be move and were offered room 007 which was terribly dark because of the big wall next to the patio. We rejected this room too.

Finally on day 5 of 7 day holiday we were moved to the next floor. Room 111 was quiet and bright.

The hotel has a small garden and no views to speak off. Its got the Four Views Baia Hotel in front of it which has stunning views over Funchal bay.

Restaurant is overpriced and limited in choice. We were B&B only and noticed that they actully cut their fresh fruit up at breakfast so that you cant take it out of the restaurant! Even the bananas were cut in half.

Charging for putting your things in the minibar fridge in your room is also very petty.

The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, the hotel itself is dated, the gardens are overgrown with huge trees trying to shield the view from the Four Views Baia, the pool is not heated. We were very disappointed in the hotel.

We did love Madeira and are planning to return in the next month or so.

Its always difficult to judge hotels and write reviews like this one. We do have extensive knowledge of hotels having travelled the world several times. Our preferred hotels are Raffles Singapore, Shangri La Bangkok, Hong Kong, Singapore and Sentosa to name a few.

Many people love this hotel and write positive reviews, thats why we stayed. Its just not for us.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, particularly room 002 and 007.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Room choice is a question of taste and preference. We do, in fact, have guests requesting ground floor rooms because they like the terrace and the feeling that they are in the middle of a tropical garden. As I said, this is very much up to the individual. However, all our rooms are equally as spacious.

The Quintinha (happily) has been enjoying a full occupancy but the downside is that however much we wish to move guests to a room of their choice, it is not always possible. We would like to point out that we did upgrade you to one of our Junior Suites for the last few days of your holiday and would have indeed changed your room prior to this had one been available.

We beg to differ regarding our views over the bay of Funchal – sitting on our Vasco da Gama terrace affords the most wonderful vista.

The reason why we cut up our fruit in the morning for breakfast is because we wish to save our guests the trouble of doing this themselves. We can’t imagine leaving pieces of fruit unprepared on our buffet table and it certainly has nothing to do with the idea that somebody might just take it with them for use at a later hour! The thought never occurred to us!

We advertise a mini bar and not a ‘fridge. This is the reason we charge the nominal fee of 5 Euros for the entire stay should guests wish to stock it themselves.

We are glad that you found our staff friendly and the rooms clean. We have, in fact recently refurbished the hotel and changed all the soft furnishings in the bedrooms.

We wouldn’t dream of comparing ourselves to the big hotels – we are a Quinta and our concept is quite unique.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is our favourite hotel in Madeira. Reception staff were very warm and welcoming as usual & arranged the room we had requested. Bar staff were friendly and helpful and kept a watchful eye on all guests to ensure they had what they wished (quickly). We stayed half-board & Restaurant staff were as helpful & friendly as we remember from previous visits. The menu & presentation of food was excellent. The roomsat the hotel are large and beautifully decorated. Hope to return soon. Rose & Chris Gradwell.

Room Tip: Use first floor overlooking gardens. Haven't stayed on ground floor but other guests were less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosejupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Gradwell,

It was simply delightful to see you back at the Quintinha de São João earlier this month. We were so pleased to meet up with you again and thank you for your preference.

Thank you also very much for your kind support and for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your words regarding our staff are much appreciated – I shall be certain to pass them on.

You were indeed very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week b&b. Breakfast had a good selection, staff were lovely and our junior suite was huge!
It was our anniversary whilst we were there and we found a lovely cake and sparkling wine in our room when we came back from dinner. Sadly we were too full to enjoy it that evening, but it was very much enjoyed the following day! A lovely touch.
The location was ok, fairly near the old town, but a slog uphill coming back. The pool outdoors was very small but it was nice after a hot day out. We ate in the restaurant twice. The seafood risotto was delicious! The prawn curry was good too but a bit hot for me.
I'd stay here again. It's a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor.

We are honoured that you chose our hotel in which to celebrate your wedding anniversary and are delighted that you enjoyed our token present.

The most important sentence for us, however, is “I’d stay here again”.. we look forward very much to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Four of us stayed for one week on B&B terms allowing the flexibility to eat in or out. Sao Joao is an extremely well run hotel. I really cannot think of any aspect to criticize and hope to return in the near future. Thoroughly recommend. Visitors are advised to make use of the extensive local knowledge of the reception staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0bbritt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Many thanks for your recommendation and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to have been or service to you and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the local knowledge of our reception staff. We love our island and so want you to do the same. Obviously it is not always easy to make recommendations but we would only suggest that you visit places we would enjoy ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Quintinha is a relatively small hotel that positively glows with friendly and very personal service. We’ve enjoyed plenty of the larger modern hotels (and will again) and welcomed the different experience of what has to be one of the most relaxing hotels we have stayed at.

The hotel has a colonial feel to it but with all mod cons. We had a suite that was spacious and gave us all that we wanted to make our stay a special one. Star of the show however has to be the staff – the people in reception cannot do enough for you, a real 5 star performance.

Okay the outdoor pool may not be Olympic size etc but we loved the gardens and the relaxed, laid back feel to the place – with all that Funchal and the Lido have to offer on your doorstep.

Top tip: take advice from the staff about where to eat and if you enjoy the great outdoors then take your walking shoes with you – the mountain walks are truly amazing and so accessible.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. Your support is much appreciated.

I am particularly pleased with your comments regarding our staff and I shall mention your words at our next meeting. They will be delighted to hear that they are the “star of the show”!

Madeira has something to suit all tastes and we are glad that your experience of our little corner of Paradise has been a welcome difference.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future for another relaxing holiday.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £97 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing