We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Although the building work over the road continues the hotel management have tried to minimise noise disturbance by giving rooms away from that side. We heard no noise at all from our room or from the bar/lounge areas. We didnt use the pool or sit outside during the day so it is possible the noise would be heard there, but from our point of view it was quiet and peaceful. The staff were very attentive and helpful in planning trips, giving bus timetables and altering menus to suit us. We ate in twice during our stay and the food was very good.
The hotel was an easy stroll down to the main town and we used the plentiful buses rather than taxis, to get about further.
A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matilda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

We do, however, thank you very much for your kind comments and are so pleased to see that your holiday was not disrupted too much by the works.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity of showing you our new facilities.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Quintinha Sao Joao
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2008

I can only re-iterate the other comments from January 2008. The noise from the building work from the next door hotel was totally unacceptable. You really could not get away from it ANYWHERE in the hotel. There were some lovely gardens and seating areas to eat or drink outside or by the pool-the weather was lovely for January but all to no avail as you simply had to leave the hotel after breakfast and stay away till dark!
The best day off the hoilday was Sunday when we could finally relax by the pool , have lunch, a drink and a swim and look forward to coming home on the Monday.
It was our first visit to Madeira and we loved the island, and the January sun but would not return to this hotel. I feel we should have been warned by the agents 'First Choice'. We registered a complaint with the very helpful rep and also wrote to First Choice immediately on our return on 14th January but as yet have had no reply. The location of the hotel wasn't ideal, though our room was lovely and the staff and service very good.All in all a disappointing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank rary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

Have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and our experience is that the place is lovely and the staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. However, we would reiterate the most recent comments regarding the continuous noise generated because of the construction works taking place opposite the hotel. We endured loud drilling from 9am (sometimes earlier) until after 6pm (when it went dark) for six days of the seven we were there. This made it impossible to sit out on the balcony, by the pool or in the garden without being driven mad by the noise.

There is an official sign at the entrance to the construction site which states that the work is due for completion in October 2008, so we can only advise that anyone considering booking should check direct with the hotel about how noisy it might be on their chosen dates, so they can at least make an informed choice. We understand that it is no fault of the Sao Joao that there are major construction works in such close proximity to them (this happens regularly all over the place), but our stay was certainly blighted by this.

We would consider staying here again - but only once all these works have been completed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dorissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

We would be delighted if you would considered another holiday here and would love to show you our new facilities. Our staff, however, remain much the same.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I was relieved to read the most recent review as we were disappointed with the hotel. Firstly I could not recommend this place for a relaxing break. The building work next door is a real problem so you cannot sit out on your balcony or by the pool. Road noise is also a problem. We booked this hotel because the outdoor pool was supposed to be heated. It did post signs that it was heated to 25c but this was just not the case. We gave up after a couple of days of being frozen solid. When planning this break I knew I had to do some work when away but was rather dismayed on arrival to see that the in-room Wi-Fi service was unavailable. Less than an hours use of the internet downstairs cost me over E15! Service in the hotel was fine but nothing really outstanding. I know a lot of people really like this hotel but really we can not say that we did. It is certainly overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank IrishDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

I know I am going to upset regulars who stay at this hotel but I really am bemused with all the good write ups. Firstly we only stayed the one night so this is a very limited review based mainly on our suite. It was large but extemley dated and in need of a serious refurb, from painting to furnishing the very sparse rooms. The bath was disgusting the worst I have ever seen from any star hotel. Thick black mold surrounded it there was no
way I was going to sit in it and if I had seen it on check in I would have asked for another room. $200 euros is a lot to pay for such poor facilitys. ripped chair in the bedroom and writing desk was the extent of furnishing in a very large room, no extra touches.
Cant comment on the restaurant as ate out, had a drink in the very small bar area, staff were pleasant enough and drinks reasonably priced, pianist needed a few lessons on how to play the piano though. Pool area nice but very small and could be a problem in the height of summer as had about a dozen beds for 43 rooms. I would rate this no more than a 3 star hotel, maybe I was unlucky with the suite given but in anycase they should not be letting out a room in such disrepair and charging such a high price for the pleasure. Love madeira but would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

In addition, we have since rennovated our bathrooms and increased our facilities including a Spa, indoor pool, outdoor pool and gym.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Overall, we had a great stay at Quintinha Sao Joao. The rooms were very spacious, prices of mini-bar and the bar very reasonable, nice pool, beautiful gardens and an exceptional staff that was always helpful and friendly. Agreed with the comment that the Goan dinner was not quite what we were looking for in Portugal but they did have more local dishes if you like (just not their specialty), but it felt like a hotel restaurant rather than being a part of the local culture.

My two downsides would be that it was a bit noisy - this was mostly due to nearby construction that was very noisy, sometimes starting at 8 am and going until 6 pm, which disrupts the peace you're trying to get when laying lazily by the pool. Also, the location is very residential. There are no restaurants, shops or bars that are an easy walk to the hotel and though the walk to town is only 15 minutes or so, its with some very steep climbing on the way back that may not suit all, esp. when the footpaths just come and go. I wouldn't do that walk at night - its not a bad area or anything.......just residential (esp. if you have to worry about cars when there are no sidewalks). Fortunately, taxis are cheap and plentiful so the front desk was very accommodating helping with this.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mierman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We would like to put the record straight regarding the poor reviews on TripAdvisor during 2008.

The hotel next door to our Quintinha was experiencing a major refurbishment and subsequently caused us (and our guests) much inconvenience for about 18 months.

We are pleased to say that all work has been fully completed and calm and tranquility has been restored to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I'm not going to write a long review as most points have been covered. Suffice to say that this is one of the best hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. What really sets it apart from all the other 5* hotels in Funchal is that it has a small and friendly feel, the prices are reasonable at the bar both for snacks and drinks (unlike the Cliff Bay !) and the location which is much nicer than the hotel zone. If you are planning on staying in Funchal and you can book it, look no further, stay at the Quintinha. If possible try to book a 1st/2nd/or 3rd room floor rather than the ground. Enjoy.......

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Welshhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £102 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing