We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in hilly location”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is beautifully furnished and the staff are a delight, always friendly and helpful. The ambience is quiet and the rooms are kept very clean. The gardens are beautiful and a credit to the gardeners that maintain them. The area around the outside pool is quite small with 20 loungers, the indoor pool is warm and very well maintained. Happy Hour at 6.30pm is a must to get to know other guests! The Manager's cocktail party was a nice gesture albeit we never saw the manager at all during our stay.

We stayed bed and breakfast but ate in the hotel 3 times but felt the menu may be rather limited if you were to eat there every night. As a previous reviewer has commented the 'Fish Night' was not a success for a lot of the guests. We were not informed when we booked a table and were more than a little surprised especially as my husband does not eat fish. Fortunately, it was soon remedied and we were offered the a la carte menu. Better communication to guests perhaps through information sheets on the breakfast tables would be really useful especially about events taking place in the hotel such as the wine tasting.

The 8-seater courtesy bus goes into Funchal at 10am & 2.30pm with returns at 12noon and 5.30pm, Monday to Friday; we found the times a bit restrictive and only used it once. Anyone with reduced mobility may need to use taxis as the location is very hilly. There are no local bars or shops in the area around the hotel. Everything is down hill.
We noticed there were a number of barking dogs at properties very close to the hotel, some left out at night, which could cause a nuisance although we appreciate it is difficult for the hotel to address this issue unless the dog owners are prepared to be co-operative.

If you want a well serviced hotel with personal service and individual style then this hotel will suit you well.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the garden and the original quinta are quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Quintinha São João and appreciate your time and effort in sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you found our facilities, ambiance and staff to your liking. We do pride ourselves in our 1 hectare garden and sub-tropical vegetation.

I would like to apologise for not meeting you during your stay. I have myself been away from the island and this is the reason I did not attend the weekly cocktail party. I most certainly hope that we will meet on a future occasion.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the delivery of information – I am looking into this at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Excellent Staff very helpful, room spacious. Small but beautiful gardens the flowers were so delightful. Food was good although I think when staying half board a little change in menu midweek would be a good idea. The only downfall was the Fish night!! which we hadn't been made aware of, not a good idea! the starter that night a green salad was very poor lettuce a little red pepper and a small amount of mayonnaise, very poor. But it wouldn't stop me from returning, we thought it was the best Hotel we have stayed in!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found us the best hotel you have stayed in! Your comments are most appreciated and I shall circulate them to the rest of our staff – they will find them most motivating.

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our fish night – we go to immense trouble to try to vary things for our guests and our Chef visits the market for the best possible produce on these mornings so we can assure you that there is no fresher.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed a week at this lovely hotel The ambiance was quiet and calm and the room was comfortable , quiet and spotless. The staff were always friendly and helpful especially when I had to attend the hospital due to a fall.
Facilities and food were good. A gem of a find. We shall return! Thanks to all the staff at Quintinha Sao Joao.
Linda Lewis

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Lewis,

This is a marvellous feed-back regarding your stay with us at the Quintinha São João!

We are so sorry that you had a fall and hope that it didn’t spoil your holiday. The entire staff of the hotel thanks you for your comments on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you found us a “gem”.

We hope to see you back soon at your Madeiran home,

Yours sincerely

André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent the first week in may here. The hotel was lovely though the gardens were'nt as big as we thought from the pictures. The staff are all friendly helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a great laugh with the restaurant team! The only downside to the hotel was the menu. We stayed half board and it did get very repetative.
We had exactly the holiday we wanted, quiet grown ups hotel, no kids a really lovely time. Maderia is beautiful and we hope very much to go back. The hotel? Most certainly this one!
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor. Your time and effort are much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had exactly the holiday you wanted and that you will be returning to us on your next visit to Madeira.

We are sorry that you found our restaurant menu repetitive. In accordance with popular demand, we have placed our à la carte menu at the complete disposal of our guests on half board so that they may sample our Goan cuisine, vegetarian options and all our chef’s specialities. We also hold a surf or turf night, alternating each Wednesday.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff – nothing is ever too much trouble.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We made a return visit to the Quintinha Sao Joa after a number of years and were very impressed with the facilities; the pools, the large bedroom and balcony overlooking the garden, the ever helpful staff and the quiet atmosphere. Just as I remembered!

It was also interesting to discover how many of the other guests had been before and a tour event organiser we met remarked that she believed 'most of the guests she met were returnees or word of mouth recommended'.

Part of the attraction lies in its location, far enough out of the town for a pleasant walk but not in the ugly ribbon developed jungle of hotels on Funchal's west side.

Overall an excellent stay, why aren't all hotels like this?

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the well tended garden - couldn't be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We are delighted that you returned to see us again – thank you so much! We also appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and are so pleased to hear that our hotel (and probably most of the staff!) are just as you remembered.

We are very fortunate in that our guests do come back and see us and also suggest the Quintinha to their friends and family – excellent Ambassadors!

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be before long.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights on a bed & breakfast basis. Our room was delightful(#106) with a lovely view of the well tended gardens. The staff are very helpful, although we got the impression that they were more inclined to communicate with us if we approached them. The selection of food for breakfast was wide, hot & cold, the service was efficient. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, although the menu looked appetising, as we felt that the atmosphere would probably be a bit subdued for us (I think that this is the environment that the hotel tends seems to be aiming at & although it creates a very peaceful & relaxed environment, it was probably a bit too laid back for us).

Having said that, the only real criticism's that I had was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which I raised with the manager at the weekly cocktail party that the hotel lays on & he said that there was a reason for this, but never told me what it was !
The only other minor problem that I would raise, is that you are not able to keep your own drinks in the mini bar.

So if you are looking for a quality hotel with lovely rooms in a peaceful environment, with helpful staff, then this is the place for you. However, if you want a bit more going on, then probably not.

I should just finish by awarding particular praise to the girls on reception, who always had a beautiful smile on their faces, a cheery hello & really couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: As I said we were in room 106, which was on the first floor & had a balcony overlooking the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much indeed for submitting your review to TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience of the Quintinha São João. We are glad that you found our staff helpful and sincerely hope that you found us approachable. It is not our policy to overwhelm our guests or appear pushy in any way but we are definitely eager and ready to give as much information and assistance possible.

I will pass on your motivating comments to the rest of our staff – your praise is most welcome and we are so pleased that your holiday was a success. If you would like to mention tea and coffee making facilities on your next visit, we will be pleased to do our best.

We look forward very much to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at this hotel. The hotel lives up to its five star rating from the reception to the bedrooms to all the other facilites there. Nice large bedrooms most with balconies with garden views.Lovely indoor and outdoor swimming pools with sunbeds.Breakfast was very good plenty of choice and cooked food to order.The area were the hotel is only 15minuet walk down hill from both the marina and the gardens overlooking the bay.My only disappoint was not being able to see the bay or the sea only a glance from the second floor threw the trees, it can be abit noisey round the outside pool from the cars and coaches coming in to the hotel below .If you want a classic small hotel then this one fits the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 43j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review for the Quintinha São João on Tripadvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read that you feel our hotel lives up to its five star rating and that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfasts. It is true that our rooms do not afford a sea view. Our gardens are full of centenary old trees, which have made it the subtropical haven our guests so enjoy.

We sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of your company on a future holiday.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £95 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing