We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wonderful Hotel, charming staff, excellent service.
The hotel and its rooms are very esthetic.
The staff really care and give you very welcoming hospitality.
Definitely we will come again. The best we have ever been to.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank yoel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Yes, we really do care and are so pleased that it shows! Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João.

We are delighted that you will be back to visit us and we look forward immensely to the prospect.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and carefully researched the Hotel and area we were expecting something really special and to some extent it was but overall I have to say the Hotel doesn't quite live up to it's reviews and isn't 5 star . First the pluses , the hotel is unusual and quirky .The staff were friendly, special mention to the female restaurant manager who was delightful and always had a little chat at breakfast and Rosie who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable . The indoor pool was lovely but towels always seemed to be a problem (or rather lack of) . Now to the minuses , the outdoor pool area was nice but very small and whilst we were there we did experience a problem in getting sun beds , there simply aren't enough but where you would put any more would be an issue ! Breakfast was good and plentiful but as noted in previous reviews there seems a reluctance to provide hot food which was pretty poor anyway so we stuck to the buffet . We had pushed the boat out and booked a superior room with a balcony and view of the garden and sea . We specifically asked for a quiet room and had visions of sitting out in the evenings sipping drinks . However the Hotel is on a very busy noisy road and our room was adjacent to the road , we therefore spent all our time with the windows closed and the air con on . It would have been nice if the hotel had contacted us (we had booked direct) and warned us that the sea view rooms were rather noisy and we would have opted for another room type . Mention must also be made of the fact that the hotel is a good 15 minutes from the town , ok going down but tortuous coming back up the hill. We found ourselves getting taxi's back rather than face the climb back through rather a run down area (we are only in our late 40's and fairly fit ) I don't want to sound too negative because this is a good hotel and we enjoyed our stay but it is but not as good or perfect as some of the other reviews would have you believe.

Room Tip: Beware the main road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are sorry to hear that you felt our hotel didn’t exactly live up to the reviews and that you were disappointed. We do not actually promote sea-view rooms as this would be most misleading due to the fact that all our rooms are garden view. From the top floor, it is possible to see the sea but by no means would we consider this to be called a “sea view room”. As you had requested a view of the sea, we gave you the best sea view we had.

We are situated in the residential area of Funchal and yes, we are 1.5kms from the centre of town. We are in an elevated position (as pointed out in previous reviews) but taxis are reasonable and plentiful and our location is in the "real Funchal" and away from the tourist area.

We are pleased, however, that you enjoyed our staff and found them to be helpful and friendly.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful weeks here. From the minute we walked in we felt at home. The rooms are very spacious with everything we needed, no kettle but that is ok.
Every member of staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I found the bed a bit hard and a mattress topper was on it for me within minutes. Breakfast was always a happy affair, 7.30-10.30, the staff Sarah and Ines especially made us very welcome in the morning.We usually made the most of the happy hour in the bar and Antonio and Tony looked after us very well! Everything in the hotel was reasonably priced from the bar menu to the pool menu. The spa is beautiful and treatments are superb. The journey to the old town is a 15-20 minute stroll. The journey back is uphill and takes a bit longer. Hotel is in a residential area so is very quiet. Staff will happily map the short cuts for you. Both pools were great, we tended to use the top one as it was quieter, the bar service made it to there very well!! Rosie is a great guest relations lady who booked us trips and a high tea at Reid's Palace. Everyone we spoke to felt the same way as we did about the hotel. If we returned to Madeira we would definitely return to the Sao Joao.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace can get wifi on the balcony, garden rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Quintinha São João with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see you describe your holiday as “wonderful”.

Our staff are here to ensure that you do feel most welcome and it is true that nothing is too much trouble for us. We are delighted that you found that this was the case. We are grateful for your positive feedback and generous comments – I shall certainly be passing them on to the rest of the staff. Service to us is of the utmost importance and are so happy to see that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again should you decide to visit our wonderful island at a future date.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The reception staff were excellent and very knowledgeable, the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were all lovely and agousthino had a very good sense of humour. Pool area is small but there was always plenty of space. The spa was excellent and the bar staff were extremely friendly and served some fantastic cocktails, all drinks were reasonably priced.
If you are after a relaxing holiday where you are made to feel part of the family then look no further then this wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyesystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

What a lovely way to start the week! Thank you so much for making our day with your kind and generous comments and for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that the Quintinha exceeded your expectations in every way and that you enjoyed our staff – from their sense of humour to their professionalism, service and knowledge. I will certainly pass this message on.

You are now part of the Quintinha family and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If ever you wanted to really feel like a "guest" in a hotel, book there. Our stay was great, staff went to great length to be professional and friendly at the same time. Anything from taking care of car rental to getting the correct busses to start "levada" walks, everything was done with enthousiasm and skil. Splendid room and great breakfast. If ever we go back to Madeira, we will certainly book there again. It would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ignace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent holiday by writing a review.

We love the fact that you found that everything was done with enthusiasm – we are totally genuine in our desire to want you to have the best holiday possible. It is important too that you feel that this was, above all, done in a professional and friendly manner.

We sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha when you next visit Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a first class hotel with first class staff,Ive stayed in many hotels around the world(Mount Nelson Cape Town included) If you don't enjoy this hotel,You can't enjoy life itself.The Restaurant staff welcomed my children and me and my wife every day with big smiles and called us by our names from day two untill the end of our holiday,Lovely bedrooms,good games room,Peaceful pool areas,Lovely gardens,Tasty dinners,And away from all the noise ,Down on the sea front.Just a ten minute walk in to town.When two local people I spoke to in town thanked me for holidaying in Madeira,I was amazed.Back home in Jersey a lady from Madeira thanked me for Holidaying in her Madeira.This hotel and island is a must for all.Thank you Quintinha Sao Joao.

Room Tip: We where in rooms 109 and 110 over looking the gardens .First floor,Very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ianleedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

How lovely to read “if you don’t enjoy this hotel, you can’t enjoy life itself”! Thank you very much for these wonderful words of encouragement.

We hope that what sets us apart from other hotels is our genuine welcome with personal and professional attention at all times and to all guests – immaterial of their age.

We think that you have summed up our hotel perfectly and we would like to join others in thanking you for choosing Madeira and indeed the Quintinha São João for your holiday.

We look forward to your return!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I have returned from a wonderful holiday at Quintinha Sao Joao. The staff were very friendly and the Junior Suite was spacious. We were glad we booked Half Board. The restaurant was of a high standard; the menu was varied and the food was excellent.

I will certainly recommend the hotel to my friends.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for those lovely words and for sharing them with us and TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you found our staff friendly and liked the Junior Suite – yes, these rooms are certainly spacious!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurant and for saying that you were pleased that you chose Half Board. We do our utmost to give you the best and we feel that the free choice from our à la carte menu is the way to do this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £99 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing