We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Took a Monarch flight to Funchal - tricky to land (cross-winds) but all went OK - and picked up a hire car from Bravacars, a reasonable service there. Only 20km into Funchal and to Quintinha São Joao. Very warm for mid-January and such a beautiful island.

The hotel sits in a perfectly-tended sub-tropical garden on a hill above the port. Its garage is underground. Fine location, great views across the town to the mountains - we'd recommend getting a room with a balcony. First we were offered room 201, which was a good size, but we asked for a room further from the road, and ended up in room 210 which overlooked the garden. There was no fuss. The only concern of the staff was that we were happy.

That was a theme throughout, the unfailing politeness and efficiency of the staff, whether at Reception, in the restaurant (Friday night is Masterchef night!), or anywhere else. Marvellous. And the food was just fine.

All spotlessly clean, all the facilities you might need, including wifi in public areas, well-looked-after antique furniture on show - though the hotel itself would certainly count as modern - a heated indoor pool (aerobic sessions), fully-equipped spa; we were there only one week but could have easily stayed for a month.

Madeira is a jewel, and this hotel is a great base from which to explore it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
How lovely to hear that you could easily have stayed for one month! And we would be most happy to accommodate you!

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to send your comments regarding your recent stay to TripAdvisor – I am sure that your review will be most useful to prospective clients.

We are glad that we were able to satisfy you with your choice of room – anything that is humanly possible we do our best to oblige.

We hope to see you again at the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    153
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
830
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Thanks to everyone involved in making our visit exceptional.
From check-in to departure, our stay was supported by courtesy and advice.
The room was spacious and very clean and the friendly and attentive staff contribute immeasurably to the overall enjoyment.
Be aware that the downhill trip into town takes about 15 minutes of really enjoyable walking through beautiful gardens.
You may well choose to take a taxi back uphill, for a reasonable price of about 4 Euro.
Breakfast was first-class, a pleasure to be served by such a professional staff.
In our frequent short visits in Europe, we try to research carefully the hotels before booking. Again, on this occasion, the accommodation has more than lived up to the excellent reviews.

Dioch yn Fawr from Wales,

Alun and Angela.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATJBridgend_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Quintinha São João with TripAdvisor.

How lovely that you describe your experience as “wonderful” and your visit “exceptional”. This gives us so much pleasure and we are delighted to hear that you found our location, staff, facilities and advice to your satisfaction and that you feel we are worthy of our excellent reviews. Thank you so much for saying so.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company on future occasions.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent New Year at this beautiful hotel and had a wonderful holiday. We went to the firework display on New Years Eve and it was spectacular-not to be missed!! The staff at the hotel are, without exception, superb-they cannot do enough to make your stay a real home from home experience and they cater, where possible, for individual requirements. We intend to go back in September 2014, if we are lucky enough. Would highly recommend this little gem of a place.

Room Tip: I couldn't help anyone to choose a good room, I can only say that both ours and our friends room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful comments and huge support ... not to mention sharing your views with TripAdvisor.

It was truly a delight to have you and your friends with us over New Year and you are right, we can't do enough for you and so enjoy being your "Home in Madeira".

We look forward immensly to welcoming you back in September.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent three nights at Quintinha São João and definetly recommend the experience. First of all Madeira is a magical beatiful place. A must go destination. The hotel is small, charming and cozy where they make you feel at home. Staff is very friendly and always ready to help you with good tips and recommendations.
The room was spacious and clean with a nice balcony. Very good sleep quality. Location could be the only negative point. The hotel is located outside the hotel area which is near the sea and in the flat part of Funchal. Quintinha is in a hill and 15 minutes walk from the centre. The way back can be tiring. In my personal opinion, even that was a good choice as I don't like big hotels as the one situated near the shore.
The hotel restaurant is very good with excellent Portuguese and Indian (from Goa) food. Ask Sandra about the options and she will be very pleased to answer. Very nice service.
Excellent breakfast as well.
Cost vs benefit relation: very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for choosing the Quintinha São João for your recent holiday in Madeira and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were made to feel at home and that you found our staff to be friendly and informative. This is exactly how you should feel!

We are so pleased that you took the time to sample our Restaurant and that you enjoyed the food and service. Goan Cuisine is our specialty and this comes from our family roots and recipes passed down through generations which have then been passed on to our Chef.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon – perhaps even for a bit longer!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Utterly relaxing. Staff very friendly and courteous. Fabulous food, facilities and grounds. Conveniently located. We really enjoyed the rooftop pool; also the games room. A return visit is highly likely another year. It was simply a fantastic way to spend Christmas!

Room Tip: If you have a particular requirement then just email the hotel's website and request it as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our service and facilities. Christmas is a magical time in Madeira and at the Quintinha São João, we celebrate it in a totally traditional way.

You are also very correct in saying that, should you have a particular requirement, please just e-mail us. We can’t promise to always be able to oblige but we will certainly do our best.

We look forward to welcoming you back – either for another Christmas experience or at another time during the year.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel was yet again superb.We had a wonderful xmas and a magical new year.Yhey arranged for us to see the fireworks from the sea.WOW WOW WOW.If you want to see fireworks this has to be the place.The whole town is a winter wonderland all day long.There are choirs,bands,orchestras etc.Decorations galore.Local produce is on sale.It is jusy MAGICAL.Can't wait to repeat!!

Room Tip: They are all good,depends on your individual needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your loyalty and support. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas and New Year visit and apreciate immensly that you have chosen us yet again for your holiday in Madeira.

Christmas at the Quintinha is more of a house-party than anything else and it has given us so much satisfaction seeing our guests having a truly unforgettable time. It has also beren very heartening to see so many familiar faces...

Yes, the best viewing point for the fireworks is the sea and we were delighted to organise this for you.

We look forward so much to welcoming you back in 2014.

Yours sincerely

André Barreto

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed on 2 separate occasions and this is an incredible property. Both stays were during the annual wine festival, which runs from late-August through the first week of September. The staff has become tlike family to us and the facility is a world-class value.
Two pools on-site, an excellent restaurant and amenities that leave a guest want ing for nothing make this a wise choice. They even feature a special giving frequent stay customers a free night with every 10 paid days.
Few Americans actually travel to Madeira, but we have found the staff more than accommadating in helping us plan excursions and getting where we need to go. Because of the narrow nature of the streets in Funchal, and lack of parking, we used taxi or bus service throughout the island. Not only has the transportation service provided been excellent, but we have befriended the people involved and now find Funchal a home-away-from-home. In large part this is due to the friendly, insightful, cooperative folks who are at the Sao Joao.
I would recommend this property to anyone travelling to Funchal. You can not go wrong with the QSJ.

Room Tip: The upstairs, covered pool is less crowded and perfect even on a cloudy day. Much of the island is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I think that this is the first review we have had from Anchorage! Your generous comments are much appreciated and it is always a pleasure to have you with us!

We are delighted that you have found our staff accommodating. It is true that you are very much part of our Quintinha Family and anything we can do to make you holiday easier and more enjoyable you only have to ask.

Now that you have stayed with us twice over the Wine Festival, perhaps it is time to try a different time of the year...

You are always so very welcome!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing