We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a week here over Easter, which coincided with a major wedding anniversary.
We arrived early - about 11.00 am but were welcomed and looked after wonderfully, being given coffee on the terrace whilst they made our room ready.
This was how things continued as we found that all the staff went out of their way to be friendly, kind, and trying to ensure that you were enjoying your stay! There didn't seem to be any exceptions!
On our anniversary they brought us a bottle of bubbly and had made us a cake. We enjoyed both!
The bedroom was a good size with a superb bed, sitting area with a desk, minibar, tv etc. and a balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the gardens.
There was a very nicely fitted marble bathroom with shower, bath, bidet and wc, plus all the bits and pieces you expect in a first class hotel.
Everything was spotless and was kept so throughout, as were all the public areas.
Breakfast was a very good buffet with selections which should cover any taste, and included some unusual tropical fruits, plus the availability of cooked options such bacon, sausage, eggs etc.
We ate dinner a couple of times which was good quality and interesting. The style is Goan so if you are a curry lover you will be in heaven.
Other more international dishes are also available and these are well cooked and presented. Service is friendly and attentive.
The hotel is about ten minutes walk to the town, some local restaurants, the casino, and the gardens overlooking the port. Fascinating if you like to look at the cruise ships! Taxis are cheap and plentiful.
If you, like us, prefer smaller more intimate hotels, still high quality, but where you are not just one of 400 or 500 guests, you will like this hotel.
The staff are perhaps the best team we have come across in quite a few years - we will return!

Room Tip: It is not a huge hotel, so most rooms are presumably similar and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I read your review with delight and would like to thank you on behalf of the whole Quintinha team for such glowing feedback. We especially liked the fact that you thought that our team was perhaps the best you had come across for years! Nothing is too much trouble for us and, if it can be done it will be.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Goan dishes. It is true that if you love curry, our restaurant “A Morgadinha” is just the place to dine.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely

Andre Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at QSJ, it was very relaxing enjoying the elegant surroundings and great service.

The hotel itself is a more modern building than the Quinta in who's grounds it is built but it still retains the elegance you would expect from the old building, big sofas and armchairs in open sitting areas on each floor and in the bar, tasteful wooden furniture in the bedrooms, whilst enjoying the benefits of a modern hotel.

We had a room with a sitting area and small balcony, just enough room for a table and 2 chairs, but a good view into the gardens. The room was clean and very well appointed with a good bathroom with bathrobes, including a bath which you don't always get in holiday hotels. There was no kettle in the room which we like for an early morning cuppa, but we asked for one when we arrived and they gladly provided it.

The breakfast was plentiful and a good variety of cold food and cooked breakfasts to order, I had that most mornings and it was very good.

The bar has a nice terrace outside and there is a happy hour from 6:30 every evening (or at any other time that suits you) so we enjoyed cocktails most days, what's not to enjoy at 3 euros each. The bar food menu is very good and very reasonably priced, it is also exactly the same as the room service menu. My only gripe is that they officially stop serving it in the bar at 6:00 but continue as room service until 10:00. Sometimes you don't want a big 3-course meal in the hotel restaurant at 39 euros and you don't want to eat in your room, having said that the barman said that he would see whether the kitchen would serve in the bar after 6:00 but he seemed to make out it was a bit of an issue (not sure why if room service is still available), anyway we did get to eat on the terrace, and other guests did the same, and it was very nice and reasonably priced too.

There are 2 pools, one indoor and one outdoor, they are both quite small but OK to cool off in after a day out or sunbathing.

There is also a good gym and games room and spa, although we didn't use that.

The gardens are delighful and there is one round the back of the pool by the old house which is very peaceful.

For those for whom it is important you might like to know that in-room free wi-fi was installed whilst we were there, it is basic but enough for what you might need on holiday.

There is a shuttle bus into the town but it only seats 8 and only goes down twice and back twice a day, but not on weekends, so you do have to book the night before. Again, this is something that would be better if it was available more often.

The hotel is nearer to Funchal than those in the hotel zone to the west, about 15mins walk downhill, the uphill return isn't too bad if you are reasonably fit or taxi fare is about 4 euros. However, there is no other restaurants or supermarket close to the hotel, the nearest are about a 10 minute walk away (downhill) so I think we came back fitter than we arrived.

Of course, as most other reviewers have said, no review would be complete without thanks to Rosie, the fountain of all knowledge about what to do on the island. Also all the other staff in reception, the bar and the breakfast room were very helpful and we were amazed how well they all spoke 4-5 languages pretty much fluently.

Other reviewers have commented on the noise from barking dogs and the main road and this is evident and the ambience would be better without them but the hotel is in an urban setting and you can't get totally away from all noise. I expect that the hotel zone suffers from just as much noise anyway and it did not detract from our enjoyment too much.

On our way from the airport the taxi driver said we should expect such charming elegance at the hotel but it wasn't for everyone, we weren't sure what he meant but it became clearer the longer we stayed. There were no children staying, whether this was just because it was not school holidays I don't know, but we were happy with that and I think if we were travelling with children then probably one of the resort hotels on the west side of funchal would have been more appropriate.

If you want a holiday where you will be looked after with great personal service and comfortable elegance and don't want to pay a fortune to stay at Reid's then I can fully recommend QSJ.

Room Tip: All rooms face the garden, as far as I could see, with lower numbered ones on each floor nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your highly descriptive and in-depth review for the Quintinha. We are certain that readers and prospective travellers will find it most informative.

Thank you for your praise, which I will certainly pass on to our staff and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I would like to comment on a couple of points if I may.

Our Vasco da Gama Bar is a bar serving a simplified menu and not a snack bar serving drinks. Thus, after 6 p.m. it is reserved for guests wanting a drink. This menu, however, is available in our Restaurant so dining there doesn’t necessarily entail eating our full promotional menu, which includes a 3 course meal and all drinks. We are aware that guests don’t always want a full meal so this is the reason we place our lunchtime menu at your disposal in our restaurant at night.

We have indeed up-dated our IT system at the hotel. We have invested in new and larger television screens and a new and more diverse cable package. Most importantly, we have connected wifi to all the rooms in the hope that it pleases our customers.

We hope you will choose the Quintinha for your next holiday to Madeira and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Andre Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is a little gem, hidden away just outside the center of the city. The room was very nice, the staff was the most courteous and helpful I have ever experienced, and the restaurant was excellent. Especially the breakfast! Great place if you want a more quiet hotel experience than at the big Lido hotels.

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krist0ffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for describing our Quintinha as a “little gem” and for sharing these thoughts on TripAdvisor. You can't imagine the pleasure it gives us to be described thus!

We certainly do try our best to help you enjoy your stay and that you get the most out of your visit. It is our pleasure and we are delighted that we succeeded where you are concerned.

Thank you too for your kind praise for our restaurant – I will pass it on to the staff.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Madeira soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our first time in Madeira and what a super place to stay. The hotel was lovely, the facilities were as I would expect from a top rated boutique hotel . The bedrooms were spacious and decorated traditionally. The staff were so friendly and helpful, in addition Rosie was an on site travel guide and what more could you need? We cannot wait to return and have already recommended to friends and strangers

Room Tip: Room 113 was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for you kind comments and for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your first holiday in Madeira was such a success and we sincerely hope that this will be one of many.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our team and I shall certainly pass on your kind words to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you so much for your recommendations; they mean a lot to us.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just spent our second year at this hotel and cannot fault it at all!!!. The staff are friendly and very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The bedrooms are spacious and homely. The facilities are excellent - 2 swimming pools, gym, massage etc. It is a small, quiet and relaxing hotel. It felt like home from home and we can't wait until our next visit. Some people may say it is out of town but it is quiet, there is a courtesy bus or the taxis are very reasonable. If you want to take a trip Rosie is there for you and she will ensure you have a great day out.

Jen and John - Watford

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen1182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so very much for sharing your delightful comments with the TripAdvisor community. The fact that you visited us for a second time is a compliment in itself!

It is true that we cannot do enough for you and we are pleased that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We are delighted that this holiday was as successful as your first and we now look forward to welcoming you back for a third time in the near future.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Quintinha Sao Joao deserves every plaudit it receives. Staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is superbly furnished in a tasteful and timeless way, the gardens are lovely, the two pools are great and the restaurant is excellent. There is a spa. It is small enough (43 bedrooms) for every guest to feel like an individual, not a number. It will appeal to anyone who wants a quiet stay in fine surroundings.
Don't stay here if you want a sea view or to party.
I cannot, at its price point in the market, praise it highly enough.
If you are driving here you will need a satnav, but when you get here you can park in the underground garage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisocuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your generous and complimentary comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Quintinha São João. It is especially heartening and motivating to hear that you feel we deserve the plaudits we receive.

Your support in writing a review for the hotel on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased that you so rightly felt like an individual and not just a number.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding in Madeira this June and stayed at the Quintinha de São João with the majority of our guests for many days. It is an excellent hotel, of high quality, with very spacious room, an excellent restaurant, a modern SPA and two swimming pools (one covered). Service given at reception was also of top-standing, as we were a big group and there were lots of last minute changes. There were no issues with our requests and the service was always provided very professionally.
The Quintinha de São João is surely one of the best options for your stay in Funchal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Marîa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Yes, we remember your wedding so well and it was one of the highlights of 2013 for us.

It was truly such a pleasure for us to help with your very special day and we are just so delighted to have been part of it.

You wedding anniversary is coming up soon - we would love to see you again!

Thank you for your support and thank you for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £99 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing