We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet with outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet with outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

QSJ is a small hotel with personal service. We had a junior suite which was huge, with a dressing area, sitting area, separate shower and bath and a separate WC. The rooms are clean and well appointed with adjoining 3ft beds.

We were B&B so we walked into town in the evening which is 30 mins to the old town, down hill all the way. So you know what that means for the trip home. We walked most nights, but is was only €7 in a taxi if the walk is too much.

The service was attentive and polite. Drinks and snacks are reasonable priced and the patio is a great place for lunch or a pre dinner or after dinner drink.

We were very pleased we chose the QSJ.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandCorrinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João.

Our Junior Suites are indeed very large and well appointed, overlooking our gardens. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and the patio of our Vasco da Gama Bar – yes, it certainly is a lovely place to finish off your day or enjoy lunch in the sun.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    155
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
95
844
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Yet another fabulous stay in our favourite, beautiful hotel. We cannot thank the staff enough for their kindness. We have returned many times and will continue to do so. Thankyou to all. Rose and Chris Gradwell.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosejupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Gradwell,

Thank you very much for always supporting us and also for saying how much you enjoy your holidays at the Quintinha de São João.

We always look forward to your visits and hope to welcome you back as soon as possible for your next break in your Home in Madeira. You are part of the family!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, really - simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. This was a return visit for us, and I can only reiterate what I said in my review following our first visit a year ago. This relatively small hotel offers such a high level of excellent facilities that would be quite sufficient for a five star review. But the whole experience in staying here is thoroughly complemented by the truly lovely, friendly, efficient and courteous staff - all of them without exception. In addition, this beautiful small hotel provides a wonderfully warm Portuguese ambience throughout - from the large, extremely comfortable, and well equipped bedrooms, to the very attractive bar which opens on to the terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens, and the two swimming pools, not forgetting the restaurant where a fantastic breakfast is served offering a vast range of fresh fruits, cold meats, cheese, croissants, cakes, as well as bacon and eggs etc which are always available and cooked to order. This hotel is so very different from the vast impersonal hotels set in out of town locations and where you feel you could be anywhere in the world. This hotel provides a very integral part of your Portuguese experience, and for us that is such a major plus. We will definitely be returning - can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies overlooking the wonderful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so happy to read your review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João and thank you very much for your continuing support. It is most heartening to read that you can reiterate what you said on your first visit and that you continue to find the Quintinha São João and Portuguese experiences to your liking. We pride ourselves on the fact that we provide an authentic and personal service and are so glad that we have achieved this where you are concerned.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff – I will be delighted to pass them on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you for writing such a glowing and complimentary review.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Have just returned from a week long stay at the hotel and can only commend it and although as with everywhere there will be niggles I can honestly say I couldn't find fault. We stayed in a room on the ground floor with a terrace overlooking a part of the garden. The room was very comfortable and also quiet. I know other guests have mentioned road noise and barking dogs and whilst these were evident round the hotel they were never heard in the room.

The bar area was our favourite place to sit and relax the staff there were wonderful. Here they do a lunch/snack menu which is great value and we found ourselves eating lunch here most days. Happy hour everyday is also a must for pre-dinner cocktails at 3 euros each. Also due to the small nature of the hotel this area never feels too busy and is relaxing.

Breakfast is another treat with a large buffet selection as well as the cooked options you really shouldn't struggle to find plenty to your liking. We only went on a bed and breakfast basis and ate in the restaurant on one night. I've reviewed the restaurant separately but safe to say if you stay half board I can't see you being disappointed.

The swimming pool was also a great area to relax though it is right next to entrance to the big hotel next door so don't expect perfect tranquillity but then it pays not to forget the hotel is in the middle of Funchal. There were plenty of comfy sunbeds available whilst we stayed with umbrellas for when it got too much.

Overall this hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone. All the staff were exceptional and it proved to be a little oasis of relaxation in a bustling town. I found Funchal to be great value for money and this place is no exception I would go as far as to call it a bargain. One point which no one else mentioned is that if you aren't inclined to get a taxi in and out of the town it is halfway up a rather large hill christened by Rosie who works at the hotel "cardiac hill". There are a couple of routes into the town and it is a 15-20 minute walk but it is steep especially on a warm day though a perfect excuse to indulge in dessert.

Fantastic stay a proper little gem!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trebor2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João. We are so very happy that you enjoyed yourselves and your final words are wonderful when you describe us as “...a proper little gem!!”

Yes, our bar is a great place to relax and we are glad that our Happy Hour met with your approval. We have recently changed things to suit our guests even more and have introduced a system whereby our guests can choose their Happy Hour when they wish!

I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for reviewing our restaurant separately. Your support is much appreciated and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol,UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you want a smaller, family-owned hotel, in a relatively quiet district of Funchal (subject to barking dogs, depending on which room you are in), with lovely gardens and grounds, and with great attention to personal service, then I'd strongly recommend this hotel.

It is well away from all the other large hotels (including Reids) congregated in a new-build area at one end of the town which, frankly, could be in any European resort.

The hotel is situated in a residential area, just outside the centre (3 minutes in the minibus or by taxi, or a 15-minute walk down to the centre), and so does suffer the usual noises of barking dogs (frequently) and, on Thursday evening, an outdoor aerobics class with blaring music on the adjacent Four View's hotel’s balcony.

That said, these were occasional intrusions to an otherwise peaceful hotel with just 42 bedrooms (all are garden-facing) and pleasant surrounding gardens with much bird-song. If you want to avoid disturbance by sometimes constant barking dogs then avoid rooms numbers 8 upwards, including the Junior Suites (numbers 11, at the end of each floor).

The rooms (we stayed in a Junior suite – see photos) are certainly spacious, and the decor is good but a little outdated, and beds quite firm.

For this reason, and the following 'niggles', I would not rate this hotel as 5*, although it does excel on personal service and friendliness.

There are some minor irritations, like, despite staying in a suite, charging you €1 for a coffee capsule for the in-room coffee machine, their in-room minibar menu says they’ll charge you €5/day (yes, a day) for storing anything of your own in their fridge (but they didn't), and difficulty swapping a half-board evening meal for a daytime lunch meal (which would cost them less money).

Having received an invitation, on the Tuesday evening, from the General Manager, to join him for a drinks reception, he then wasn't there (and this has happened before), so guests just sat around, as they normally do before dinner, enjoying some free drinks, which was very pleasant but just not what had been expected.

The transfer minibus only runs to Funchal (dropping you on the front) at 10a.m and 2.30p.m, and returns back at 12noon and 5.30p.m, but only on weekdays, which is another irritation, not running at weekends (the market, for example, is busiest on Friday and Saturday mornings). Having said that, the Yellow taxis, which are metered, only cost around €5.

Breakfast is excellent, with a very wide selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, croissants, and fruit juices, in addition to hot food (eggs, omelettes, mushrooms etc.) cooked to order (see photo).

The daytime bar and outdoor seating area is also excellent (but they need another umbrella on the terrace, as there is only one, so most tables have no shade from an overhead sun) with very reasonable prices for drinks and snacks/meals, and a lovely peaceful area to sit and read or enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail in Happy Hour (which they allow you to take whenever you want !).

The evening restaurant was very quiet (not sure what all the other guests do, as they were nearly full, unless they go down to town). The restaurant staff are generally very pleasant and engage in good conversation, so you do feel very welcomed.

As another reviewer said, we understand that the hotel has recently put in free WiFi throughout the hotel, so it now works in rooms not just the Reception area (certainly worked well for us, but it logs you out after a period of non-use).

Rosie, mentioned by many, is very knowledgeable and helpful about what to do, and multi-lingual, so a real asset to the hotel's service in making guests feel really welcome.

In terms of excursions, the reception or Rosie can arrange a 3-hour taxi tour to some of the highlights elsewhere on the island for €60 (we were quoted €80 by one of the Yellow taxi drivers), full-day minibus tours for just under €30 per person, both of which we excellent, and we’d also recommend the cable-car return journey to the Monte Tropical Gardens (inclusive of entry is just under €24 return – the cable car alone is €15 return).

We would definitely return to this hotel, and strongly recommend it, but if you are expecting a 'polished' overall service then you'll notice minor niggles, but the personal service and the spacious rooms are the hotel's biggest selling points, along with lovely gardens. I hope the hotel (as the Manager appears to read these reviews - I'd have told him had I met him !) takes these minor points as opportunities to do even better.

Room Tip: All rooms are garden-facing. If you want to avoid real disturbance from barking dogs, avoid rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a detailed description of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and your heading is much appreciated “Lovely family-owned hotel, with great personal service”.

As you can see, I most certainly do read all comments our guests leave on TripAdvisor (and anywhere else for that matter.) My apologies for not having had the opportunity of meeting you personally during our weekly cocktail party but on this particular occasion, I was at an important meeting outside the hotel which over-ran. I am, however, always represented by a member of staff. I am sure you will agree that, being the manager of the hotel, it is often necessary to be absent either off the island on business trips, in meetings or even on holiday. In any event, we like to offer our guests a complimentary cocktail party so that they may also get to know our other customers and enjoy a drink together.

If I may, I would just like to comment on the use of our minibar which is exactly that - as advertised and not a fridge for storing items. We charge 5 Euros per stay and not per night should guests wish to use this as a fridge. We pride ourselves on the excellent selection from our à la carte menu for our guests on Half Board and, wanting to provide value for money for our customers, do not encourage the exchange for lunch which would mean an inferior option as we only have our light refreshment menu available in the bar.

We thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff and facilities and I will certainly pass them. In addition, we entirely agree with you about our location – we are away from the large hotels and so very much do not want to be considered any “European resort”. We are Madeira through and through!

We look forward to your next visit and I look forward to personally meeting you the next time.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Comfortable and relaxing and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We liked the individuality of the hotel with beautifully furnished rooms and guest areas. We were impressed with our room which was large with a sitting area and a balcony. The hotel had a quiet, calm atmosphere.
The position of the hotel was good. It was an easy downhill 10 minute walk into town, but a steep climb back. Taxis were reasonably priced for returns.The hotel also has a free courtesy bus which is useful, but only at limited times.
I certainly would love to return to Quintinha São Jaoa.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We liked ours because it was away from the road and we did not overlook the outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyp107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and going to the trouble of posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor. You support is much appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and you have described the atmosphere of the hotel perfectly… quiet and calm!

We too hope that you will return to visit us in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent ten days at the Quintinha Sao Joao at the beginning of May. The hotel is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. It was our first time to Madeira. The staff were absolutely wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. The bedrooms were very spacious and had their own sitting area as well as a balcony that overlooked the gardens. There were several visitors we met who were coming back to this hotel again and one couple - it was their fourth stay at this hotel.

We were staying half board so we ate dinner there at night. The one thing I would say and did comment on when we were there, was the fact that the menu in the restaurant did not change at all during the week. In fact it only changed twice a year according to one of the waiters They did serve a barbeque one evening which we did enjoy and also had a 'masterchef' evening which was excellent. I really feel there should be more of a choice and that they change a couple of courses during the week. The restaurant staff were absolutely charming and it made for a lovely relaxing feel in the dining room.

The gardens of the hotel were just beautiful - you felt you were in a garden of paradise. We swam in the pool on the second floor which was lovely. Also we met the delightful Rosie - who is great at advising you what to do in Madeira, how to get there, what you can go and do and see. She is delightful and nothing is too much trouble for her! If we ever go back to Madeira I would definitely return to this beautiful hotel. We did go up to the west side of Funchal and saw lots of larger hotels there, but were secretly glad we had found the Quintinha Sao Jao.

Room Tip: A garden room may be quieter away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renault44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are so pleased that you chose our Quintinha to spend your first holiday in Madeira and even more delighted that it was such a success. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor and for giving us such a glowing report.

I know that I have said this before but would like to reiterate that nothing is too much trouble for all of us and nothing gives us more pleasure reading comments such as yours and knowing that our efforts are not in vain. This is most motivating; thank you.

In order to give our Half Board guests the best possible dining experience we place our complete a la carte menu at your disposal. Choices range from vegetarian, international and regional dishes to our Goan specialties. As you so rightly say, we also include our two theme nights to ring the changes and we are studying other options for the future.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your company again on a future visit to Madeira and that you will join the many guests who return to stay at the Quintinha.

Yours sincerely
Andre Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing