We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little things mean a lot- by Ian & Rita”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Little things mean a lot- by Ian & Rita”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Are hotels important for a holiday or are they merely a place to sleep, whilst you sunbathe or explore the area around you? We don't believe in paying over the odds for a hotel but do like to have some quality and selecting a hotel is a lottery. From a long list of hotels in Funchal, we selected the Quintinho Sao Joao, as it was modestly priced but appeared in the top 10 hotels in Madeira and comments seemed favourable. Well we won the lottery because the hotel was superb.
First impressions are important and our first impression was a wonderful receptionist, who gave us a great welcome, explained about the hotel facilities, then showed us to our room, telling us to leave the luggage in the reception area, as it would be brought to our room, as it was our holiday. She said our room , 115, was her favourite room and we knew why when we entered, as it was massive, clean, lovely and delightful. You could see the sea through the trees and nearly down into Funchal and we were just above the patio area. The receptionist left and then, shortly afterwards, a knock on the door. On opening, the receptionist proceeded to carry our cases into the room. I felt guilty but she said it was our holiday and just relax! Little things mean a lot. She was a special lady.
We then enquired about dinner, seeing we had arrived about 5 p.m. Dinner was no problem and she explained that it was a masterchef evening, where 4 chefs were competing to be chef of the week. It seemed like fun and it was-check it out! In the restaurant, the service was excellent, as it was all week at breakfast. We met Sandra, who was "in charge" and she advised us on Madeira wine, even warning us that the one we had chosen may taste as though it was corked but that it was just the way Madeira wine was, but it was excellent and her advice during the week was inspired. The white wine she chose for us later in the week was excellent as well and she even gave us her father's recipe for the local firewater, Poncho. Make sure you try that, whilst on holiday. She also persuaded me to try Scabbard fish in banana sauce-she said it was delicious and it was. If you stay here, listen to Sandra. Little things mean a lot

The same receptionist who greeted us then proceeded to book tours and walks for us, to keep us occupied during the week. Very very helpful and efficient , even recommending some tours over others. Her choices were perfect. Again, little things mean a lot.

All the reception staff during the week were excellent, however there was another stand out one. My wife does not like heights and was very reluctant to go on the cable car to the gardens at Monte. She informed this other young receptionist, who took the time to explain how she did not like heights but had ridden the cable car and that my wife would be OK and that she should try it. She did and she was OK. She also encouraged her to go on the wicker toboggans. She did and she found them exhilarating. She also encouraged my wife to go onto the glass platform at the top of the cliffs at Capo Girao-she did. Three things my wife did not want to do and was encouraged to do by this excellent receptionist. Thanks to her, it made our holiday. She also arranged some ice to put on my wife's ankle, after she cockled over on a walk. Little things mean a lot.

The bar staff were also excellent, making cocktails every night. It helped that there was a happy hour every evening from 6.30-7.30 and a free cocktail session, courtesy of the manager on a Wednesday evening! Little things mean a lot.

Apart from the efficient friendly staff, the hotel was very clean, testament to the cleaning staff, who always had smiles and a greeting for you. Little things means a lot.

We walked round the gardens on a couple of evenings and you get a fantastic view of Funchal, especially on a night. We did not use the spa or pool, so can' comment on those.

The hotel is located a bit up the mountain and we did not find a problem walking down to the marina/shopping area or walking back up, however the hotel has a free bus shuttle service to and from twice a day. Little things mean a lot.

We really enjoyed the island of Madeira. It is the best place we have visited, has the friendliest people, fine local food (scabbard fish, espetada , honey cake, wine poncha and, of course , Madeira cake. Plenty to do & see, if you want to! The icing on our cake was the Quintinho Sao Joao. Not a large hotel but small and welcoming. Little things mean a lot. The best hotel we have stayed in

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had some sea view but I don't think the rooms matter just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ian and Rita,

Obviously much thought and work has gone into your review and we are most grateful for your support and praise.

I am very proud of the image you project of our kind and helpful staff. This is exactly what our aim is: to make our guests feel the most welcome people in the world. That is what you are to us… so very welcome. It is normal that you may have some reticence regarding various experiences and we are so please that our staff gave your wife the confidence to gain the maximum from her visit to our beautiful island.

We are so very much in agreement with you … little things do mean a lot.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit to Madeira and to welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    161
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
856
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from a wonderful week stay at the soa joao, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the hotel was kept immaculate all the time and the food was out of this world. The master chef evening is a must whilst at the hotel, any infomation about the island just ask Rosie nothing to much trouble for her.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coiln w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week’s stay at the Quintinha – we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us! Thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor, your support is much appreciated.

Our members of staff are going to be so pleased when they read that you considered them friendly and welcoming and you are right… nothing is too much trouble!

We hope to be able to welcome you back on future visits.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After a three year break my wife and I have visited the Quintinha again and have not been disappointed. One the important elements of any hotel is the quality of its staff and the staff at this hotel are very good. From the initial welcome through the dealings with reception, waiting and bar staff through the maids to of course Rosie they cannot be faulted. One of the most important elements of this, which says a lot about the hotel is that there is very little turnover with staff we have known for years still there. Keep it up, we shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your encouraging words and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It really is most motivating for us all that our loyal supporters return to stay with us. The majority of our staff has been with us for many years and they also love to welcome you back and catch up!

Please try not to leave your next visit for another 3 years but, if that has to be, we will be so happy to see you again and, hopefully, we will all still be here to give you that big ‘Quintinha’ welcome!

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent an enjoyable week at hotel and had a very relaxing time. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and their attention to detail was great. We ate in the restaurant every night and the choice and quality of the food on offer was excellent, particularly on the 'Master Chef' evening. Our bedroom was comfortable and roomy with a balcony. Only slight disappointment was the pool area which was rather cramped, had limited beds and the umbrellas was a little shabby. That aside everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room which will give you better views out to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing them with TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your holiday was such a success and can only apologise for your slight disappointment regarding the pool area. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and yes, our ‘Master Chef’ evening is great fun and gives our kitchen staff a lot of motivation to be named the Chef of the Week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha for another relaxing break.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Calm, peaceful, understated, interesting, warm & welcoming. All staff terrific, All questions answered, information about the island at your fingertips. A turn down service every evening is a lovely touch, which you don't often get anymore. We will definitely return to the QSJ.

Room Tip: Junior suite more spacious & better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are delighted to read that you consider our Quintinha as “Home from Home” as this is exactly our wish and to which end we constantly strive.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor and the prospect of welcoming you back to stay with us is one we look forward to immensely.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. In a suite with seperate rooms which was nice and probably worth paying the extra for.

Pros: Lots of space in rooms. Coffee machine. Well stocked mini bar. Full sized hair dryer. Good toiletries. Good air conditioning. Balcony with chairs. Turn down service and we were bought fruit every afternoon which was a nice touch. Black out blinds kept it nice and dark.

Reception staff very welcoming and friendly, great English and knowledgable. Staff on the pool side bar and main bar very friendly. There was a friendly lady called Rosie who could book trips, tours and restaurants for you. Spa was nice and reasonably priced, but more for treatments than going to use the facilities alone (no toilet in spa so had to walk out and use gym toilet), gym well appointed and decent equipment. Room overlooked the garden and was nice and quiet.

Cons: Not the best shower. Breakfast very average (avoid the eggs...go for the bacon and sausage) Restaurant food very average. Pools not the best size with only a few sun loungers. Games room needs updating and ping pong ball broken and no chalk for pool table etc. Ran out of diet coke in the bar midweek and didn't stock up before I left.

Hotel was a 15 min walk to the town. Alright downhill, not so good back! Taxi was €5-10 depending on time of day etc. If I was going again I wouldn't bother with the resturant as lots of nicer places nearby.

Top tip: best thing on pool/room service menu was the steak sandwich.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are grateful for your support in writing your comments regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious, our staff welcoming and friendly and the spa nice and reasonably priced.

We are sorry about the cons you mention and I will look into the points you have raised.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of your company on a future visit to Madeira.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from the QSF and have had a very relaxing experience. Our room was lovely, very clean spacious and comfortable, it was well serviced and the bed was turned down every evening which was a lovely touch.
A special mention to the bar staff, Tony, Sergio and Jessica were excellent friendly and efficient, nothing was any trouble to them and they really made the stay for us as did Rosie in guest relations she was brilliant.
This was our 3rd visit to Madeira and having already sampled the cuisine we at out most nights. We did eat in the hotel and you must try both the Madeiran evening in the gardens and the Masterchef night in the restaurant which are very good and both excellent vale for money.We did also find the restaurant very reasonable for both food and drink, five star food but not five star prices.
Having already seen all of the places of interest we chose to spend most of our time at the outdoor pool which we did find rather disappointing as the filters in the pool did not work and the pool man did not seem to be altogether bothered, we also noticed that the parasols were in a pretty poor state whcih is a shame and not a good advertisement for a five star hotel.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and could not fault either the friendlieness of the staff or the very homely feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much indeed for leaving your interesting review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that your experience was relaxing and that you especially enjoyed your room, our staff and dining experiences. Our Madeiran Evening in the gardens is indeed a special night and it is just so lovely sitting under the trees being served by our restaurant team and cooked for by our chefs. Thank you for supporting both our unique nights.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the pool and umbrellas and am going to look into this closely. We are sorry that you were disappointed by these aspects.

We certainly hope that you will choose our Quintinha for your 4th visit to Madeira and look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing