We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No children-terms of quietness”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This a quiet, cosy little place with a nice garden.
The place is pleasant and nicely located.
No children, which is always a plus in terms of quietness ...
We did not enjoy the pool which is definitely too small and ill-placed and structured.
Huge room with comfort and excellent breakfast.
The place is definitely not 5 stars.
A place to recommend though.
The staff were helpful, friendly and thoughtful, anticipating our needs and giving us very good advice about getting around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are pleased to hear that you recommend the Quintinha de São João and thank you for saying so. We are sorry, however, that our swimming pool did not come up to your expectations.

We are always delighted to hear that you consider our staff helpful, friendly and thoughtful and that their advice was well received and proved successful.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha one day.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel was chosen by a friend, who researched into the Quintinha's on the island- and then it was on Expedia as well!! So good price! For fairly luxury hotel. The staff were the best, clearly felt like a family, some had worked there for many years, and always willing to talk, help decide on activities, and even give a hug. Being a Quintinha, the grounds are gorgeous, with big old trees, lovely garden, nice pools, and superb food. The only thing that dropped a point was the slightly hard bed (but that is a personal thing), the sheets were delightful and we slept very well. Spacious room, with a sofa area and small balcony. When (if ?) I go back to the island, I would stay there again without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We are so pleased that your friend, having thoroughly researched the Quintas of Madeira settled, on the Quintinha de São João. It was a pleasure to have had you with us and thank you for your kind comments.

Yes, many members of our staff have worked here since the hotel opened on 1998 and we are always on hand to help you get the most of your Madeira experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed our gardens, facilities and food and thank you very much for your support in saying so.

We sincerely hope that you will return to Madeira and when you do, the Quintinha will be here to give you a hug. Next time we will arrange for you to have a mattress topper on your bed to make it softer.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a nice week at the QSJ and I can see why It gets such good reviews. The majority of the hotel staff are very polite and in Rosie they really have someone that guests can turn to for advise on finding the best restaurants, organising trips and offering any advice you may need to help you get the best out of your holiday.

The Rooms are very nice, well cleaned and spacious. The hotel has a well equipped gym, games room with a pool table and a table tennis table. There are 2 pools, one in the grounds and one on the 2nd floor, both are very clean, the hotel provides towels near both pools.

Breakfast was nice, a good continental selection and they also provide a hot menu as well. The bar area is relaxing and the hotel offers a happy hour from 6-30 until 7-30, but they are flexible with these times if you go out.

We did have a few niggles though,

1) on our arrival our room wasn't ready, we were given a brief tour of the grounds and then asked to wait for someone to let us know when our room was ready (by the pool bar), we spent around 22 euros on a few drinks and 2 sandwiches, on reflection we felt that the hotel should of offered a complimentary refreshment as this was the hotels error and not something you want after a long journey.

2) we ate once in the restaurant and found it very disappointing to say the least. I found the restaurant expensive and the quality of food simply not up to the standard you would expect at the prices being charged. I had the pork vindaloo which rather bland and certainly not worth 18/19 euros, my wife tried a cod dish was a bit better, but, the waiter removed the plate before she actually finished!. I found the hotels food rather disappointing in general, the quality was certainly not worthy of their prices.

3) Although the grounds are very nice, there was a bit too much road noise and occasional dog barking for my liking.

Room Tip: west coast tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy,cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and going to the trouble of writing a review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João.

We are delighted by your comments regarding our staff and I will certainly pass on your kind words. It is true that we want you to get the utmost from your holiday in Madeira and we are so pleased that we were able to help.

We apologise that everything was not perfect. As in most hotels, the official check-in time is at 2 p.m. and check-out time is at midday. Our housekeeping staff needs to prepare your room with the utmost care and attention. Please bear in mind that the departing guests must only vacate the room at noon so mostly our girls only gain access at this time. It is unfortunate for guests arriving on early flights that we are unable to give them their rooms immediately but we try to do so wherever we can. We are, however, sorry that this was not possible in your case.

We are also sorry that our restaurant did not come up to your expectations and that you were inconvenienced by the occasional barking dog and traffic.

We hope that we will be able to surpass your expectations on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Are hotels important for a holiday or are they merely a place to sleep, whilst you sunbathe or explore the area around you? We don't believe in paying over the odds for a hotel but do like to have some quality and selecting a hotel is a lottery. From a long list of hotels in Funchal, we selected the Quintinho Sao Joao, as it was modestly priced but appeared in the top 10 hotels in Madeira and comments seemed favourable. Well we won the lottery because the hotel was superb.
First impressions are important and our first impression was a wonderful receptionist, who gave us a great welcome, explained about the hotel facilities, then showed us to our room, telling us to leave the luggage in the reception area, as it would be brought to our room, as it was our holiday. She said our room , 115, was her favourite room and we knew why when we entered, as it was massive, clean, lovely and delightful. You could see the sea through the trees and nearly down into Funchal and we were just above the patio area. The receptionist left and then, shortly afterwards, a knock on the door. On opening, the receptionist proceeded to carry our cases into the room. I felt guilty but she said it was our holiday and just relax! Little things mean a lot. She was a special lady.
We then enquired about dinner, seeing we had arrived about 5 p.m. Dinner was no problem and she explained that it was a masterchef evening, where 4 chefs were competing to be chef of the week. It seemed like fun and it was-check it out! In the restaurant, the service was excellent, as it was all week at breakfast. We met Sandra, who was "in charge" and she advised us on Madeira wine, even warning us that the one we had chosen may taste as though it was corked but that it was just the way Madeira wine was, but it was excellent and her advice during the week was inspired. The white wine she chose for us later in the week was excellent as well and she even gave us her father's recipe for the local firewater, Poncho. Make sure you try that, whilst on holiday. She also persuaded me to try Scabbard fish in banana sauce-she said it was delicious and it was. If you stay here, listen to Sandra. Little things mean a lot

The same receptionist who greeted us then proceeded to book tours and walks for us, to keep us occupied during the week. Very very helpful and efficient , even recommending some tours over others. Her choices were perfect. Again, little things mean a lot.

All the reception staff during the week were excellent, however there was another stand out one. My wife does not like heights and was very reluctant to go on the cable car to the gardens at Monte. She informed this other young receptionist, who took the time to explain how she did not like heights but had ridden the cable car and that my wife would be OK and that she should try it. She did and she was OK. She also encouraged her to go on the wicker toboggans. She did and she found them exhilarating. She also encouraged my wife to go onto the glass platform at the top of the cliffs at Capo Girao-she did. Three things my wife did not want to do and was encouraged to do by this excellent receptionist. Thanks to her, it made our holiday. She also arranged some ice to put on my wife's ankle, after she cockled over on a walk. Little things mean a lot.

The bar staff were also excellent, making cocktails every night. It helped that there was a happy hour every evening from 6.30-7.30 and a free cocktail session, courtesy of the manager on a Wednesday evening! Little things mean a lot.

Apart from the efficient friendly staff, the hotel was very clean, testament to the cleaning staff, who always had smiles and a greeting for you. Little things means a lot.

We walked round the gardens on a couple of evenings and you get a fantastic view of Funchal, especially on a night. We did not use the spa or pool, so can' comment on those.

The hotel is located a bit up the mountain and we did not find a problem walking down to the marina/shopping area or walking back up, however the hotel has a free bus shuttle service to and from twice a day. Little things mean a lot.

We really enjoyed the island of Madeira. It is the best place we have visited, has the friendliest people, fine local food (scabbard fish, espetada , honey cake, wine poncha and, of course , Madeira cake. Plenty to do & see, if you want to! The icing on our cake was the Quintinho Sao Joao. Not a large hotel but small and welcoming. Little things mean a lot. The best hotel we have stayed in

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had some sea view but I don't think the rooms matter just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ian and Rita,

Obviously much thought and work has gone into your review and we are most grateful for your support and praise.

I am very proud of the image you project of our kind and helpful staff. This is exactly what our aim is: to make our guests feel the most welcome people in the world. That is what you are to us… so very welcome. It is normal that you may have some reticence regarding various experiences and we are so please that our staff gave your wife the confidence to gain the maximum from her visit to our beautiful island.

We are so very much in agreement with you … little things do mean a lot.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit to Madeira and to welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from a wonderful week stay at the soa joao, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the hotel was kept immaculate all the time and the food was out of this world. The master chef evening is a must whilst at the hotel, any infomation about the island just ask Rosie nothing to much trouble for her.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coiln w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week’s stay at the Quintinha – we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us! Thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor, your support is much appreciated.

Our members of staff are going to be so pleased when they read that you considered them friendly and welcoming and you are right… nothing is too much trouble!

We hope to be able to welcome you back on future visits.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After a three year break my wife and I have visited the Quintinha again and have not been disappointed. One the important elements of any hotel is the quality of its staff and the staff at this hotel are very good. From the initial welcome through the dealings with reception, waiting and bar staff through the maids to of course Rosie they cannot be faulted. One of the most important elements of this, which says a lot about the hotel is that there is very little turnover with staff we have known for years still there. Keep it up, we shall be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for your encouraging words and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It really is most motivating for us all that our loyal supporters return to stay with us. The majority of our staff has been with us for many years and they also love to welcome you back and catch up!

Please try not to leave your next visit for another 3 years but, if that has to be, we will be so happy to see you again and, hopefully, we will all still be here to give you that big ‘Quintinha’ welcome!

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent an enjoyable week at hotel and had a very relaxing time. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and their attention to detail was great. We ate in the restaurant every night and the choice and quality of the food on offer was excellent, particularly on the 'Master Chef' evening. Our bedroom was comfortable and roomy with a balcony. Only slight disappointment was the pool area which was rather cramped, had limited beds and the umbrellas was a little shabby. That aside everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room which will give you better views out to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bex55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing them with TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your holiday was such a success and can only apologise for your slight disappointment regarding the pool area. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and yes, our ‘Master Chef’ evening is great fun and gives our kitchen staff a lot of motivation to be named the Chef of the Week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha for another relaxing break.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £102 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing