We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - lovely staff”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham UK
1 review
“Lovely hotel - lovely staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

This is a really lovely small hotel.The accommodation (junior suite) was bright and roomy with good views across the gardens and up into the hills. The food was good - we specially liked the light lunches at the new pool bar. What made the place for us was the staff - they really look after you, nothing is too much trouble. If don't want one of the mega big hotels and are looking for somewhere nice not too far from the centre of Funchal, I can heartily reccomend the Quintinha Sao Joao.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    171
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
880
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We had a fabulous time at Quintinha de Sao Joao. We needed to relax after our wedding and the staff and facilities helped us to do just this. The hotel has a lovely tranquil feel to it, the food and wine in the restaurant are divine (the sommelier - Carlo - knows it all). The reception desk happily organised everything we needed, as well as taking the time to chat to us. The hotel and room are spotless and of the highest quality. One couple we met there were back for their ninth visit, which I think says it all. We will also go back. The only (very) minor point is that the first few minutes of the walk down into town are a bit less pretty that the rest of Funchal, but not sufficiently problematic to stop us recommending this hotel to anyone wanting some peace and quality service and relaxation in Funchal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Our stay at Quintinha Sao Joao was one of luxury and excellence. From the moment Estevoa met us at the airport and the greetings from the friendly staff we felt relaxed and knew we would have a wonderful holiday here. The restaurant staff were exceptional, catering for all our needs with a smile. We love the style of the Sao Joao and hope to return on many occasions.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middlesexmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon Gwent
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Our first visit to the island. We were both delighted with Hotel and the friendly reception received on arrival. All the staff are extremely polite, friendly and obliging and will offer assistance whenever its needed. Rosie the Customer Relations Manager is a treasure
full of information about the hotel and the island. The restaurant Managed by Carlo is an excellent dining experience, dont try pouring your own wine or water thats their job.The food was of very high quality and plenty of it. Half board is well recommended.The hotel is set in wonderful gardens and is only slightly overlooked by another hotel.There is no building work anywhere near the hotel. Our weeks holiday was fantastic and relaxing. We definitely be back fagain. Good wishes to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAnnCaerleonGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Had a good holiday the staff were obliging friendly nothing was to much trouble, the lounges and bar were furnished with comfortable chairs which was a bonus, the food was excellent , a good relaxing holiday with good weather as well, thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Our spirits lift as we leave Funchal airport to be greeted by a smiling Estevao who will take us to our favourite holiday destination, the QSJ! Estevao will meet independent travellers if required and he also drives the hotel minibus twice-daily (except weekends) to & from the city centre.

Recent disturbances are over and although these never bothered us, it was great to enjoy once more the tranquility and elegant accommodation of this exceptional quintinha. We have stayed here on thirteen occasions. We would never consider staying anywhere else in Madeira. Most of the staff have been here since the opening in 1998, providing their efficient, attentive and charming personal service. Each guest is made to feel very special and completely at ease.

The Quintinha is managed by the owner's son, Andre Barreto, who ensures that all his guests are happy. His Assistant Manager, Rosie, is available at most times to give advice on sightseeing, excursions, levada walking, car hire and to answer any queries. As she is British, living in Madeira, this is an added bonus for UK visitors but she is also fluent in other languages. When she is unavailable, the helpful receptionists, led by Catarina, will deal with all your enquiries. Reception is manned 24 hours daily.

The restaurant staff greet guests with welcoming words and a smile and do all that they can to assist you to enjoy the delicious food provided at breakfast and dinner. Carlo and his team pride themselves on remembering each guest's personal preferences. They were instrumental in making our Golden Wedding really special.

Lunch is served at the new Pool Bar or in the Vasco de Gama Bar by Antonio, Tony, Michael and Andrea. As part of the varied menu, their hamburgers and Club sandwiches are the best we have tasted anywhere. Eating lunch in the delightful setting of the gardens and pool, with the heady scent of jasmine, was a real joy.

There are two pools at the QSJ. The new heated Spa pool is adjacent to the Spa complex, which houses rooms for various treatments & massages, plus a jaccuzi, sauna and Hammam steam room. Nearby there is a brand-new gymnasium with the latest equipment and modern changing-rooms, showers and toilets. Two huge and high-quality hammocks amongst the trees in the garden offer the ideal place to relax. On the second floor, the rooftop pool has been covered and refurbished to provide a comfortably warm environment on cooler days.

Combine all these facilities with spacious, elegantly furnished rooms, with their newly refurbished bathrooms, digital televisions & DVD players (all kept spotlessly clean by the housemaids), comfortable lounges on every floor and you have a fantastic hotel which to us has become a second home.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacarandaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This is the 5th time we have now visited this hotel and our return was just as pleasurable as normal. Madeira is a wonderful island but it is this hotel we return for so that we can totally relax and enjoy being pampered. Since our last visit 18 months ago, a new pool, spa and bar area has been created in the garden which is superb. You can now lie on your sunbed and click your fingers for one of the waiters to come over and serve you drinks. They now serve their lunches here as well, although you do have to get off of the sunbed and move several yards to sit at a table - their luchtime menu has been much improved with an excellent range of choice.
A few previous reviews from last year mention building noise, which was evidently mainly due to a revamp of the hotel next door. During this period the hotel also cleverly linked in the work on the new pool area, the revamp of their bathrooms, installing a cover on their upstairs pool (evidently now one of the very few indoor pools in Madeira, great if the weather isn't too good and the pool is like getting into a bath) plus a complete revamp of the equipment in their fitness room, which is of excellent quality and now been christened. This work has now all been completed and the hotel is back to its serene self.
I also noticed that a previous review mentioned walking down to town was a nightmare due to the busy traffic and lack of of pavements. I can only believe that they went the wrong way by going down the main road, as the proper route (approx 10mins) although fairly steep coming back is thoroughly enjoyable as you can walk through the gardens and it works off the calories from the evening meal!
Please don't be put off if you are not too mobile as the hotel offers a free twice daily minibus service to & from town plus taxis are always an option. It is worth being just slightly above town as the views are great from the terrace and it is in a quiet residential location.
The hotel and facilities are superb and much improved but it is the staff that make this hotel and keep us coming back. Their warmth friendliness and attention to detail are all top quality with nothing being too much trouble.
We feel extremely rested and very pampered and will now start planning when (not if) we will return.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing