We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our Favourite Hotel”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still our Favourite Hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Fourth Visit to the Quintinha and its still as good as ever. Fantastic friendly staff make you feel at home as soon as you arrive in Madeira. The new spa is worth a visit. The only Hotel we go to that we do not want to leave at the end of our Holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theDevonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    163
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
866
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Returned from Madiera yesterday, had a great time with lovely weather. The Quintinha and its staff made the holiday relaxing and very enjoyable. We were B&B and enjoyed the quest for a new place to eat each day. Good restaurants are only a 15-20 minute walk away in three different directions, all start off down a steep gradient but then level out. We walked back up about half the time and got taxi's the rest, about 4 euros each.

Would definitely return to this hotel and need to to do this lovely green island justice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 696lesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

This was our third stay at the Quintinha Sao Joao and it is no wonder we go back, because the hotel and its staff are truly excellent. The upgraded facilities now include amongst other things both indoor and outdoor pool areas. We took the option of using their flexi-dine facility, eating in some nights and out the rest which gave us the opportunity to see Funchal in the evening.
We could not fault anything, the quality of the food served, ALL of the staff and the ambiance of the hotel itself makes it such a wonderful place to vist and to relax in. Take the opportunity yourself to see - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

One of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The rooms are large with everything you need, the bar area is lovely and the restaurant superb. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Never have I met such a professional group of people and so friendly. A great hotel and one I would definitely return too!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiewuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We have just returned from our eighth successive visit to this hotel and have had a wonderful holiday.
We cannot imagine a better hotel exists in Madeira.
The staff are wonderful and attend to your every need.
The hotel grounds and the new spa and covered pool add to the attraction of this ideally situated small hotel.We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

A little gem! Quintinhas can't choose where to be located but as soon as you step into the Reception area, you know you are to be indulged in something special. The decor and general ambience is exceptional - beautifully furnished. The rooms are spacious and lack for nothing but the Restaurant - now that is something special! Wonderful menu, beautifully presented and served so professionally. Quality all through - Staff make or break a business and the Quintinha Sao Joao has the best. All so friendly, so helpful - it will be difficult to resist a return visit. A great week - sincere thanks again to all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojourner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

A delightful hotel situated in beautiful gardens, perfect for a relaxing holiday. This was our first trip to the island and the hotel far exceeded our expectations. The brochere and web site do not do this hotel justice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a holiday of pure luxury. There are two swimming pools where rest and relaxation came easily. The staff are magnificent, always there to help with a smile.Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAL59Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing