We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personal service”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have stayed two nights at the Quintinha Sao Joao and it was absolutely wonderful. There are a loot of good hotels around, but to me, what makes the difference between good and excellent is personal service. Quintinha Sao Joao provides just that. We were personally welcomed and no matter what we asked every request was dealt with in a very adequate way. The Spa treatment was extremely good, looking at what we needed, not at the clock. Dinner was nice, with a great chocolate cake (recommended). Transport to the airport was also very efficient. Definitely a hotel to return to!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haayoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2010

Thank you very much for submitting a review for the Quintinha.

We are delighted that we made such a positive impression on you during your short visit – perhaps next time you could stay longer!

We pride ourselves on our personal service and are pleased that the Spa treatment had the desired effect and that you left feeling relaxed and pampered.

As far as the chocolate cake is concerned, it is perhaps one of our most popular desserts and our pastry chef is known for this chocolate bomb!

We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Quintinha in the near further.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

854 - 860 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

All the reviews are right - this is an absolutely lovely place to stay and there is a very warm welcomd and excellent customer service - from Carlo in the restaurant, Andreas in the bar, Rosie to provide information and advise to the fantastic staff on reception and the staff who ensure everything is spotless. The gardens and the pool may not be amazing (just very good) but the staff certainly are.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rebeccamolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was our seventh year of our annual holiday staying in this superb hotel.
The hotel is beatifully decorated with antique furniture throughout and adorned with the most exsquisite floral displays. The hotel is secure within its own grounds for peace of mind. The guest manager Rosie Borges is not only a very friendly and beautiful lady and is extremely fluent in many languages. Rosie is an absolute mine of information as she has been living, working and playing on the Island of Maderia for 20 plus years. Rosie has at her fingertips the ability to give personal advice on local resteraunts, lavada walks, jeep tours, cruises of all types, local entertainment of all types, etcetera etcetera. Rosie if you require will put together quickly and efficiently a full personal programme for your stay.
Should you require a quiet relaxed holiday as Sue and I have just had enjoying the luxuries that this hotel has to offer without venturing too far. This hotel beats any other we have just spent our three weeks mostly sunbathing, swimming, reading and numerous visits to the Spa for massage, pedicures, manicures and enjoying the extremely tranquil setting and quiet atmosphere of this perfect oasis.
The tantalising A La Carte menu in the hotel resteraunt can be enjoyed with wines from the well stocked cellar that hve been personally chosen by the Manager Carlos.
Sue & I enjoyed taking advantage of at least fifteen evening dinners in the resteraunt during our stay.
The reception staff also deserve exceptional praise, they will answer any question knowledgebly and intelligently always with a smile. The bar staff under the watchful eye of the manager Antonio are also extremely friendly. Absolutely nothing that you request from Cocktails to serving lunch or afternoon tea s too much trouble to them to sustain your enjoyment.
All of the rooms in the hotel are clean, spacious with a splendid taste as to the decor.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustinregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just returned from a week's holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Everything was done to make us feel welcome and totally relaxed. We felt so at home and had several lunch and evening meals at the hotel as the food quality and service was excellent.
Rosie on Customer Relations was great and so helpful with suggestions for things to see and do. She also recommended a fantastic fish restaurant for a romantic evening meal overlooking the sea!
Overall a wonderful, relaxing break in a great hotel which we would love to revisit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Can only agree with all the other reviews that I read before going to this excellent hotel. The service was outstanding before, during and after our stay. I e-mailed the hotel before leaving UK to ask about late check out rooms and they quickly assured me it was ok to stay in the room until we ready to leave. During the holiday everything was excellent, food very good, happy hour a brilliant idea. There were towels to help yourself to in the gym, indoor and outdoor pools. Both the gym and games room were very well provided for. Bedrooms, bathrooms and public areas always spotless. Thankyou to all the staff who made our holiday very special. Would definitely recommend Theresa a private taxi driver that the hotel will arrange for you and will take you anywhere you wish to go for either a half day or full day. We had a great morning with her for 60 Euro, took us to the other side of the island, around the coast, to the lava caves and then back along the coast to Funchal. She has a wealth of knowledge about the islands history and culture. Definitely a good way to get about. Sorry didn't get into the spa but those that did only had good things to say about it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Custons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Have stayed here twice before over a number of years. The staff, facilities and ambience was as good as it always has been.
If you want to enjoy an hotel within walking distance of the centre of Funchal, and be looked after by the friendliest of staff, then you need look no further than this Quintinha.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebloodbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was our first visit to Madeira and we were amazed by the island but in particular by this hotel. The staff are lovely, nothing is too much of an effort to arrange. For my sister's birthday we found a bottle of bubbly and a cake in our room with compliments from the hotel. The hotel and the gardens are peaceful and well laid out with a lovely view of the city from the terrace and pool. We found we spent much more time in the hotel than we expected, just because we enjoyed the ambiance so much. The costs are more than reasonable for the service that comes along with it. The only downside we could find is that the beds are a little too hard and the taste of the coffee could be better. We definitely recommend to take tea and home made scones/jam on the terrace, they are excellent, as are the daily cocktails. If we ever return to Madeira, it will be for sure to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meerkat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £102 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing