We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quintinha Sao Joao
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
969
186
34
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
969
186
34
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquintinha sao joaomaster chefcovered poolgames roomsmall hotela la carte menuhappy hourbalcony overlooking the gardencourtesy busbusy roadnothing is too much troublelovely hotelmattress topperhalf boardhome from homerestaurant staff aresteep walk
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Chose hotel from Tripadvisor - having previously stayed at Glitzy Pestana Grand. This hotel did not disappoint. Booked via Travel Republic - who sorted flights and transport too and were a pleasure to deal with, however the company they booked the rooms through did not pass muster as we arrived to have not 5 rooms but 2. QSJ wriggled a bit but eventually provided us with all five rooms on the same floor and handled it all very professionally.
Large double rooms, superb beds, excellent lighting, tastefully furnished, comfy sofas, nice bathrooms , lush robes- thin towels(?). Inside pool and seating area very nice, clean and warm. Spa excellent. The only draw back was the foul weather! 2009 offered warm sunshine and a Mediterranean climate, but this year it was very cold, rainy, and often foggy. Will definitely come in Oct or early Nov no later.
The Island is pretty, with lovely gardens, captivating scenery and pretty reasonable roads. Funchal is compact and easy to get around. People are friendly and plenty of great restaurants. Favourites are O Jango for Cataplana and Tapassol for ambiance, fish and great service. Had fun at Real Canoa - buzzing, but one of our party was violently sick all night afterwards. Also, they got 2 of our main courses wrong but reduced our bill by 50% and were deeply apologetic.(It was just embarrassing!)
QSJ- easy place to relax and unwind. Bar staff were superb and the cocktail happy hour 6.30 to 7.30 is worth enjoying the 2 for 1's. (Don't think I ever got the times right..hic!) Generally lovely staff and I look forward to paying a return visit on another occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumwithtwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to add your comments regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João on the Trip Advisor website.

We are sorry that your arrival and welcome was not as it should have been but are pleased to hear that our staff succeeded in satisfying your requirements and wishes.

In keeping with the rest of the world, Madeira has experienced extreme adverse weather conditions over the last year which is totally out of character. October and November, as you suggest, are good months to visit, along with the month of May with the Flower Festival.
In 2011, this annual event will take place over the weekend of the 7th and 8th May.

Obviously we are unable to vouch for or comment on the restaurants you visited during your holiday, as they have nothing to do with the Quintinha, but we are delighted you enjoyed the service of our Vasco da Gama bar – I shall certainly pass the message to the staff that their cocktails were much enjoyed!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha later in the year. In the meantime, should you wish to contact us regarding any preferences for your next stay, you have our details at the top of this Trip Advisor page.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

this is a small family hotel that feels every bit a family place. I visited with my elderly mother, sister and nephew and we were all looked after and welcomed with the same warmth and generosity. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful safe and welcoming place to visit and to relax. It has something for everyone and more. Our only downside was the mosquitos as we all got very bitten which might have been more the time of year and the humidity and the fact we were on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

We are very grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay was a success and it was a pleasure to have had you with us over the Christmas period. In addition, we are reassured to learn that you felt that the atmosphere at the Quintinha was one of warmth and generosity in a peaceful and relaxing setting – this is exactly what we are aiming for!

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We feel that we must write to mitigate some of the comments raised by the Honeymooners. Had they stated on arrival that this was a special holiday the staff would have done everything possible to make their stay a very memorable occasion.
We regularly stay at the Sao Joao and have just returned again from an excellent break. The Quintinha is out of the tourist zone but within easy walking distance of the City Centre and old town. Alternatively a taxi can be hired for around 5€.
The first impressions on arrival are of a well managed and appointed hotel. We always find that the reception staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Additionally if you have any problems whatsoever Rosie will always find a solution and is a fountain of all knowledge regarding what to do and where to go on the Island. The bar and restaurant staff are equally smart and efficient. On offer is a good choice of bar snacks for lunch at reasonable prices and good A La Carte and Table D’hôte menus.
The bedrooms are spacious, with a high standard of décor and the beds are very comfortable. However they do have the European arrangement of single beds being joined together, which we have now grown used to, in some of the rooms. Tea making facilities are very rarely provided in European hotel, other than “Aparthotels”. The bathrooms are well appointed and provide good quality toiletries.
There are spacious landing areas and quiet lounges which have beautiful local antique furniture and feature delightful flowers arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swallowsreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you for your complementary comments – they are much appreciated and I will pass them on to the rest of the staff. Client service and comfort are our prime objectives so it is very heartening to hear that we are achieving these.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and in the meantime wish you a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous New Year.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed at the hotel in mid November on a half board basis. The hotel is situated about 0.7 km rfrom the town centre a 15min walk down, a 30 min walk up and a few minutes local bus or taxi ride . The hotel provides a courtesy bus twice a day which we didnt use.
The hotel is small three storeys high and set in very pleasant gardens, Our room was on the ground floor so the views were limited but not unpleasant. There are two pools, an outdoor supposedly heated but too cold for me and an indoor pool which we used daily, warm with nice comfortable poolside beds . The weather during our stay was generally fine and we sat out a few times by the outside pool and spa area, the only downside is that this area was completely overlooked by a new tall hotel; the garden terrace afforded a much more private area. The gym is small but adequately equipped for most holiday type workouts. Our hotel bedroom was large and nicely furnished in a traditional style with high quality bed linen. The free wi-fi in the lounge and terrace was a valued facility.
The big plus point for the hotel is the service provided by the staff; the front desk, bar and terrace staff were outstanding. Rosie the local info/travel advisor was always courteousand most helpful.
We partucularly enjoyed the garden terrace and bar which provided both snack food and very reasonablly priced drinks; many of the guests used the bar for pre dinner drinks in a comfortable and relaxing environment with an excellent ambience.
The only downside to the hotel is the rather small dining room which provides a functional rather than elegant dining experience. The hotel was full during our stay and the capacity of the dining room at its limit and rather cramped. The table d'hote dinner was generally good if not exciting the menu based upon fresh produce provided mainly local dishes. The food was standard 4 star hotel fare, the wine list contained both local and international wines at reasonable prices.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Quintinha Sao Jao and would recommend it if you have a preference for the 'boutique' hotel rather than a large sea front high rise .
.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moandtdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the trouble and time to post your very informative review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. I shall certainly pass on your comments to our staff - I am certain that they will be gratified that their efforts and genuine desire for excellence have been noted.

We apologise for the fact that you found our outside swimming pool on the chilly side and our maintenance technician is investigating this. As you may gather, the indoor pool is a relatively new addition to our facilities and, as the weather has been rather inclement of late, it is proving to be a great success.

As you correctly observed, we were very full during your stay and unfortunately everybody wanted to dine at the same time. We hope you were not put to too much inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

We wish you a very Happy Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a belated honeymoon at the Quintinha Sao Joao. Having found a chance to get away, we booked a package at fairly short notice and having read good reviews on the hotel, felt that it would suit our requirements. We normally stay at larger 5* hotels beside the sea, but encouraged by the reviews and website thought this hotel would be something special. The package had included a junior suite with half board. The junior suite was a long room with twin beds with a window at the far end opening onto the balcony. Our first disappointment was the view, which was of a tall grey hotel building towering above the Sao Joao, however we could see the lights of Funchal to one side of the hotel. Being on the first floor, the lush foliage growing beside the hotel in the garden meant that there was not a lot of light getting into the room and with the weather being mostly overcast, it was not light enough to read even with the lights on. The heating in the room worked well thank goodness although there was no heating in the bathroom which always seemed damp. We put up with this room (and twin beds which did not stay together despite sharing a headboad) for 4 nights, but I felt I had to point out my disappointment about the room especially bearing in mind that it was our honeymoon. As soon as she found out, Rosie did make arrangments for us to move to a much lighter and brighter suite on the top floor which had a double bed and when we arrived back from a day out, there was a bottle of sparking wine in the room for which we were very grateful. We had not wanted to mention that it was our honeymoon neither had we wanted to make a fuss, but were grateful for the move.
There is no tea-making facility in the room which we found surprising for a 5* hotel, as we enjoy a cup of tea when we wake in the morning.
The food was very good quality but the choice was limited on the table d'hote and would not be to everyones taste. We were suprised that there was not a potato on the menu all week! The restaurant staff were very good and attentive and became more friendly as the week went on. The biggest disappointment for us was the ambiance, in particular the lack of music and when I mentioned it I was informed that they were having an experiment with no music as people had complained about it on feedback forms. No music meant that one could hear every footstop on the laminate flooring, cluttering of plates and mumbling of the guests who seemed embarrassed to speak too loudly to their companions. There was no music anywhere in the hotel and the bar was so quiet (apart from the echos of voices in the hallway) so there was no point in sitting in there. Being so close to Christmas it would have been nice to have had some tasteful Christmas music even. The hotel information quoted that there was a pianist playing in the bar at night but there was not. Unfortunately the hotel was just too far away to take a walk to a more lively location particularly as the hotel was on a hill.
The weather during our stay was not good and even the indoor pool was too cold to enjoy or sit beside. The staff are the best asset of the hotel, especially the Restaurant Manager Carlos, however we were surprised not to have seen the General manager for the whole of our stay as from past experience, hotel managers are usually very keen to welcome guests personally.
The furnishings in the hotel appear to be very good quality and the place has a superior feel about it, but it did feel like staying in a museum at times or even (dare I say it, a Care Home and we really missed having music. We are in our mid fifties but found ourselves to be amongst the youngest guests at the time of our stay. I am sure that there will be lots of people for whom this hotel will suit but not if you enjoy a bit of life, fun and music.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jacquimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor and we are very sorry to see that we were not able to live up to your expectations.

We would like to try and clarify some of the issues referred to in your review and, at the same time, assure you that we have taken everything you said into careful consideration. We value your opinion and truly believe that only with our client's comments, are we able to improve.

Room - we did not have any information regarding your honeymoon and that is why we did not cater previously for a double bed instead of the traditional twins we have in most rooms. As soon as you informed us, we were able to sort that out by giving you an upgrade to Senior Suite at no extra cost. With regard to the view, we do not advertise anything different from the reality, which is the fact that all rooms including the Junior Suite you were in face the gardens. And the one acre of land that surrounds the property is probably much more than you might find in any of the larger 5 star hotels. We don't have tea making facilities as standard equipment in the room but, to all those who ask, we are more than happy to provide this, at no extra cost;

Table d'hôte menu – this is a set four course menu, table served, with a choice between 3 dishes on the main course and 2 dishes on the desert, the usual in hotels of this category;

Ambiance - the information provided was correct. We used to have music in every public area in the hotel but many guests asked us to turn it off, as it was not to their liking. It was our decision, in the face of that, to try and have a music free hotel during 2 weeks and to then decide what to do, in accordance with the opinions of our guests. By the beginning of next week, we think we will have enough information to decide what the future will be. With regard to the distance, we are merely 10 minutes walking distance from the town centre and even less than that from the Casino;

Indoor pool - the water temperature was and is at 29º Celsius and even yesterday we received a complaint that it was too hot. If you don't mind our honesty, it's a bit like the music; impossible to please everyone...

Manager - you did see the manager or at least the manager saw you twice in the hotel; once at breakfast and another time near reception! The manager is indeed very keen on welcoming the guests and talking to them but, as we are sure you can understand, it is not always possible to do so; our apologies for that!;

General comment - if you are looking for a trendy, fun hotel with lots of animation, Quintinha de São João is definitively not the place to choose. We aim at those looking for good service, personalised, a true experience of Madeira that can only be provided in a hotel like ours. We regret to see that not even for those with different preferences, would you recommend us.

We would be thrilled to have the opportunity to revert this opinion and, if we may, will contact you with the news should our decision be to turn the music back on.

Kind regards,

André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews