We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best welcome ever received at a hotel”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2011

What a wonderful welcome we received! One of the receptionists took us to our room, insisting we leave our luggage for the porter to carry up. She explained all the facilities of the hotel and stressed that nothing was too much trouble & that we were here to relax and enjoy ourselves. This attitude continued throughout the week with all the staff friendly but professional and only too happy to assist. They gave us details of places to visit and trips to consider. Breakfast was lovely and we ate one evening in the restaurant, which was very good. My only comment would be that if you are vegetarian I would recommend opting for B&B, as the half board set menu had no vegetarian option. Having said that, the normal menu had 3 main course choices, which we could opt for, but don't know if half board visitors would have 3 options - I'm sure they'd be happy to assist though. Plenty of choices in town for veggies and hotel is convenient for Funchal centre. Gardens lovely. Hotel is in a residential area and generally quiet except we were aware of a little road noise as our room was close to the road - didn't keep us awake though.Overall we really felt 'at home' and pampered. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harleybearYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Madeira. It was a real pleasure for us to read your comments and they are both encouraging and motivating.

We are delighted to find out that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them. We have taken note of your comments regarding our vegetarian options and will seriously consider adding this to our Half Board menu. Thank you for drawing our attention to this.

We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our first trip to this hotel- we had a most pleasurable week and would hope to return in the future. We took a junior suite at a cost of 145 euros per night and it proved good value for the money ( breakfast included). The hotel is well and impressively decorated with repro antiques and gives an instant feeling of opulence. The rooms are very spacious and comfortably but not luxuriously fitted. Beds very large and comfortable and we had more than adequate fixtures and fittings. The staff, especially at reception could not be more helpful and pleasant. The hotel is situated up a hill about a ten minute walk to the centre which was a pleasant walk back after a meal out. The grumbles re the hotel (albeit small), spending a great deal of time travelling, I do find it most infuriating that a hotel of this quality and standard, and with a commensurate cost, sees fit to charge 9 euros per week for the use of the safe. This presence of the safe shows that it is deemed by management to be an essential part of the room fittings and the detention of an intruder in a bedroom during our stay highlights that fact- why then charge 9 euros for the use of the safe for what is deemed by the hotel management to be essential? This is beyond me, simply add or absorb it into the costs- this is a personal moan I have had at a number of hotels but this is the first time I have come across this at a hotel of this standard. The payment of the money was not an issue but the feeling that the hotel is attempting to extract all. A hotel of this standard should be above such petty charging. My wife also felt strongly about the 4.5 euros per day cost for using the in room fridge for your own drinks.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cyclist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post a review for the Quintinha on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your holiday was a success and that you enjoyed both the hotel and staff.

If I may, I would like to address the two points you have raised which were not to your satisfaction as follows:

We advertise a fully stocked minibar for the consumption of our customers. Should our guests wish to store their own items in the minibar, there is a one-off charge of 4.99€ for the entire stay – certainly not 4.50 Euros per day as you have stated. Anything not readily available in the minibar we will happily provide.

Safes in rooms are unfortunately requisite in most hotels nowadays as guests have come to expect this facility. We have always provided the option of a safe since the hotel opened 12 years ago, at a time when Madeira (and the rest of the world) was a very different place. We certainly did not feel at the time of installation that it was something essential – just something to offer our guests should they wish to use it. The safes have always been supplied, maintained and insured by an outside contractor but we are looking into other options and have taken your opinion into account.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João in the future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We have just returned from our 7th visit to this gem of a hotel which is located just a short walk from the town centre or a short ride in the hotel curtesy bus.
The staff are superb and cannot do enough to help make your stay a pleasent one. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms light and spacious. The hotel has a spa, 2 pools( 1 indoor and 1 outdoor) a gymn, free wifi and a splendid restuarant. The breakfast is varied with a range of fruit, cereals etc and a wide choice of hot food which is cooked to order. There are lots of things to do and see and plent of bustling coffee shops/cafes when you need to rest your weary feet!!
If you are thinking of hilidaying in Madeira give this gotel a try-you won't be disappointed.

Jane & Harry Johnston Jannuary 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Thank you very much for your time and trouble in placing a review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly honored that you have chosen to stay with us 7 times and still keep coming back for more! (This we know because, as you identified yourselves, we already have your reservation for May this year!)

Our staff are delighted to learn that what they are trying to transmit really does come across - it is true... nothing is too much trouble.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Chose hotel from Tripadvisor - having previously stayed at Glitzy Pestana Grand. This hotel did not disappoint. Booked via Travel Republic - who sorted flights and transport too and were a pleasure to deal with, however the company they booked the rooms through did not pass muster as we arrived to have not 5 rooms but 2. QSJ wriggled a bit but eventually provided us with all five rooms on the same floor and handled it all very professionally.
Large double rooms, superb beds, excellent lighting, tastefully furnished, comfy sofas, nice bathrooms , lush robes- thin towels(?). Inside pool and seating area very nice, clean and warm. Spa excellent. The only draw back was the foul weather! 2009 offered warm sunshine and a Mediterranean climate, but this year it was very cold, rainy, and often foggy. Will definitely come in Oct or early Nov no later.
The Island is pretty, with lovely gardens, captivating scenery and pretty reasonable roads. Funchal is compact and easy to get around. People are friendly and plenty of great restaurants. Favourites are O Jango for Cataplana and Tapassol for ambiance, fish and great service. Had fun at Real Canoa - buzzing, but one of our party was violently sick all night afterwards. Also, they got 2 of our main courses wrong but reduced our bill by 50% and were deeply apologetic.(It was just embarrassing!)
QSJ- easy place to relax and unwind. Bar staff were superb and the cocktail happy hour 6.30 to 7.30 is worth enjoying the 2 for 1's. (Don't think I ever got the times right..hic!) Generally lovely staff and I look forward to paying a return visit on another occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumwithtwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to add your comments regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João on the Trip Advisor website.

We are sorry that your arrival and welcome was not as it should have been but are pleased to hear that our staff succeeded in satisfying your requirements and wishes.

In keeping with the rest of the world, Madeira has experienced extreme adverse weather conditions over the last year which is totally out of character. October and November, as you suggest, are good months to visit, along with the month of May with the Flower Festival.
In 2011, this annual event will take place over the weekend of the 7th and 8th May.

Obviously we are unable to vouch for or comment on the restaurants you visited during your holiday, as they have nothing to do with the Quintinha, but we are delighted you enjoyed the service of our Vasco da Gama bar – I shall certainly pass the message to the staff that their cocktails were much enjoyed!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha later in the year. In the meantime, should you wish to contact us regarding any preferences for your next stay, you have our details at the top of this Trip Advisor page.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

this is a small family hotel that feels every bit a family place. I visited with my elderly mother, sister and nephew and we were all looked after and welcomed with the same warmth and generosity. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful safe and welcoming place to visit and to relax. It has something for everyone and more. Our only downside was the mosquitos as we all got very bitten which might have been more the time of year and the humidity and the fact we were on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

We are very grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay was a success and it was a pleasure to have had you with us over the Christmas period. In addition, we are reassured to learn that you felt that the atmosphere at the Quintinha was one of warmth and generosity in a peaceful and relaxing setting – this is exactly what we are aiming for!

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We feel that we must write to mitigate some of the comments raised by the Honeymooners. Had they stated on arrival that this was a special holiday the staff would have done everything possible to make their stay a very memorable occasion.
We regularly stay at the Sao Joao and have just returned again from an excellent break. The Quintinha is out of the tourist zone but within easy walking distance of the City Centre and old town. Alternatively a taxi can be hired for around 5€.
The first impressions on arrival are of a well managed and appointed hotel. We always find that the reception staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Additionally if you have any problems whatsoever Rosie will always find a solution and is a fountain of all knowledge regarding what to do and where to go on the Island. The bar and restaurant staff are equally smart and efficient. On offer is a good choice of bar snacks for lunch at reasonable prices and good A La Carte and Table D’hôte menus.
The bedrooms are spacious, with a high standard of décor and the beds are very comfortable. However they do have the European arrangement of single beds being joined together, which we have now grown used to, in some of the rooms. Tea making facilities are very rarely provided in European hotel, other than “Aparthotels”. The bathrooms are well appointed and provide good quality toiletries.
There are spacious landing areas and quiet lounges which have beautiful local antique furniture and feature delightful flowers arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swallowsreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you for your complementary comments – they are much appreciated and I will pass them on to the rest of the staff. Client service and comfort are our prime objectives so it is very heartening to hear that we are achieving these.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and in the meantime wish you a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous New Year.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed at the hotel in mid November on a half board basis. The hotel is situated about 0.7 km rfrom the town centre a 15min walk down, a 30 min walk up and a few minutes local bus or taxi ride . The hotel provides a courtesy bus twice a day which we didnt use.
The hotel is small three storeys high and set in very pleasant gardens, Our room was on the ground floor so the views were limited but not unpleasant. There are two pools, an outdoor supposedly heated but too cold for me and an indoor pool which we used daily, warm with nice comfortable poolside beds . The weather during our stay was generally fine and we sat out a few times by the outside pool and spa area, the only downside is that this area was completely overlooked by a new tall hotel; the garden terrace afforded a much more private area. The gym is small but adequately equipped for most holiday type workouts. Our hotel bedroom was large and nicely furnished in a traditional style with high quality bed linen. The free wi-fi in the lounge and terrace was a valued facility.
The big plus point for the hotel is the service provided by the staff; the front desk, bar and terrace staff were outstanding. Rosie the local info/travel advisor was always courteousand most helpful.
We partucularly enjoyed the garden terrace and bar which provided both snack food and very reasonablly priced drinks; many of the guests used the bar for pre dinner drinks in a comfortable and relaxing environment with an excellent ambience.
The only downside to the hotel is the rather small dining room which provides a functional rather than elegant dining experience. The hotel was full during our stay and the capacity of the dining room at its limit and rather cramped. The table d'hote dinner was generally good if not exciting the menu based upon fresh produce provided mainly local dishes. The food was standard 4 star hotel fare, the wine list contained both local and international wines at reasonable prices.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Quintinha Sao Jao and would recommend it if you have a preference for the 'boutique' hotel rather than a large sea front high rise .
.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moandtdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the trouble and time to post your very informative review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. I shall certainly pass on your comments to our staff - I am certain that they will be gratified that their efforts and genuine desire for excellence have been noted.

We apologise for the fact that you found our outside swimming pool on the chilly side and our maintenance technician is investigating this. As you may gather, the indoor pool is a relatively new addition to our facilities and, as the weather has been rather inclement of late, it is proving to be a great success.

As you correctly observed, we were very full during your stay and unfortunately everybody wanted to dine at the same time. We hope you were not put to too much inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

We wish you a very Happy Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £99 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing