We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We really enjoyed five nights at Quinta Bela Vista in January. This is a lovely hotel and the gardens are delightful with many places to relax.The bedrooms are very comfortable. Food is excellent and we enjoyed every dinner we had. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return and I will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank badler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    171
    51
    17
    2
See reviews for
90
659
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We found the hotel to have great charm and this was complemented by an intelligent and sensitive team for whom nothing was too much trouble. There was a rigorous attention to detail in small things, the smell of furniture polish and the calm, poised public spaces; the prompt attention at breakfast and dinner (we are v impatient Londoners); the lovely scents of wisteria and box drifting in from the gardens. It was an immense pleasure to play tennis on the secluded court and to sit on the balcony looking at the silvery light on the bay. We haven't stayed in a hotel with a better atmosphere - the care put in by the staff meant we were able to completely unwind...this sense of peace and equilibrium communicated between the guests creating a very restorative experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

That was one of our best vacation. Everything was just perfect. We definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Reni3644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is set high up above Funchal in beautiful peaceful gardens. The rooms are clean and lovely and the breakfast, pool bar and restuarant are unsurpassed. The staff without exception are welcoming, accomodating and extremely helpful, often without actually beinhg asked. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. This was our second visit and you always worry whether it would be as good and believe me it was., finances and god willing we will be back and hopefully next year.

Room Tip: on both occassions we have had rooms facing down over Funchall and the sea and this time we had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DIANA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a most delightful week at Quinta da Bela Vista. We just loved the peaceful situation high above Funchal with glorious views over the city aad sea. We were welcomed by the delightful receptionist Paola who could not have more friendly and informative - in fact all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds and its' own balcony.

The hotel is furnished with antiques and old paintings and has a real old world ambiance - particularly in the old manor house which houses the elegant dining room (food and service excellent). We really appreciated the open log fire, and being able to just sit and read with a cup of hot chocolate!

Our trip was arranged with Voyage Prive (an online organisation offering really excellent hotels at discounted rates). All arrangements were spot on.

Room Tip: You will be allocated a good room - they all seem excellent and garden facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank OakHouseRavenshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Quinta from February 23 till March 1 this year.
Never encountered such a committed staff! They almost anticipated on our requests!
The garden is beautiful.
The hotel is an oasis just Euro 6 by taxi from Funchal city.
If we go back to Madeira, it would be to the Quinta da Bela Vista!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view! (Elevator is present)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SusyDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay in a superior room overlooking the subtropical garden, with a view of mountains and a small glimpse of the sea. The light on our balcony was lovely. The hotel is like a large manor house, with antiques in the hall ways and in the sitting rooms. The dining room is beautifully set out and there are lovely paintings and etchings throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank AvivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
887 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 86 in Funchal
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,879 reviews
9.7 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing