We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had an excellent week at this hotel. It is set in beautiful grounds and has a dramatic view over Funchal bay and the hills. The hotel is meticulously cared for and the staff are very attentive and friendly. They can never do enough to please you. The food in the restaurant is unbelievably good and the chef catered imaginatively for a vegetarian diet, producing something different and original every evening. The free mini bus into town was bonus. Tea and cake on the terrace late afternoon is a must. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose as garden facing room with balcony in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JuliaMWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a week at this quietly elegant hotel set in a peaceful garden high about the bustle of Funchal. Mini-bus service available to the centre. Lovely pool and superb food. All staff extremely helpful and friendly. You can be assured of high standards and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

To the team at Quinta de Bella Vista

Just to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay over new year (326). Your hotel is wonderful however it was the friendliness of the staff which made our stay so special. You live in a beautiful place with lovely people and we look forward to future visits.

Our best wishes for 2013 and thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pete7-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A character filled hotel with excellent customer service and very personable staff in all areas. Local knowledge and breadth of languages spoken would put many large hotels to shame. They resolved an issue we had on arrival caused by the travel agent without any fuss, the a la carte and half board menus in the restaurant were first class and the a la carte wasn't very different from many of the restaurants in the town. The weather during our stay wasn't brilliant so we didn't make use of the pool, gym or tennis course, but they were well maintained. Our room was a superior double with balcony overlooking the pool and with a good view of Funchal. There are bigger rooms in the separate building with a view of the gardens - your choice. Would thoroughly recommend this Quinta to anyone wanting something of good quality if you don't mind being a little out of town but the bus service is excellent running till 1am, at €1.90 each way it doesn't
break the bank!

Room Tip: Our room was a superior double with balcony overlooking the pool and with a good view of Funchal. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TiggerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Quinta da Bela Vista for about a week in October (for work reasons), and found the overall experience a very pleasant one. The accommodation was nice, the hotel had very nice gardens and a great pool area with views over Funchal. The staff were always very helpful and attentive, and there were lots of good options for breakfast. It is a little bit off the beaten track - about a 40-minute walk to central Funchal (I made the mistake of walking back to the hotel uphill at the end of the day, which nearly killed me) - but the hotel does provide a bus service into downtown Funchal (and a taxi only cost around €8-9). Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A fabulous hotel with very kind, attentive and warm staff. Chosen in preference to the main hotels along the "strip" in downtown Funchal which by comparison lacked any soul. Courtesy bus is available but taxi was only a 7 - 9 euros. Could not recommend it more highly. Stephen

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked this hotel last minute having been there once for a meal on a previous visit to Madeira (15 in all) We got a fabulous rate, not permitted to say but try it yourself.
We were given a room in the adjoining building to the hotel which has some half the total number of bedrooms. The room was spacious, well fitted with good bathroom and separate toilet and with TV and 6ft double bed, not zipped together twins. Linen all changed daily if required.
The carpets could all do with a shampoo but as in a pale orange, not a good choice in the first place. The hospitatily of the staff was excellent with Paula being the star.
The 3 acre gardens, pool and gym and jacuzzi are a bonus as is the tennis and frequent free bus to town 6 times a day. Free WiFi everywhere.
The area is very quiet and some 2 miles fom the centre of funchal. 2 nice pub cafes very closeby.
The buffet breakfast is the best in Maderia and the restaurant first class and not too pricey.
The bar drinks and coffees however, are riduculously expensive at 4.5e for a small beer and 3.50 for a coffee. Apart from this drift into the realms of fantasy pricing the hotel is a first choice for me next time. (bring your own beer)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bedwetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £117 - £1,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Splitty, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing